We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a few days but pricey for the quality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hotel is set in lovely grounds. Room was nice but bed was far too hard. Pillows are feather and I asked for some non feather pillows which never arrived. Ate in the restaurant one night, food was nice but pricey for what it was. Nice selection of food for breakfast which is served in a conservatory overlooking the garden. Spa/leisure centre is a bit tired but Staff were lovely and I did have a lovely Indian head massage.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Beaches118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,461 - 1,467 of 1,894 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Had the weirdest breakfast of my life here listening to dated chart hits such as Savage Garden while a woman smashed around with cutlery and dishes making a load of noise.

She didn't seem bothered. Burnt toast. Sausages nice but quite small. No idea why my beans were in a bowl.

Was offered sauce by the editor and he came over and spooned it onto my plate from a large bowl?? Weird... Staff nice apart from loud woman but it was fine just bizarre.

Leaky Luke warm shower too but nothing major. Room comfortable.

Ironing board in our room (210) was filthy and I chose not to use it. Absolutely vile.

Would love to hear back from the hotel about why they operate like this ha!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank fholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice hotel, big and clean rooms plus a very good freshly cooked breakfast, although the bar drink menu is overpriced. Do not expect a country house feel, this is very much a modern hotel, which more than does its job without having much character.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My Fiancee and I stayed here for two nights on a gourmet break. The gym and spa were excellent, the food was very good but a little over priced, the staff were attentative and the rooms were spacious, clean and comfy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigjoey1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had a lovely weekend break celebrating our daughters eighth birthday, our room had a nice view of the extensive gardens and was spacious and comfortable for a family of four (room 217). There was a great selection of food for breakfast, hotel staff very friendly and helpful, really appreciated card and chocolates left in our room for our daughter. Plenty of car parking spaces and there are lovely walks in surrounding countryside. Plenty of activities within close proximity to hotel; you can go shopping in Chester, visit quaint little villages with typical English pubs and eat in a variety of restaurants. Only downside was the swimming pool and spa customer service, the staff are not very attentive and the locals tend to treat you as an interloper. There are no life guards and we were not informed about the segregation areas of the pool. Locals got a bit tetchy if you wandered into the ‘swimmers’ area of the pool and my daughter was reprimanded for attempting to pick up a float by a very autocratic irate swimming instructor. We would return to the Craxton Wood, it is a super hotel and is located in a beautiful area of Cheshire.

Room Tip: Ask to be located in new wing of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackdaniels26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We came back to the Craxton after 2 years for a night away and to use the SPA, this is one of the first hotel me and my partner visited when we first got together so we were hoping for a romantic weekend away. There was some kind of gypsy wedding on this day, the hotel was full of Irish and people spitting on the floor and smoking outside the hotel entrance door, when we arrived we were disgusted to say the least. There were kids running around the hotel all evening in all areas and not polite ones, It was not a nice environment or one bit relaxing. The evening meal was a good standard, as was the staff, but considering the atmosphere in the hotel after our meal we decided to go to bed. Although we would have liked to go straight to sleep, we were kept awake till approx. 4.30am by people fighting and arguing both outside the hotel window and also in the hallways. Needless to say the next day we were absolutely shattered. The breakfast we received on our first visit was superb, help yourself buffet to a wide range of breakfast types, however this time is was a set menu, the quality was not great, and all I wanted was a croissant, they were some available but they were rock hard and stale. We paid over £300 for this Break / SPA and came back feeling cheated and frustrated, not happy and relaxed as we should of. We will never return to the Craxton after this. Complete Disaster!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DrewBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I have just had a 3 night stay at The Craxton Wood, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was quiet, large, clean & comfortable. The decor was tradtional, We didn't eat in the restaurant - a wee bit pricey! The breakfast was first class with a wonderful choice, waiting staff were excellent, in fact all the staff were very pleasant, polite & helpful. The grounds were beautifil and impecably kept.
I cannot fault our stay at this lovely hotel.
My husband would have liked a small fridge in our room & the bottle of drinking water was not replaced during our stay, also a couple of sachets of drinking chocolate would be rather nice.
I would highly recommend to anyone who would like some peace & quite with a wee bit of luxury thrown in.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, which was lovely, obviously didn't see any others. En suite had a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledsham
0.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
793 reviews
6.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
9.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
8.9 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

Address: Parkgate Road, Ledsham CH66 9PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ledsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ledsham
Price Range: $96 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 27 acres of Cheshire woodland, you wouldn't believe how close Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa is to the M53, connecting to the M56 and onto Manchester and the rest of the UK. A beautiful secluded hotel and picture perfect wedding venue combined with outstanding comfort and accessibility. Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa blends the best of British tradition with comfort and style to ensure your stay is special. And we're ideally located just a short distance from the attractions of the North West, with the historic city of Chester only ten minutes away. Enjoy cocktails on the terrace before experiencing gourmet dining in the Craxton Wood Grill. Indulge at our Vital Health & Wellbeing Club and Spa - we've just undergone a sensational £1.4million transformation and there's no better place to put your feet up and let our therapists ease away your stresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Craxton Wood Chester
Hotel Macdonald Craxton Wood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing