We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, but not the worst either”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Stayed here for the one night at the beginning of March as a late Valentine's treat. Room was OK; decent size and generally clean although some of the paint was starting to come off the ceiling in the bathroom. Pool and Spa facilities are a bit dated, but again were generally clean. Breakfast was served buffet style, which isn't our preferred option, but was reasonable enough.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saint-buzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,637 - 1,643 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2009

Hotel fronts on to the grounds so plain from the road but once you get in a real nice surprise as the lounge and bar are very elegant. Staff really friendly and leisure is great, even has squash. Restaurant was very busy but ordered bar snack which was good. Nice room looked to have been upgraded fairly recently.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karibukid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

One thing i will say is that the staff [when you find them] are great. Not sure whether it's because of current economic downturn or not but the staff were multi-tasking like nothing i''ve ever seen.
The food is very good but our room was afwul. Stayed overnight with a girlfriend for a rest and to sample the spa.
The cornicing in the room was filled with silicone, was mouldy and was falling apart, as was the window frame in the bathroom, the loo roll holder was holding onto the wall by the skin of it's teeth. The radiator was so hot you couldn't put your hand on it, there was no thermostat so couldn't turn it off so spent an anxious and boiling night trying to sleep as we had the windows open which led out onto a flat roof so was very concerned about security. On a plus note, the heated towel rail worked!!
The spa was not the best to be honest. There were two women, my friend [pregant] had the older woman whilst i got the young girl. The treatment was good and i was very relaxed. I was escorted to the relaxation room and my friend eventually arrived and we compared notes as we had the same treatment She got a salt scrub but i didn't, I got a shower but no shower mitt or gel to help me remove my algea which was all over me, whereas she did! She even got assitance with her back due to her condition which we thought was brilliant - i didn't even get soap!!!
Our relaxation was brought to a complete stop by the young girl banging her way into the room to ask which hotel room we were in so she could charge it to our bill, and that sort of put an end to that!!
This lack of consistency really ruined the experience for me so should you go to the spa i'd ask for the other lady.
There was also a funeral party in the hotel and it was a bit disconcerting for us so no idea how they felt upon arriving at the hotel to have no-one to great them and show them the way to their room for the wake, not even a sign, which i thought was very poor.
The food is good and the service in the restuarant is very good so top marks there.
Other than that i wouldn't be returning. The place needs an overhaul, the decor is dated, and whilst the lounge and restuarant look good in the evening [there's a reason for the low lighting] in the day the true state of the wallpaper is revealed.
No robes or slippers are provided in the spa either which again ,we thought was a bit poor.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UDDERSUNITED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookKent, Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2009

We were extremely sorry to read that yo were not entirely happy with your stay at the Mollington Banastre Hotel and truely believe that your experience is not the normal experience our guests are treated. It would appear you were allocated one of our remaining rooms due for refurbishment and the comments you have raised are in hand and are not reflective of the general state of the property and the bedrooms.

I would very much like to invite youback as my personal guest to demonstrate how we usually treat our guest on a spa visit at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

My wife and I seized on an opportunity to have a couple of days away while the kids were on a school trip.We had a best Western Gift card and decided to book two nights at the Molly B after readig some favourable reviews. We booked DB&B for two nights and upgraded to an Executive room.On arrival everything was fine we were a little dissapointed when shown to our room because it didnt have the wow factor we expected and looked a little tired,however it had everything we needed,was spacious and spottlesley clean.Breakfast and dinner were excellent,we mixed the menu of the day with the a la cart and found it great. the leisure club has everything you could want although I just used the pool and sauna. The staff were friendly and attentive, location was fine,£4.60 in a taxi into chester. The only thing I didnt like was that is was so warm allover the Hotel! Please turn the heating down! Although my wife loved it,must be a man thing!. All in all a good break and would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinglesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

I stayed here for Valentines weekend as a suprise trip for my partner, as his birthday falls on the same day. We spent the weekend in Chester initially based in the Best Western Westminster Hotel in the city centre, and as a relaxing treat the remainder of the holiday weekend was to be in the spa hotel. As many people have commented, the picture that they use on their website is not actually the front of the hotel, it is actually taken from the back gardens of the hotel overlooking the conservatory garden restaurant! However, do not be put off by this, as initially my heart sunk when I saw the building, I personally thought it looked like an upkept 70's block of flats, but as you walk into the main doors, you can see exactly wher the quality and comfort begins. The reception areas, dining room, conservatory restaurant were delightful decorated and very well maintained.However,the corridors which lead to various rooms could all do with some modernising and decorating, but overall, facilities and room sizes are fantastic! The evening meal and its delivery was top class silver service with the food at such a high quality it is hard to explain exactly how good it was! THE BEST food we have ever, ever sampled! And trust me it had to be good as we do eat out ALOT! We had a piano player in the background with the atmosphere being very realxed. Staff are brilliant and can cater for every need you may have. The gym facilities are amazing and the equipment is fantastic with a huge variety of cardio and muscle traininers. The spa facilities are good too, albeit a little small- about 4 people per sauna/steam room. This review is definately not a complaint and for me the hotel was brilliant, however it is hard to always get a true picture of what really happens in the hotels as they always want to promote themselves. I hope this helps, and like I said although the initial looks are deceiving, once inside the hotel it is a brilliant place!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplevrthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Came for a weekend at short notice. Had a lovely, large, clean and modern room at the back of the hotel. All meals were served in the restaurant by attentive and friendly staff. Food and atmosphere was very good. Lounge area was comfortable (with board games) and a cosy fire. Nothing was too much trouble. Very hot in the hotel so had to sneak open a few windows so as not to suffocate. Overall a lovely weekend, great room, great restaurant and very professional staff.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seacrestNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

We stayed as a family (2 adults + 2 children, 9 & 6 yrs) at the hotel one Saturday night in Jan 09. We booked three rooms (1 family room & 2 twin rooms) as my sister-in-law was celebrating her 40th birthday, so we decided get together in Chester.
A great idea for a UK city break.
We found the cheapest way to book was through the Superbreak website. We arrived about mid-day and our family room was ready. Nice room (No.29) which has a seperate bedroom for the kids with it's own ensuite doorway. The room was very clean and decor was in good order.
Before the rest of our party arrived we decided to try out the swimming pool and leisure centre - Pool very good with 3 separate areas for toddlers, children and adults with a Jacuzzi to the side - changing rooms very clean with lockers and showers. Steam room and sauna also available - the centre also has a gym and it's own bar! Fresh towels are available at the leisure centre reception.
In the evening we took a taxi into Chester city (the best option as Chester parking is very expensive and difficult) as we booked a table at Ego's a decent child friendly restaurant.
We returned to the hotel after the restaurant and had a few drinks in the hotel bar, where they had a pianist.
The next morning (Sunday) we had an early morning swim and a very good full english breakfast buffet with the usual tea, coffee, toast, cereal, fruit etc - the breakfast staff are particularly attentive - providing our party with a fully laid out 8 seater table without us requesting.
We would definitely return for the friendly staff, good family room, fully equiped liesure centre and great breakfast experience.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank volcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,758 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range: $74 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing