We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent enough but not really a luxury break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decent enough but not really a luxury break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

We booked this as a one-night spa break. While all of the elements were there (spa treatment, pool, jacuzzi, sauna, gym, and all meals as booked), it was unfortunately a bit lacking in terms of luxury and an overall, pampering spa "experience".

We did not spend much time in our rooms, being with friends in the spa, restaurant or lounge instead. My room was basic, perhaps even spartan, with none of the modern decor of the ones shown on the website, but the beds were comfortable and everything did seem clean. The evening meal we had was delicious, breakfast was also very good, and restaurant service was on the whole excellent.

For the spa element we had brought flip flops as advised but were surprised that robes were not offered, only towels. The pool facilities were clean but small, and in decor/atmosphere felt more like a holiday park leisure facility than a 4* hotel. It was not so relaxing due to cheesy pop music, playing children (even after the advertised cut-off time of 5pm) and the fact that there were only three poolside chairs (our group alone was 7). Nonetheless the spa treatments were very professional and the relaxation room provided afterwards was a nice touch. Our lunch above the pool was simple (sandwiches, salad, fruit) but fresh and plentiful.

Small touches were lacking, such as most locker keys not having a pin or wristband for safe keeping (not to mention a locker number). Maintenance was unfortunately not perfect. Two of the three ladies' changing room toilets had no light (not just a blown bulb, but the halogen unit completely missing from the ceiling, making them pitch black as they were in individual rooms), and one of the two poolside showers for the sauna/steam room was not working.

I do not dispute that elements of this hotel are 4*, but having recently stayed at a 4* Mercure in Bristol, and just comparing the first impressions of the neighbouring 4* Crabwall Manor, I unfortunately do not agree that the hotel as a whole deserves this rating; elements of it are uninspiring at best. For a budget spa break, booked knowingly as such, it's OK, but I would try somewhere else next time. In this case the company of friends was the most important thing and that was what made the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Thank you for your review,
I have noted your comments
Best Regards
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    430
    300
    238
    226
See reviews for
287
718
34
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Having just returned from this hotel after a weekend break from the kids, all I can say is fabulous, brilliant, relaxing, refreshing etc.

This hotel is by far one of the friendliest hotels We have ever stayed in. from the reception staff to the housekeepers, nothing is to much trouble for the staff at this hotel.

Yes the decor in our room was a little tired, BUT it was clean, welcoming and spacious. the lounge area was a hive of activity and even though the restuarant and bar area were busy the staff still provided friendly words and a smile. The pianist that plays on a saturday is well worth a visit. The spa area and leisure facilities are good with again friendly staff, the evening meal was lovely with a new chef in post at the hotel and breakfast the following morning was very very good.

Dont believe the rubbish reviews you read about this hotel its well worth a visit whether it be with friends, wife/partner or your kids.

we will be going back for a second visit mark my words

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshp_lfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mollington
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

We had a Saturday night stay at this Brook hotel and had mixed impressions. Although this hotel is registered as a 4 star facility ,assisted by its pool & spa amenities, the room we stayed in could not be regarded as 4 star. Our room & ensuite bathroom was rather small and somewhat dated. The lack of the fine touches such as complimentary toiletries and a modern fully functioning TV with sky channels, our remote control which had no cover on the battery compartment didn't operate our TV and we had no BBC1? Cleanliness was good, however and the two single beds put together to make a king size double was adequate.
On the positive side, the attitude and service of the staff was exemplary. The spa pool was nice and warm and the changing areas clean. There was a sauna and steam room available although these were very small. There was a nice cafe just above the pool area serving drinks and snacks. As part of our package we both had a wonderful full body massage, which I would recommend.
We found the lounge area pleasant and very relaxing, assisted by a very good pianist on the Saturday evening.
We had a very nice three course dinner on the Saturday evening, in a pleasant restaurant area and attended by very courteous staff. As I have experienced in many hotels the alcoholic drinks choice does not cater for a discerning cask beer drinker and the usual high prices apply for these drinks.
Our overall impression was positive.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMaker503929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you so much for your review , we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future


Regards
Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

After booking we read the reveiws and travelled with some trpidation. The front of the hotel belies what lies within. Originally an old Victorian house some unsympathetic extensions over the years have been added which don't do it justice. However the rear of the property and the gardens are most attractive, in particular the ground floor gives way to Lounge and the Garden Room. This space is contempoarily designed, the furnishing and ambience very pleasant, featuring a piano bar and an attractive restaurant. We're not sure what other diners have been eating because the Valentines menu we experience was excellent as was breakfast and as for service the staff couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant. We were upgraded into a deluxe room which overlooked the lawn and gardens at the back of the house. A little shabby chique in places, it was however, very comfortable and clean.

Location wise it is approx 2 miles from Chester city centre and other local amenities e.g. Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oaks designer outlet, motorway links etc. As such its setting is very quiet, offers good value for money and we enjoyed our stay immensely and would not hesitate in booking a return stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suki2195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review
we look forward to welcoming you back to Mollington

Mairead and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Just arrived home
fantastic break
the management, staff food and drink were of such quality I will be going back again

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikgalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

our stay was a gift, so glad we didn't pay for this stay.The outside of the building is terrible not at all like the photographs, we actually laughed at it! Check in was rushed and our room was down some dark and dingy cold corridor. Paint peeling off doors, very dull. Our room was average, cold on arrival.No hair dryer in room, had to ask for one. Bathroom needs a re fit and updating into the 21st century!We did at one point think about going home! We went to the spa, also dark, old fashioned and in desperate need of modernizing, how this has a 4 star rating i dont know. The gym looked the best part of the hotel. We had arranged to eat in the hotel but thought better of it and went into chester for the night, so glad we did. The hotel has a strange feeling about it, no atmosphere and one member of staff does seem to be doing everything, very bizarre. Breakfast was ok. We wont ever return or recommend this hotel to anyone, there are plenty more nicer hotels in chester, Premier Inns are of a higher standard than here. It needs total modernisation, total let down.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateraff2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mollington hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

This spa break was a Christmas present for me and my three sisters from my mother who also accompanied us. This was the worse experience of customer service I have ever had either home or abroad. Considering this is supposed to be a four star hotel I was was aghast. There were no staff, we waited two hours for a lunch of sandwiches and desert that had been pre-booked. The sandwiches had to go back as there was mould on the bread. The same person who was waiting in the spa brasserie was also topping up the chlorine in the pool! Just don't go there!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalTipps25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Property: Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, SpeedyBooker.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing