We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

had a short 2 night stay here, with family and grandchildren.
The hotel is excellent, staff are amazing, breakfast overpriced but extremely good, and waiter service. I cannot comment on the evening restaurant as we ate out.
The approach to the hotel is a long wooded drive, giving a wonderful view of excellent gardens and occupying squirrels. Reception staff really care about your stay, and as with all the staff here, seem to really enjoy their work.
Rooms are huge, although we had a family room with a double and two singles.
Housekeeping is excellent, although surprisingly the tile grouting in the bath room (room 225) is full of black mould, at least 1/3 of the wall. (my daughters room, 217, was the same) so it would seem that this is general fault. One that could be easily fixed with a bit of bleach, I would think. it certainly detracts from an otherwise lovely room.
Surprisingly, for a hotel of this calibre, there is no air conditioning in the rooms, resulting in temperatures of 30 degs both in and out.
Beds are extremely comfortable and the outlook of our rooms gave out to a huge garden and lawned area, with croquet being played and other lawn sports.
The Lounge bar opens up onto this area, which is excellent for little children to run around and expend energy when you don't want to.
Housekeeping staff were never too busy to chat and advise on outings and again went the extra mile to accommodate requests.
There is a lovely spa, with a welcoming swimming pool. This was wonderful after an extremely hot day in Chester. Facilities in the pool are better than many public pools, with showers, lockers and incredibly a play pen to put the tiny ones while mums get changed. Why is this the only place I have seen this?, it is a brilliant idea. It was very pleasing to have towels supplied at the pool, along with hairdryers and a drier for swimwear, meaning it was not necessary to have to head back to our rooms soaking wet and scantily clad.
Chester itself is only 10-15 minutes away by car although we used the park and ride, which is a similar distance away, but takes the headache out of finding a parking place.
I can highly recommend this to anybody wanting, peace, quiet, wonderful relaxation.
The best part of our stay? The wonderful staff. This fact alone warrants another visit, If they get air conditioning in the rooms and the grouting cleaned this place would be pretty near perfect.

Room Tip: Room 225 and 217 overlook the gardens, although the heat in 217 became unbearable in the heat wave d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank des
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,452 - 1,458 of 1,894 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, we wanted a hotel close to Chester for the races. The hotel receptionist when taking the booking was very friendly and helpful as we were travelling as a party of three with a 7 year old child and they put an extra bed in the room at no extra charge. The hotel is set in very nice grounds and was only a 10 minute taxi ride to the races which cost £13. The only downside was the lack of air conditioning in the room it was very hot and even with the window open we all found it uncomfortably hot. We used the leisure facilities which were excellent and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night for my partners birthday. We decided to have afternoon tea before unpacking and heading off for a swim. No staff in sight, in the end we had to ask at reception. Sat outside and waited about 20 mins before the receptionist came to take our order. Once it arrived it looked and tasted lovely. Not worth the money but ok. (Won't be having that again). Spa area is excellent and the staff explained how it all worked. Rooms were clean and comfy. Evening meal was nothing to write home about. Was expecting more especially since the menu sounded gorgeous. The steak and chips were dry! Wasn't worth £80 and not sure who gave him his mitchilin star but they need to check it out as its more harvester, the only mitchilin bit is the price. Breakfast on the other hand was gorgeous!!! Would I stay again? Yes, as long as it was on special offer. Would I have my dinner here - nope, get a taxi into Chester would be my advise.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquiHickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just got back after a lovely one night stay in family room. From the moment we walked in we said how friendly and knowledgeable the staff were. Excellent reception staff, answered all our questions before we had even asked them. Room extremely comfortable, our daughter had choice of 2 beds. We ate in the Aiden Bryne restaurant. Excellent value for money. Food amazing. Staff brilliant. Girls in the spa were fantastic and again so friendly. Actually took us into changing g rooms to show us facilities. Breakfast was the best hotel breakfast we have ever had. The choice was spectacular and the full English was brilliant. We will be back again and soon we hope.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogotrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked one night in a family room for a visit to the zoo. From arrival to departure the staff were fantastic.....friendly, helpful and very attentive. Our room was great with a v comfy bed and breakfast was very nice. The bar and restaurant are expensive but that's no surprise. The weather and our lack of time stopped us enjoying the gardens which was a shame. Overall, a very nice hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharpy0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here in June on our way to Holyhead and will make it our preferred hotel every year on route. All the staff were very good especially Alex who worked in the restaurant. We had dinner early 6pm as we had a long drive the next day, we were the only one's in there at that time. Normal we would like to have a few more people dinning to make an atmosphere but it wasn't a problem as Alex made us feel at home. After a while more people came in the food was really good. The room we had was comfortable but soon will need a refurb.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

stayed for 4 nights while working in the area. rooms were clean and comfortable.nice power shower. iron and board are important to me as was the ice bucket as i had an injury and the staff took great care of me. food great and the gym and pool facilities were, dare i say it again? great. i will be working in this area again and will certainly be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markstables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
0.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
793 reviews
6.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
9.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,701 reviews
8.9 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

Address: Parkgate Road, Ledsham CH66 9PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range: $95 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 27 acres of Cheshire woodland, you wouldn't believe how close Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa is to the M53, connecting to the M56 and onto Manchester and the rest of the UK. A beautiful secluded hotel and picture perfect wedding venue combined with outstanding comfort and accessibility. Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa blends the best of British tradition with comfort and style to ensure your stay is special. And we're ideally located just a short distance from the attractions of the North West, with the historic city of Chester only ten minutes away. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace before experiencing gourmet dining in the Craxton Wood Grill. Indulge at our Vital Health & Wellbeing Club and Spa - we've just undergone a sensational £1.4million transformation and there's no better place to put your feet up and let our therapists ease away your stresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Craxton Wood Chester
Hotel Macdonald Craxton Wood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing