We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Docking
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holland House B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Docking B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Fantastic stay from start to finish. From moment we arrived we were looked after so well by Steve & Melanie, nothing was too much trouble for them. Tea and scones on arrival, such a lovely touch.
Our room was the Holkham which was fantastic, really comfortable with a beautiful bathroom including a roll top bath, sky lights and a great shower. There's a great selection for breakfast, from fruit salad to yoghurts and an amazing cooked breakfast with locally sourced ingredients. We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding in the area and returned home feeling like we had been on a short holiday, after being given some places to visit on our way home from Melanie. We would recommend staying at Holland House to everyone.
Thank you Steve & Melanie for all your kindness, tips and local knowledge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdshady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
55
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Steve and Melanie have a real little gem here. We stayed in the Holkham Room, which is absolutely beautiful and has an extremely generous en-suite including a luxurious slipper bath under a skylight! We felt completely spoiled and recharged after only 2 nights and delicious breakfasts. Will definitely be revisiting when next in the area :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icklemauii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My fiancée and I stayed at Holland House over May bank holiday this year and were left speechless by the place. Obviously the weather was scorching so this helped but did not detract from comfort of our stay.

Holland House is dead easy to find and really is situated in the perfect location to explore the best parts of Norfolk. On arriving, we were greeted by both Steve and Mel who gave us a quick tour of the beeeeeautiful house. We were then left to freshen up before Mel then made us a "cuppa". This included a full pot of refreshing tea, scones with jam & cream and the nicest Victoria sponge I've ever tasted! Mel & Steve gave us the best advice about the local area and their recommendations were on the money every time.

Our room (the Holkham) was gorgeous. A big comfy bed with original furniture and great biscuits! The bathroom was the star of the show. It was massive, simply decorated and a skylight right over a roll top bath - amazing! The room & bathroom are of the quality of a 5 star hotel.

Breakfast was also of a very high standard. There's a huge choice of traditional breakfasts (kippers, full English etc) as well as cereals, toast etc. We both had smoked haddock and full English. They were top notch - perfectly cooked and super fresh ingredients from the local area.

I cannot recommend this place enough. I went as a Norfolk sceptic and this place turned me into a definite Norfolk fan!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-Reading7162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were look after so well by Steve & Melanie. Nothing was too much trouble. So very welcoming. Cream tea on arrival - yummy ! We stayed in the Holkham Room which was fantastic. Very comfortable and a beautiful bathroom. We loved the shower. Breakfast - again yummy. We only stayed 2 days for a wedding in the area. Went home feeling like we had been on holiday. Would recommend staying at Holland House to all !! We don't normally return to venues but we would go back to Holland House. Thank you Steve & Melanie for all your kindness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinahJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Steve & Melanie have an absolute gem tucked away in Docking - we stayed for two nights in the "Burnham Room" for a wedding we had in Brancaster and what a delight it was! Fantastic breakfast, clean and tidy room and very friendly hosts. The tea and scones upon our (very late) arrival were a lovely touch as was the memento of Steve's talented painting abilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T4YMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yarm-on-tees
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Having been to many B+B,s throughout the country i can say this is Best I have had the pleasure to stay in.

Steve + Mel are the perfect hosts to what is a stunning House. they made us feel welcome from the second we arrived , Attentive , incite-full , friendly and just two lovely people that made our visit to Norfolk all the better.

Breakfast was a delight and set us up perfectly for the day. the Room (HOLKHAM) was super cosy and comfortable and the Old style bath set in the centre of the bathroom sealed the deal.

I wouldn't consider staying anywhere but Holland House when i visit Norfolk again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

'The Barn' was a great place to stay- welcoming hosts, wood burning stove for cosy evenings, very comfy bed, patio, access to the secluded garden, reasonably priced, well-stocked general store in the village and a short drive to the beautiful coast, seafood shops...Burnham Market,,- all you need for an excellent break. Thoughtful extras too- go and find them out!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Docking
5.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,326 reviews
4.2 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
814 reviews
5.4 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Nelson
The Nelson
#3 of 5 in Burnham Market
163 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Lofts at Mill House Farm
4.6 mi away
The Lifeboat Inn
The Lifeboat Inn
#1 of 5 in Thornham
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House B & B

Property: Holland House B & B
Address: Holland House Chequers Street, Docking, Burnham Market PE31 8LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market > Docking
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Docking
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holland House is a Grade II Listed Georgian House and is your ideal destination for weekend breaks and holidays, providing you with affordable luxury in a comfortable, relaxing, family-run bed and breakfast. We can offer a premier ensuite room, a self-catering studio suite in our Brancaster barn (wheelchair friendly with wet-room), a double with private bathroom and a twin room also with private bathroom. We endeavour to be child friendly with highchair and travel cot available on request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing