We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful and sumptious, welcoming place to stay with brilliant attention to detail.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Docking
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holland House B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Docking B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful and sumptious, welcoming place to stay with brilliant attention to detail.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have every intention of returning back here. Arrived on a cold, wet, wintry January night but what a marvellous welcome we received. The house is so beautiful and warm and just a dream to stay in. Steve and Mel were such hospitable hosts - they made us feel so welcome and as for the food - well now you're talking - delicious. Thank you so much for everything. Richard Perry and Claire Noelle Holmes

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollandHouse_11, Owner at Holland House B & B, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
What a lovely review!
Thanks,
Steve and Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tunis, Tunisia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at Holland House with a group of friends to attend a wedding. Steve and Melanie could not have been more helpful and attentive. The house is beautiful and full of period features, the bed was fabulous and the food was delicious. They suggested places to go and visit, tried to help us find somewhere to eat one afternoon - and in the end cooked a fabulous meal themselves! The drawing room with an open fire sets the atmosphere of the house. The house had a very peaceful ambience and we all wish we could have stayed longer. Definitely somewhere to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollandHouse_11, Owner at Holland House B & B, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Sorry its late, but thanks so much! Hope to see you again.
All the Best,
Steve and Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I arranged a stay over new year at Holland House for a group of friends who attended a wedding at the Sussex Barn in Burnham Market. Melanie and Steve, the owners of Holland House, have been fantastic from the initial booking to the amazing time we all had there. We took over the whole house and it was a home from home. I can highly recommend Holland House as a base for exploring this area of Norfolk. We are planning to go back in the summer to explore the area in better weather. Thank you for making our stay so fantastic and especially the wonderful dinner you prepared for us on new year's eve. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally_Cabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Our stay at holland house was lovely.
Steve and Melanie were really nice,friendly hosts. More than happy to help. Steve even offered to drive us into Burnham Market to collect our car due to leaving it there the night before.
Definitely going back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay here in July, using Docking as a base to visit nearby Haughton Hall and sightseeing in this delightful part of Norfolk. Great hospitality - tea and scones were very welcome after a long drive! We had the Wells Room - very comfortable, although do note that the bathroom, whilst private, is not ensuite and down a very short corridor - wasn't a problem for us. Excellent breakfast and a very good recommendation for dinner - the Orange Tree at Thornham - was also appreciated.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick&Dara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Have just spent two days at Holland House and it was wonderful. Steve and Melanie are born hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was superb, made all the more enjoyable by Steve and Melanie`s generous hospitality and advice on how to get the most out of our visit to Norfolk. We stayed in the Holkham room, which with its adjoining gorgeous ensuite bathroom, was such a luxe experience that my wife and I didn`t want to leave. We will definitely be back for the nearest thing to a stay in "Downton Abbey style " as soon as time allows. Steve and Melanie have certainly put Norfolk on our map !

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulously comfortable and rather grand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Fantastic stay from start to finish. From moment we arrived we were looked after so well by Steve & Melanie, nothing was too much trouble for them. Tea and scones on arrival, such a lovely touch.
Our room was the Holkham which was fantastic, really comfortable with a beautiful bathroom including a roll top bath, sky lights and a great shower. There's a great selection for breakfast, from fruit salad to yoghurts and an amazing cooked breakfast with locally sourced ingredients. We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding in the area and returned home feeling like we had been on a short holiday, after being given some places to visit on our way home from Melanie. We would recommend staying at Holland House to everyone.
Thank you Steve & Melanie for all your kindness, tips and local knowledge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdshady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Docking
5.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,280 reviews
4.2 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
779 reviews
5.4 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
380 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Nelson
The Nelson
#2 of 4 in Burnham Market
157 reviews
3.4 mi away
The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House B & B

Property: Holland House B & B
Address: Holland House Chequers Street, Docking, Burnham Market PE31 8LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market > Docking
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Docking
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holland House is a Grade II Listed Georgian House and is your ideal destination for weekend breaks and holidays, providing you with affordable luxury in a comfortable, relaxing, family-run bed and breakfast. We can offer a premier ensuite room, a self-catering studio suite in our Brancaster barn (wheelchair friendly with wet-room), a double with private bathroom and a twin room also with private bathroom. We endeavour to be child friendly with highchair and travel cot available on request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing