We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (2,011)
Filter reviews
2,011 results
Traveler rating
526
526
372
291
296
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
526
372
291
296
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed chester zoo spa treatments cheshire oaks bar area buffet style couldn't fault weekend break full english gym molly facial
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 2,011 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2018

My friend had this voucher for her birthday and invited me. The voucher allowed us to use the pool (freezing cold), sauna and steam room. Did not stay long in the pool it was so cold. All the facilities could have done with a good clean.
Afternoon tea - the young man who was in charge of the Spa (pool and everything) served the tea in his tracksuit, while booking in clients and keeping an eye on the pool, through the windows in the Bar area. What a lot of responsibility for one person and what about H&S in the pool area?? Not impressed again.
Our tea considered of 9 small quarters of sandwiches - NO choice available. We had cheese, ham and boiled egg. All filling were tasteless, hand was slimy and a weird texture. 2 small scones (already with a smear of jam and cream), 2 very small pieces of cake the size of a postage stamp and 2 small cream donuts. The chocolate cake I had - crumble in my hand because it was too small to hold. We were offered sparkling wine and choice soft drinks, which the young man served and made the tea. He was very nice and polite, but I did not envy him his job!!!
So disappointed with the whole experience, the plates had been make up earlier as they were stone cold and there where 4 parties taking tea and we all got the same.
I would NOT recommend this experience to anyone. What a let down of a once brilliant hotel.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Trisha195209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2018 via mobile

Typical hotel of this nature, old building, some parts not in the best state of repair.

Really old fashioned, old furniture and decor, uneven floors, bed was like sleeping on a snooker table with the balls still on. We stayed with a 4 month old baby but we were given a room on the first floor, through very small rabbit warren corridors and doors, and there is no lift! We had to leave the pram in the car!

Staff are great and the food was very good (with the exception of finding a small caterpillar in a sandwich), but overall another example of a hotel that puts the word Spa at the end and thinks it's better than it is.

Have stayed in far worse places, but a £35 Premier Inn would have given us a better night's sleep.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Jonny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2018

Dear Joney M

We are pleased that on the whole you had a pleasant stay and appreciate you sharing your opinion and feedback today.

Regards
Denise Ummat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

Myself, partner and 4 month son staying in the hotel on 6th November 2018. The room we stayed in was the same as most hotels up and down the country. When I booked I stated we would have a baby with us, but no travel cot was in the room. A quick call to reception and this was rectified. I have to say all the staff we encountered we helpful and friendly. We used the free spa facilities and these were very pleasant, we used the pool twice (once at night and once in the morning) and both times we shared it with just a few other people. The only disappointment was the breakfast, with the cooked breakfast the options were slim and not particularly tasty, if I hadn't already paid I probably wouldn't have bothered after seeing the selection. All I all I enjoyed my stay, and for the price I paid it was worth it, Just avoid the breakfast.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Dear Ash H
It was a pleasure for us to welcome you to the Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa and we apologise that the cot was not set up for you before your arrival . Such booking notes on not usually overlooked and we appreciate your patience whilst this was rectified.

We are pleased you had a pleasant break away whilst visiting Chester and that you enjoyed returning to relax in the pool .
I am sorry that in this occasion you did not enjoy breakfast and this will be followed up with both the restaurant team and Chef .

Kind regards
Denise Ummat

Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2018

Sam the Spa Manager greeted us on arrival and from then on we were treated like VIPs. Steve brought us our lunch right on time and it was excellent, can highly recommend the steak! Hot stone massage was very relaxing, and a pleasant chill out room afterwards,
All the staff were wonderful, we will be going again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Dear Ruth G

It is wonderful to read that you had such a relaxing and pleasant day with us in the Spa and that you thoroughly enjoyed the treatments . It was a pleasure for Sam and Steve to look after you and we hope to have the opportunity to do do the next time you feel like a little rest and tranquility.

Kind regards
Denise Ummat
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in room 60, initial reception received very good booked in and receptionist very informative and efficient. Room very cold turned out to be a stuck valve on radiator which with a bit of fiddling was resolved, but had to be turned off again due to it being very noisy, other than that room clean and tidy. Tried the pool which was very nice. The barman seemed to be quite miserable, no greeting or smile and the some of the furniture in the bar area needs replacing or repairing. The gents toilets in the reception area need a deep clean. Breakfast is good although provision should be made to keep food warm which would be a relatively easy thing to do. Hotel is conveniently situated within a couple of miles of Chester and a few miles from Cheshire Oaks and has nice outside areas. Just could do with a bit of tlc to make it a truly lovely hotel.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jim242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Director at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Dear Jim 242

We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay whilst shopping in Chester . Thank you for your comments and feedback which the GM will follow up with all his Heads of Department regarding the room , bar and breakfast service so that we can improve in these areas for our future guests and residents.

Kind regards
Denise Ummat
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews