We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel with excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inglewood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inglewood Manor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

My husband & i stayed in this hotel a week ago on a package of Bed & Breakfast with an evening meal. We arrived after a ferry trip from Ireland to be greeted by a very welcoming receptionist who offered us a glass of sherry & a slice of very tasty cake. The hotel itself was beautifully decorated with a stunning Christmas tree in the foyer and an open fire there also. We went to our room which was one of the refurbished rooms. It was beautifully decorated - the only thing being the wall between us & our neighbours seemed quite thin. We could clearly hear their conversation. As we were tired after our trip & i am a very light sleeper we returned to reception & requested another room. The receptionist was very helpful & said she would see what she could do - so we retired to the bar to have a drink.
Within a very short time the hotel manager approached & said he could give us another room. He upgraded us to the Oak Room at no extra charge. He also very kindly moved our luggage to the alternative room with no fuss at all. The room was stunning - it had a four poster bed & its own seating area.
We ate in the restaurant & the food was excellent. The restaurant was very busy for a Sunday night. & the service was very attentive. We slept soundly & the following morning enjoyed a really good English breakfast.
We checked out & took a walk down through the grounds towards the lake.I cannot say enough about the staff & how well we were treated. I look forward to our next trip to Cheshire & in particular back to Inglewood Manor.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMcCarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    155
    51
    34
    18
See reviews for
162
318
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

We’ve just returned from a evening dinner and overnight stay at Inglewood Manor Hotel.
Food was superb, service excellent with all staff very attentive.
We were in one of the refurbished rooms with was nicely decorated and had a lovely bathroom.
Can’t wait to go back !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinemaddocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

As a member of a wedding party we were offered the room at a discounted rate of £99. The hotel is situated in the beautiful surroundings, miles away from Chester.

Our room was very-very small, shabby and dirty. Double bed was more like a 'slightly bigger' single. Bathroom was also very dirty and very small.

If this room was £40 per night, I would not complain. But for £99 we were expecting more than a dirty box room.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheepka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCWirral, General Manager at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Thank you for your review, I am incredibly shocked by some of your comments and terribly disappointed to see you have left the hotel feeling this way. As you can see from other reviews we have many a happy customer in particular Brides, Grooms and their guests. Although you don’t mention it I hope you had a fantastic day? From the ceremony, food, drink and service, I hope your bedroom comments haven’t detracted from your overall enjoyment of the occasion.
I would very much like for you to contact me directly at the hotel as I would like to investigate the housekeeping issues and would value you assistance with this. Unfortunately I’m not aware you raised an issue whilst here? As we would have most certainly done our very best to rectify the situation, due to the age and shape of the building the bedrooms do vary in size some being more cosy than others. Also a number of our rooms are refurbished and we are continuing this programme into 2011. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future and I hope to hear from you soon.
Fiona Creed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

Recently stayed at Inglenook for couple of nights and attended a wedding. First thing which impressed was friendliness, courtesy & efficiency of Staff. The food was of high quality and excellently presented & served. Hotel very attractive and comfortable in extensive and attractive grounds. Wedding and reception was thoroughly enjoyable and everything appeared to run like clockwork and was extremely well handled by the Staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

Our third stay - again staff were without exception friendly welcoming and helpful. Had family join us for excellant meal catering to special needs. Breakfasts were a daily treat especially with freshly cooked options. Smaller room this time but adequate and comfortable, lovely views.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyNorthallerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

got a telephone call from the hotel to say there was a wedding the night of my stay, so there would be no evening meal for residents. what they did not tell me was that the WEDDING WOULD BE TAKING OVER ALL THE HOTEL. we entered to find a buffet IN the entrance hall and a full scale & packed disco in progress. our room was very dated, and had not been cleaned properly, there being cob-webs hanging from the ceiling. we went down for a drink in the bar, having to push our way through the drunks at the wedding party. breakfast in the morning was also terrible. the lady on reception was incompetant and the duty manager could not even work the till. also this hotel IS NO WHERE NEAR CHESTER

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liizzii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCWirral, General Manager at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Thank you for your review, I’m so sorry to see your first impression of Inglewood Manor has been such a disappointing one.
We host a lot of weddings, and when bedrooms are booked by guests not attending the wedding, we do our very best to contact them to make them aware of the events taking place at the hotel. However, I can see from your comments that the impact of the wedding wasn’t fully communicated to you, and for this I must apologise.
I’m really surprised that you didn’t enjoy breakfast, as we generally receive fantastic feedback about the food (particularly our locally sourced sausages, kippers and porridge!) and lots of lovely comments about our attentive and friendly team, so I’m sorry you felt this wasn’t up to standard.
Having investigated your comments regarding the service on Sunday morning, I am afraid that a combination of a duty manager still in training and a credit card machine that picked the busiest possible check-out to give up the ghost, meant that you experienced unusually long delays. Where-ever possible, we would aim to deal with technical difficulties without passing any inconvenience on to our guests, however on this occasion that was not possible, for which we are really sorry.
Inglewood Manor is located along a straight A road 7 miles from Chester City Centre, taking between 10 and 15 minutes, depending on the traffic. Near enough to be convenient, far enough away to give the sensation of nestling in endless countryside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury, lancs
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed many years ago at this hotel when it belonged to an insurance company on business and always wanted to return. Now it has been taken over by a private company and extended. We have been several times with family and friends and recommended it to many of our friends who have gone and one who booked their sons wedding there and thought it wonderful. We have always got a refurbished room and what a delight they are the breakfast is lovely and the evening meal very good value and quality. The staff are very friendly and courteous. We have booked their special deal weekend which is excellent value and would highly recommend it. Also Ness gardens is very close by and worth visiting, the hotel gives a voucher for 2 for 1 entrance so that is a saving as well. Also visit Port Sunlight a wonderful village with the Lady Lever Gallery and the museum built by Lord Lever maker of sunlight soap who built the village for his workers, what a wonderful place to live.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebblebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSCWirral, General Manager at Inglewood Manor, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thanks for your review, I'm hope you agree it’s improved since the days of being the Insurance Company's training centre? It would appear you are acting as an honorary member of the sales team with all those recommendation to friend and family - Thank you. We are planning to finish the bedroom refurbishments next year, so you can maybe try out a new room on your next stay. You'll also be pleased to hear the Sunday Night Special will be running next year too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
7.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
6.9 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Manor

Property: Inglewood Manor
Address: Badgers Rake Lane, Ledsham CH66 8PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inglewood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inglewood Manor is a delightful Edwardian country house nestling in the heart of 38 acres of exquisite grounds. Built in 1915, the Grade 2 listed hotel retains all the charm and warmth of a lavish family home, with elegant rooms, spacious terraces and acres of manicured lawns. All twenty nine luxurious en-suite bedrooms have individual charm and offer glorious views of the grounds. Surrounded by fantastic attractions, with fishing, walking and tennis in the grounds we provide an idyllic retreat. A team of award-winning chefs displays flair and creativity, ensuring every meal is a memorable dining experience, and friendly, responsive staff guarantee the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inglewood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglewood Manor Hotel Ledsham
Inglewood Manor Chester
Inglewood Manor Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing