We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Came for a weekend at short notice. Had a lovely, large, clean and modern room at the back of the hotel. All meals were served in the restaurant by attentive and friendly staff. Food and atmosphere was very good. Lounge area was comfortable (with board games) and a cosy fire. Nothing was too much trouble. Very hot in the hotel so had to sneak open a few windows so as not to suffocate. Overall a lovely weekend, great room, great restaurant and very professional staff.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seacrestNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,642 - 1,648 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2009

We stayed as a family (2 adults + 2 children, 9 & 6 yrs) at the hotel one Saturday night in Jan 09. We booked three rooms (1 family room & 2 twin rooms) as my sister-in-law was celebrating her 40th birthday, so we decided get together in Chester.
A great idea for a UK city break.
We found the cheapest way to book was through the Superbreak website. We arrived about mid-day and our family room was ready. Nice room (No.29) which has a seperate bedroom for the kids with it's own ensuite doorway. The room was very clean and decor was in good order.
Before the rest of our party arrived we decided to try out the swimming pool and leisure centre - Pool very good with 3 separate areas for toddlers, children and adults with a Jacuzzi to the side - changing rooms very clean with lockers and showers. Steam room and sauna also available - the centre also has a gym and it's own bar! Fresh towels are available at the leisure centre reception.
In the evening we took a taxi into Chester city (the best option as Chester parking is very expensive and difficult) as we booked a table at Ego's a decent child friendly restaurant.
We returned to the hotel after the restaurant and had a few drinks in the hotel bar, where they had a pianist.
The next morning (Sunday) we had an early morning swim and a very good full english breakfast buffet with the usual tea, coffee, toast, cereal, fruit etc - the breakfast staff are particularly attentive - providing our party with a fully laid out 8 seater table without us requesting.
We would definitely return for the friendly staff, good family room, fully equiped liesure centre and great breakfast experience.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank volcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

My partner and I booked a great deal half board through teletext site. My first impression was that the place didn't look like the picture for the hotel. I was a bit disapointed. But once inside the hotel is welcoming and staff friendly. We were greeted by a roaring open fire as we went up to our room.

The room was fantastic it was huge with a four poster bed. The food and service in the restaurant was the highlight of the hotel. Some of the best meals I've had in a hotel anywhere.

The hotel is just far enough away from the city but close enough for a cheap taxi ride, the average price was £5 each way. Overall impression is that the hotel isn't top luxury but the service certainly was. And the nice pool, sauna and steam room helped us relax after some busy days out.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Thewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We stayed here overnight whilst on a shopping trip to Chester. The hotel was very nice - it had character unlike some of the new modern hotels. We sat by an open fire in the bar area which was really relaxing. The pool was brilliant, 1.2m deep and open until 10pm so just right for a swim after a hectic day of travelling/shopping. There was also a nice jacuzzi, steam room & sauna and a large gym. Treatments are available but it's best to book in advance as they get busy especially at the weekend. We didn't realise this & they were fully booked but managed to get us appointments in their sister hotel - Crabwall Manor which is a short drive down the road. The staff were really friendly, nothing was too much trouble for any of them. It was a bit of a distance to our room down some long corridors but the room itself was fine. I think it's definitely value for money & would consider staying there again

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarett8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Without exception the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful at all times.

We enjoyed our stay, but were disappointed by the bedroom. The room was huge, but very much in need of some TLC. The decorations were very dated and the curtains had holes in them. The carpet was stained and the bed was very uncomfortable. The bathroom had a very musty smell.

We did not use the leisure facilities or eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on these elements.

Also a bit far out of Chester for us. Having to get a taxi proved expensive. With hindsight, perhaps we should have paid more for a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelaholic_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

The pool here is exceptional with large well-tended changing rooms and Squash courts in addition to the normal leisure facilities. The rooms and breakfast service were average. Breakfast on one day was quite good with innovative vegetarian dishes but on the Sunday it was really a race between the guests and the staff and required some management attention to deliver a consistent service. Being a Best Western, there are good rates and points bookings available.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

The hotel is wonderful! A victorian house amid gardens at 5 min from Chester. The place was quiet and warm.
The staff was friendly and nice, the room was clean and with a king size bed. The bathroom was clean and a bit cold compared to the room.
We enjoyed a good breakfast and a great dinner (the caesar chicken salad was juicy and tasty, the selection of British cheeses was fresh and excellent).
The staircase, the corridor and the floor in the room were built in wood and squeaked a bit as we walked on, but I think it was the funny part of being in an old house.
The garden was beautiful (I saw squirrels, never seen one in Italy) although it rained all days we stayed there
I and my wife did not try either the pool or the gym... maybe next time!
The TV had only a few channels, ok, but who cared? ;)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mithrius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,755 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range: $74 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing