We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Yet Another fabulous week!”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Our 2nd Award from our past Guests , many thanks to you all , much appreciated !! Flat screen digital TV,DVD player,Stereo and BT Openzone wi-fi are joined by traditional games
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Welcome to the ORR a Grade 2 listed property with a modern design finish & spacious open plan li
Our 2nd Award from our past Guests , many thanks to you all , much appreciated !!
Flat screen digital TV,DVD player,Stereo and BT Openzone wi-fi are joined by traditional games
Your opening view of the LARGE open plan living area which means no-one gets trapped in the kitchen.
Ground floor Family roll-top Bathroom, great for a soak with a glass of wine or the local brew!
Bring a toasting fork and make the most of this original fireplace.
Original Victorian open fireplace with a bag of fuel to get you started, bring some marshmallows !
Our growing library that means that the ORR lives up to its name , help yourself during your stay.
Simple BUT well equipped kitchen featuring butler sink & NEFF appliances, most importantly dishw
Up the wide and manageable stairs to the bedrooms , stairgates & doors at the top keep everyone
The Master Double bedroom complete with Bedknobs and Broomsticks iron bedstead and solid wood floors
The Middle twin bedroom with a small double and single bed, period iron beds with modern mattresses
The last bedroom,small double and tall single period beds , with plenty of furniture and space too!
All bedrooms feature original feature timber beams and period pine furniture with modern heating!
The marriage of old and new means the ORR is quaint but with ALL modern comforts - light and WARM.
Its the personal touches that mean we hope you enjoy your stay !
Xmas at the ORR always includes a real Xmas tree with all the trimmings, we are always full at Xmas!
A warm welcome awaits you behind this unique front entranceway behind your own secure period door.
Southwold's unique Pier, quintessentially British, vintage games, attractions and great Fish n
Suffolk has more Windmills per square mile than Holland , some are well kept , others are derelict.
Suffolk has some wild,unspoilt natural beaches where you can find peace, solitude and some odd stuff
NEW cream-tea island at nearby Southwold Boating Lake and Cafe , great place for tea & twitchers
The Norfolk Broads is 20 minutes away from the ORR & Day Boats or river trips are another great
Southwold the nearest Town to ORR , great for a bit of Star spotting or do the Adnams Brewery Tour
Come and join us and stay for the WORLD Crabbing Championships at nearby Walberswick.
Suffolk is home to the world renowned Adnams and Aspalls breweries , both within minutes of the ORR
Come and spend your holiday in one of England's special LISTED buildings.
Thanks to our guests for awarding us a coveted Trip Advisor 5-Star award last season.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wrentham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Anna S
Soham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Yet Another fabulous week!”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We returned to The Old reading Rooms for the same week as last year, finding it the perfect retreat for a large family, including the dog.

We were as satisfied with house and location as we could be, the children were already planning their outings to the beach and nearby Southwold.

The ORR is extremely comfortable for family (or even a couple! ) and there was the addition of a larger TV and bluray,this year, which the children enloyed and allowed me to view from the kitchen area if it was necessary.

My Children are 15,12,10,7 & 5 and we have a border terrier.
Haley was as very helpful and accommodating as always, and suggested that full WiFi access would be available next year and has already pencilled us in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: having loads of family time (away from the XBOX!)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2015
Cheers for the review Anna and glad to see you enjoyed your return visit. Happy to take your booking for the same week next year as discussed , be in touch shortly. cheers again Andy & Hayley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDU23
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect half-term holiday!”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect holiday from start to finish. Hayley, the owner personally greeted us at the Old Reading Rooms with a warm welcome and the kettle on! I couldn't fault her hospitality as she was there at hand if we needed her. I spent the week with my husband, daughter, sister and dog and the ORR was perfect in terms of space and comfort. Tasteful, homely decor throughout the property helped us relax throughout the week. So perfectly situated in Wrentham, so close to visiting the lovely nearby towns of Southwold, Aldburgh and Walberswick. Over the moon finding the beach so close to us at Covehithe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All curled up reading with the open fire
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2014
Thanks for the kind review and so glad you found the ORR suited your needs and making the most of its great location as a base to explore the Suffolk heritage Coast, sounds like you covered most of it ! Feel free to come back anytime !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimboo115...
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Old Reading Rooms, Wrentham, Suffolk”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A very well appointed and refurbished period holiday property ideally located for exploring the local areas of Norfolk and Suffolk including the nearby beaches, walks and of course the Broads. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and looked forward to relaxing back in the comfort of the Reading Rooms exhausted every evening. There is lots on offer including the beach, shops and pier at Southwold, Lowestoft and of course Great Yarmouth. Thanks to Andy and Hayley for for providing a pleasant experience and hassle free arrival and departure process. A great stay and hopefully we'll return some day. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed open plan living space and general location
Liked least: kids missed wifi access (parents and grandparents didn't) - poor mobile reception
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
Thank you all for a great review and so glad that you enjoyed the Suffolk Coast and all it has to offer. Feel free to return whenever the opportunity may arise and thanks in advance for any recommendations you might pass on to family and friends , we will do our best to live up to them. Cheers Again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B
2 reviews
“Holiday for the children”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The place was lovely,couldn't fault it-the only problem was it was very near the main road and not very good for dogs. The owner was very obliging and helpful,couldn't have asked for more!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spacious open plan living area
Liked least: garden for the dogs
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and apologies that the small garden is detached at the rear of the property meaning that dog owners have to walk their dogs in the open countryside, many seem to find this satisfactory but indeed some do not, depends on the type and age of dog and the enthusiasm of the dog walker i guess.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S
Soham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic week spending time together.”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I decided to get away with the children and the dog and needed somewhere that slept 6 and I was very pleased with the open plan living area.
One evening I was able to interact with all the children at once. I was watching the two in the bath, while stacking the dishwasher and playing a game of draughts with one more and watching a film with the eldest two.
We had fabulous weather for the February half term and spent several days roaming the local beaches with small dog in tow.
Haley the owner was very accommodating and I was gratefull for her for forwarding details about mattress I slept on which was very comfy and we have bought one for ourselves.
The children never tired of watching the open being prepared and toasting marshmallows. Infact our good weather almost made the fire unnecessary.
We have been checking to see when it's next available for another time and bring my Husband along too.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2014
Thanks for your kind review , very much appreciated ! Your family really used the unique layout at the ORR to its absolutely best effect, well done. WE try and keep the Calendar up to date and already have a couple of weeks gone in 2015 but plenty remaining for a return visit which we would love to see, thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamela e
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"A Gem"!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I would be very surprised if anyone could find fault with this lovely property.
The kitchen is extremely well equipped - great quality crockery, glasses etc.We had taken out own tea and coffee - which we used, but these items where there.
Comfortable hide sofas and just a very genial area to spend time with a glass of wine! Shame we didn't have the need to light the open fire!
The beds are super comfy, and the bed linen compliments same. No scrimping on towels either. Hand wash and lotion at every washing point - small point maybe, but I have rented other holiday lets, and this has not been provided - even in some, no loo rolls - not the ORR!
The property was absolutely spotless - and we are 'fussy'.
Hayley made it clear that nothing was too much trouble, and stressed to contact her with any problem/query. Can't think anyone would ever have to though!
All in all, a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything inside the property
Liked least: Having to walk from the front to the garden area - small point though
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2014
Thanks for the Great review , we appreciate your kind comments and we hope you remember the ORR and the Suffolk Coastal area as a great holiday destination. We really value recommendation as future guests can really gauge what they should expect when deciding where to book. You will be very welcome to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Gem of a Holiday Home near the North Suffolk coast”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Used the Old Reading Rooms (ORR) for a weekend as a base for our daughter's wedding at Wood Farm Barn, Benacre. The ORR was ideal for this purpose and only about one mile from the wedding venue. The property itself was very thoughtfully and tastefully renovated and provided enough space to prepare for the event comfortably. After the event we were able to enjoy the very relaxing and comfortable surroundings of the ORR which accommodated 4 adults, 1 child and 2 under two's on our visit. It was like a home from from home for us and certainly the ORR is on our agenda for a longer visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space provided by the open plan ground floor
Liked least: Nothing that would spoil a holiday
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2014
Thanks for your kind review , we are so glad your stay was enjoyable especially given the special occasion. You will be very welcome back at the ORR for a pure relaxation vacation , see you soon, cheers Hayley and Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing