We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 Star accommodation in beautiful West Lancashire”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bispham Green, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve C
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 Star accommodation in beautiful West Lancashire”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Brilliantly run by owner Claire Martland and husband Cliff, one could easily run out of superlatives when describing this delightful accommodation. Located in the delightful village of Bispham Green in West Lancashire, Maltkiln cottage is a one bedroom converted Piggery located on a working farm (Crook Hall Farm).

The cottage is tastefullyy furnished in contemporary style,and has central heating, an excellent kitchen with full cooking facilities, and a dishwasher. The separate double bedroom boasts a superbly fitted ensuite with shower and bath. I stayed in this cottage for three weeks in June 2015 and loved every minute. The area boasts a wonderful Farm Shop just 200 yards walk and the welcoming Eagle and Child Pub just alongside.

This area of West Lancahire is renowned for its many walking tracks through hedgerow and wood.

I highly recommend Maltkiln Cottage, it is easily the best self contained accommodation I have ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2015
We really appreciate your wonderful comments - thank you! We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, the farm shop and of course the Eagle and Child and hope to have you book again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LadyGrady
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed here for 13 nights at the end of January and early February and had a wonderful time.

The cottage is immaculate. It is contemporary, clean and very comfortable. It really was a treat to stay there.

Perfectly laid out, the cottage has a very well equipped kitchen so if you do want to be able to cook properly you can do so. The lounge, bedroom and bathroom are also first rate with welcoming comfortable furniture. The bathroom is just right - spotlessly clean with an excellent powerful shower and lashings of hot water.

The cottage is on a working farm but also walking distance to the local pub and farm shop. It just so happens that the local pub, The Eagle & Child, serves fantastic food and guests at the cottage enjoy a discount there too.

The farm shop next to the pub is very well stocked with everything fresh local produce and interesting deli items to a rather tempting selection of wines. We certainly didn't go hungry during our stay.

Only minutes from the wealth of independent shops and cafes at Cedar Farm Galleries and nearby Burscough and Southport, Maltkiln offers comfortable contemporary accommodation in a great location. There are plenty of nice walks and bike rides nearby too, and there is a storage shed for the bikes so it's all very convenient.

The owners are helpful and friendly but completely unobtrusive. We enjoyed the fresh eggs from the farm chickens that the owners left with their compliments for us to try.

Highly recommended indeed.

If you're looking for a slightly bigger cottage there is a 2 bedroomed cottage called Barn Owl on the same farm but for just two of us, Maltkiln was absolutely perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and cleanliness of the cottage
Liked least: Would have liked a washing machine for a long stay but the owners made one available in another property.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northants
Reviewed January 16, 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
padstow
Reviewed January 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham
Reviewed April 13, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katy L
Witney, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming, cosy holiday cottage - a lovely weekend break.”
Reviewed December 10, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Having arrived at the cottage I was given a lovely welcome by the owners who were very helpful in answering questions about the local area and amenities. The cottage itself was really lovely; extremely well presented and clean with everything you could need for a break away and the bed was particularly comfortable! Being december it was a bit chilly but the cottage remained snug and warm. Ir was nice to wake up in the morning and look out of the window to see horses grazing. Although it was a bit too cold to sit outside given the time of year I can imagine that the little patio area outside the cottage would be a lovely place to sit in warmer weather. My other half was keen to see the fishing ponds near the property, and although he didn't get the chance, next time I think I might lose him to a few hours fishing there! I think the cottage itself is in a good location with easy access from the M6 (about ten minutes by car) and close enough to a train station if you fancy a jaunt to Manchester. We also took a trip to
Formby on the coast and were lucky enough to see a red squirrel at the reserve. The cottage is within walking distance of The Eagle and Child, which is a lovely pub serving delicious food and drink. A short walk also takes you to Cedar Farm, which has some really lovely and unusual shops, cafe and a really nice coffee shop. The Red Lion pub is also nearby and the food there was delicious!

All in all it the cottage provided delightful accommodation in an ideal location for a fab weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautifully presented interior and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing