We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Amazing House and a Brilliant Holiday”

Review of Batchcott Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Picklescott, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
784angek
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Amazing House and a Brilliant Holiday”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Batchcott for a long weekend in February half-term. We were a group of 12 with 6 adults and 6 kids aged from 10-17.

The house is just amazing. We were met on arrival and given a tour of the house and we couldn't believe how enormous it was. The living room, dining room and kitchen are huge and really comfortable. The photos really don't do the rooms justice. We easily sat 12 around the dining table so were all able to eat together. There was a log burner and a real fire, perfect for toasting marshmallows.

The kitchen was stocked with all the essentials - we had taken everything, not expecting this, so was a real surprise. The welcome treats from Eileen, the house manager, were really thoughtful and a lovely surprise too. The aga made the kitchen really cosy, but we used the extra cooker just as much. We took it turns to cook on each of our 3 nights and this worked brilliantly. The kitchen is so well equipped with good quality cookware.

Upstairs is enormous too. Every bedroom was spotless and spacious and the beds were so comfortable. The bathrooms were beautiful and fully stocked with soaps, shower gels and fluffy towels.

Outside was great too. The garden was massive and there was a lovely big terrace with garden furniture. It was too wet for us to sit out, but this didn't stop anyone playing in the tennis court and garden. The tree house was brilliant and we all loved the trampoline too. In the warmer weather, with the doors opening from the kitchen and dining room onto the terrace, we know it would be just perfect.

This was the biggest, most comfortable, warm and welcoming house we have ever stayed in and would very highly recommend to everyone thinking of a group holiday. Eileen was so helpful before we arrived and was there if anything had occurred during our stay, though nothing did at all. Thanks for making us so welcome. We would love to return one day.

Date of stay: February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2015
Thank you very much for your very kind review. We thoroughly enjoyed your group staying and you would be very welcome if ever you want a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmasR900...
Earls Barton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in lovely location with very personal service”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed here for an annual get together for 3 families and had a fabulous time. The house is beautiful and very spacious, lovely and warm with great facilities and surrounded by beautiful countryside. Eileen the house manager was so welcoming and flexible in meeting our needs - nothing was too much trouble. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay - we hope to return next year!

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words, Batchcott lends itself to these lovely family groups, and we will look forward to catching up again next year.
Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley D
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A memorable family birthday celebration in an outstanding house set in an idyllic part of the UK.”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The house is a little off the beaten track (approx. four miles of single track road) but persevere as it is well worth it! Eileen is an exceptional House Manager providing thoughtful welcoming gifts, who was on hand if needed but not imposing. She even put away our online shopping order, which arrived before we did!
The 18th century house is very homely with open fires, creaking stairs and uneven floor boards but the many ensuite bathrooms are modern and spacious.
The weather for our weekend was very kind which meant we could take advantage of the tennis courts, tree house and trampoline - the children loved it! I would love to make a return visit in the summer.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretending to be 'Lady of the Manor' in an imposing home
Liked least: A little difficult to find on first visit.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, and for your booking, it was a pleasure having you and your family to stay and you are always welcome to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickbev
Salzburg
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A wonderful country retreat”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

8 September, Just arrived home after staying at the wonderful Batchcott Hall for 3 days with friends. We couldn't have picked a better place to get together, the Hall is amazing, welcoming, spacious, relaxing, homely, private - just perfect. Eileen makes sure that every need is catered for and nothing is too much trouble. All the rooms are lovely, as are the bedrooms, it's a brilliant place to chill out and relax. The views from the garden are stunning. Local pub is a 10 minute pleasant walk into Picklescott, a nice village with friendly locals. For anyone contemplating booking this wonderful place, just do it, you won't regret it! I'm sure I will do my best to return there in the not so distant future. Thank you Eileen!

Date of stay: September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2014
Thank you for your kindness too and so pleased you enjoyed the local area which boasts some of the best countryside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

There aren't enough superlatives for Batchcott Hall. It has intriguing history, stunning views, luxurious comfort, SO MUCH space, and the most considerate manager in Eileen. She was attentive to our needs, providing a generous and surprising welcome hamper, but was never intrusive. Her help and advice before we arrived ensured we were well catered for. The house was particularly suitable for our party of 11 adults ranging in age from 17-- 75, offering flat screen for the World Cup, and ensuites for everyone (although one couple chose the downstairs room which meant they had to climb to the top of the house, but they could have slept up there). As well as the tennis court, there is table tennis and the Bottle and Glass, in easy walking distance, serves excellent beer. (A word of caution, it is a popular pub but small, so needs to be booked in advance). There are good walks around the hall as well as further afield and we all loved the quiet remoteness of the place.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and the interesting architecture
Liked least: The time it took to walk round the kitchen and from one part of the house to another!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your visit to Batchcott and thank you for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JupitusWi...
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning location, stunning property”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was our second visit over "Summer" half term and, although we haven't been able to test the BBQ on either year, we put everything else on offer through its paces. The Aga (there is a back up cooker) out-performs my own one; beautifully appointed en-suites - privacy for everybody; big fridge/freezer with a separate drinks fridge - very important! We ranged in age from 10 to 80 with quite a few 16-23 year olds who were more than happy to spend their time on the tennis court. Eileen, the house manager, is efficient beyond belief. Always there if you need her but extremely discreet. We love this house - and will return again one day. Lots of happy memories. In 20 years of holidaying with my extended family this is by far the most comfortable, indeed luxurious, place we have found within our budget.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from our bedroom
Liked least: Narrow roads to the property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We have enjoyed having your family to stay and hope to see you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra P
Rafz, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A gorgeous home from home in the Shropshire Hills”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I am late writing this review, but yet another evening with my husband reminiscing about the two fabulous stays we had at Batchcott Hall reminded me it was long overdue, so here I am!

We have stayed at Batchcott Hall twice, first for one week (Christmas week) in December 2013 and once for four nights in February 2014 for a family celebration.

It's hard to know where to begin when there is so much to say.

First of all, the location. Batchcott Hall is tucked away about a mile along a fairly narrow road from Picklescott village (which has a lovely pub, The Bottle & Glass) and about four miles from Dorrington on the main A49 south of Shrewsbury (which has a butchers - excellent Christmas turkey -, convenience store/newsagent, restaurant and pub).

It is a beautiful house with wonderful views over the terrace and lawn to the Shropshire Hills beyond, the view getting ever better the higher you climb in the house. It is extremely well-equipped with everything you could want. It is full of character, with beams, old wooden staircases and a lovely mix of cherished old and more up to date furniture/furnishings. We had a family Christmas for ten there (with decorations and tree supplied by Eileen!) followed by a long party weekend with 19 in residence and about 50 guests on party day and it suited both occasions perfectly.

Eileen, who manages bookings and the house itself (beautifully, I might add), could not do enough for us, and met all our requests in the planning stages and whilst there with prompt and helpful responses, even down to making bookings for us in the village pub and supplying an extra fridge so we could keep the wine cool!

The house has been renovated to a high standard (though it is clear it is a work in progress e.g. a few of the older windows remain that need updating) and has five extremely high-end bathrooms to service the seven bedrooms, all of which are spacious and warm with very comfy beds! There is a very effective log burner in the dining room and an open fire in the sitting room. The kitchen Aga is a delight after a walk in the cold winter air and ensured the spacious kitchen always felt cosy and became a popular hangout for everyone. Having spent Christmas week here, we can assure future guests that the house is very warm and the glazing very effective at keeping out the cold winds!

We have stayed in many 'holiday homes' over the years, but we have never stayed anywhere that felt so much like 'home'. There is nothing impersonal about Batchcott, it feels as though you live there (and by the time you leave, you will wish you did!) The photos do not do it justice, as has been said by other reviewers.

Eileen, we cannot thank you enough for all you did on both bookings to make our stay the most pleasurable we have ever had in holiday accommodation.

If you can love a place this much after only two winter visits, the second of which gave us nothing but torrential rain, then who knows how captivated one could be in Spring, Summer or Autumn? Well, one thing is for certain, we intend to find out! Eileen, we will be back!

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing (other than the weather)!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2014
Thank you for those very kind words and we look forward to any future visits from yourselves or your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing