We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place full of character”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Our 2nd Award from our past Guests , many thanks to you all , much appreciated !! Flat screen digital TV,DVD player,Stereo and BT Openzone wi-fi are joined by traditional games
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Our 2nd Award from our past Guests , many thanks to you all , much appreciated !!
Flat screen digital TV,DVD player,Stereo and BT Openzone wi-fi are joined by traditional games
Your opening view of the LARGE open plan living area which means no-one gets trapped in the kitchen.
Ground floor Family roll-top Bathroom, great for a soak with a glass of wine or the local brew!
Bring a toasting fork and make the most of this original fireplace.
Original Victorian open fireplace with a bag of fuel to get you started, bring some marshmallows !
Our growing library that means that the ORR lives up to its name , help yourself during your stay.
Simple BUT well equipped kitchen featuring butler sink & NEFF appliances, most importantly dishw
Up the wide and manageable stairs to the bedrooms , stairgates & doors at the top keep everyone
The Master Double bedroom complete with Bedknobs and Broomsticks iron bedstead and solid wood floors
The Middle twin bedroom with a small double and single bed, period iron beds with modern mattresses
The last bedroom,small double and tall single period beds , with plenty of furniture and space too!
All bedrooms feature original feature timber beams and period pine furniture with modern heating!
The marriage of old and new means the ORR is quaint but with ALL modern comforts - light and WARM.
Its the personal touches that mean we hope you enjoy your stay !
Xmas at the ORR always includes a real Xmas tree with all the trimmings, we are always full at Xmas!
A warm welcome awaits you behind this unique front entranceway behind your own secure period door.
Southwold's unique Pier, quintessentially British, vintage games, attractions and great Fish n
Suffolk has more Windmills per square mile than Holland , some are well kept , others are derelict.
Suffolk has some wild,unspoilt natural beaches where you can find peace, solitude and some odd stuff
NEW cream-tea island at nearby Southwold Boating Lake and Cafe , great place for tea & twitchers
The Norfolk Broads is 20 minutes away from the ORR & Day Boats or river trips are another great
Southwold the nearest Town to ORR , great for a bit of Star spotting or do the Adnams Brewery Tour
Come and join us and stay for the WORLD Crabbing Championships at nearby Walberswick.
Suffolk is home to the world renowned Adnams and Aspalls breweries , both within minutes of the ORR
Come and spend your holiday in one of England's special LISTED buildings.
Thanks to our guests for awarding us a coveted Trip Advisor 5-Star award last season.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wrentham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Connector...
1 review
“Lovely place full of character”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Myself and 2 good friends (knackered middle-aged mums get away) visited the ORR for a short weekend break at the end of November - met by lovely Hayley on arrival and shown around - beautiful place, full of character and perfect for our self-catering needs, very comfortable and clean. We visited Beccles (very quaint town perfect for shopping) and Southwold - beautiful and happening seaside town - a very short break but made all worthwhile because of a lovely, thoughtful host and perfect cottage!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: open plan living area
Liked least: no back door
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2017
Thanks for your kind review , we are glad you enjoyed the ORR and would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patd1967
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is our latest visit to The Reading Rooms,we've been trying to decide if it's our 7th or 8th visit.ITs situated just off of the A12 in the village of Wrentham. The main thing with the cottage is the parking space. It's always homely and comfortable .
Your just 10 minutes from Lowestoft and only 5 minutes from the quaint seaside town of Southwold. Hayley and Andy are the perfect hosts,nothing is ever to much trouble.
The cottage is that nice that we've even booked and paid our deposit for 2017

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of access
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2017
Thanks again to our most visited guests, see you again in 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mutters14...
1 review
“A lovely find in a great location”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Old Reading Rooms provide a very comfortable and relaxing holiday home. With a very spacious living area downstairs and 3 comfortable bedrooms upstairs. Everything you might need on your stay is more than provided for and the owners are very hospitable and friendly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2017
Thanks for the kind words and we hope to see you at the ORR again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaHarv...
1 review
“Loved it - would stay there again!”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked the old reading rooms because we got married in Wrentham and needed somewhere close to the venue to stay before and after the wedding! Couldn't have asked for better service, we had everything we needed and Hayley couldn't have been nicer or more helpful!!! Lovely cottage!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
Thanks for the kind words, glad you had a great wedding and pleased the ORR played its part. Good luck for the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope C
2 reviews
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We booked The Old Reading Rooms for a half term break. We had a lovely warm greeting from Hayley who could not have been more accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. The property has everything you should need and we found it a quiet, comfortable, relaxing place to stay in a good location. Good for young and old. Unfortunately the weather was not so kind to us but this did not dampen our spirits. Thank you Hayley for everything and we would definitely consider The Old Reading Rooms again if staying in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2016
Thanks indeed your your kind review, shame about the weather so far this Summer , its been a bit changeable to say the least. Be very happy to welcome you back to the ORR.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayem26
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful and welcoming”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I booked The Old Reading Rooms for some guests who were attending our wedding, I checked in for them on the day and met with Hayley, the owner to run through things and collect the key. Hayley was fabulous giving us all relevant info and she was very welcoming.
The accommodation is beautiful, cosy and homely and I wished I was staying there!
My guests really enjoyed there stay and were very impressed with the cottage and its facilities.
It was also a great feeling to know that our check out times were flexible as nobody was coming the next day, this is fantastic as your not ushered out quickly or on a set time frame!
Couldn't of asked or wanted anything better! Perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2016
Thanks for the kind words, glad the Wedding went to plan. Best of luck for the future X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dell7747
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Yet again a great time at The Old Reading Rooms always clean and tidy... Hayley there with kettle boiling for tea weather a little cold but property nice and warm !!!...bottle of favourite red wine Many Thanks Andy and Hayley

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2016
Great to see you again and thanks for continued support. Hotter this week now for sure !!! Feel free to come back soon , cheers A & H
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing