We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Christmas treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Bristol
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Christmas treat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

For the first time in our 47 years of marriage we did not have to cater for the family at Christmas. I chose this hotel from an internet search with some research from Tripasvisor and others. Our stay was OK but lacked a real Christmas spirit. No special entertainment was arranged and no carol singing or even Christmas songs (Rudolf etc,). The piano remained unplayed. The bar was poor. On arrival on Christmas Eve bitter was off and stayed off - they'd run out! No campari, no angostura bitters, only 1 brandy brand etc. The bar staff did not know how to make a champagne cocktail. What no receipe book? The hotel was tired and in need of a make-over - especially the front doors. We are both disabled and ride mobility scooters. Not having automatic doors made going in and leaving a bit difficult. Our room had a sort of huge industrial free-standing heater which worked fine but seemed out-of-place. No housekeeping on Christmas Day was poor - at this price you do expect better. Some of the staff were magnificent. Special mention to Mr Da Silva (I don't know his first name) - he worked like a dingbat and very long hours. He was very specific - he is an Englishman but his parents are Sri Lankan. The food was generally fine and they coped well with my wife's allergy to wheat. Dishes did look as if they had been under hot lights for quite a while. All in all not a hotel we will return to but certainly not a disaster more a disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    436
    306
    239
    226
See reviews for
297
723
34
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

A bit disappointed with lack of Christmas festivities. Piano in lounge but never played, was expecting some entertainment, at least carols!. The hotel is faded and needs a good revamp to merit 4*. Food was hit and miss(the meat was overcooked) and looked like it had been sitting around being kept warm. I visited this hotel in the 1980's several times and had expected a revamp since then. Visited leisure centre and that also needs updating; freezing changing rooms, squash courts have seen better days. On the plus side the staff were lovely except check in on Xmas Eve when we never received our welcome pack so missed out on afternoon tea and guest reception at 6pm. Also disparity with how much people had paid for the package(us £220 each for 2 nights, another couple paid £121 including 4 poster and 2 spa treatments!). Bedroom not serviced on Christmas Day; had to ask for extra coffee/milk etc. The hard working staff deserve better as well as the paying customer. One moot point, Xmas Eve quiz (we spent ages on this:-) was never marked! Mr Gavin(Manager) needs to get Brook Hotels to 'pull their socks up'. Best staff member, Desi and hard working Dining Room waiter(do not know his name, Sri Lankan who never stopped smiling and working extremely long hours). Hotel welcomes dogs which I have no problem with, didn't see any children though. Come on Brook Hotels, if you want this establishment to stay open you really need to try harder.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalila153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

It would appear that all an establishment has to do to secure a 4-star rating these days is to add a pool and leisure centre, regardless of the state of the remainder of the hotel. Its really time that the process for granting and monitoring hotel star-ratings was reviewed by a truly independent party. This hotel is a good example of an allegedly 4-star rated establishment really falling far short of the standard anticipated by a 4-star rating, e.g.

- the publicity pics show a quaint old building however the actual hotel construction is more reminiscent of a youth offenders institution.
- the 'leisure centre' was so poorly insulated that a chilly draught persisted throughout, and was particularly noticeable in the changing rooms, making for an unpleasant experience, particularly for children
- request to reception to have the defunct telephone in the room fixed appear to have fallen on deaf ears, despite a vague assurance, reception staff seemed to be more interested in planning their holiday schedule
- building obviously needs a lot of investment in maintenance and refurb, lifts broken etc.
- fire not lit in lounge area despite cold temperatures = zero ambience
- in-room breakfast order was a fairly random selection of things that hadnt been ticked by us on the order card with no explanation accompanying
- reception made several calls requesting we call back to confirm the reservation despite our having already re-confirmed, then someone called who appeared to be conducting market research, asking reasons for our stay etc. This was not well received.

Is this really what one would expect from a 4-star hotel@ £200 per night?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mollington hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had a lovely pre christmas spa day booked which we were all looking forward to. However it disappointed us, we found it lacked the relaxed atmosphere, nowhere to relax by the pool the changing rooms were very cold even to walk on the floor! It felt like your local leisure centre.
Whilst waiting for our meal there was a bang and the lights in the pool area stopped working this repeatedly kept happening.
Our spa treatments were of a good standard however the room was cold and again felt like it needed some tlc!
We left having spent some quality time together but not quite how we had hoped.... Disappointed

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Harrietandnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in October. There were some issues which we were not happy about and did make a complaint to the reception on leaving. I must confess I thought a member of the management team would contact us later. This did not happen . Perhaps the receptionist did not pass on our concerns, although she was pleasant and indicated she would.
We stayed for 2 nights in room 5. A very large room , clean and well presented. The room was a little dated and in need of some TLC. The carpet was very old, but generally no complaints.
Breakfast was fine on both mornings although any form of service was very sparce, we had to seek out staff for basic equipment like spoons,knives, milk and a tidy table.
I thoroughly enjoyed the pool and gym ( although some of the equipment had seen better days--the concept machines in particular).
Our biggest complaint however was the evening meal
The dining room had no heating on, the table was laid with only a knife and fork, a grubby glass and salt and pepper. It did not look inviting. The lighting was extremely dim.
The food we had was a disgrace. We starter-- a baked cheese was cold and we had to wait a great deal of time for.After one hour our main meal finally arrived . Mine was a thai green curry which was swimming in oil and certainly not pleasant. The meal arrived with a salad that looked as if it had been pulled out of a huge vat of salad prepared earlier. The same salad as with the starter. I could not eat this meal. My wife had the fish cakes. There were 2 huge things which tasted of nothing but salty potato. The only apparent fish was one prawn. She left the meal.
I ordered a drink and it took 30 minutes for it to arrive. There were only one other couple in the dining room.
Pudding, I had the bread and butter pudding which was poor and my wife had a chocolate mouse which was basically solid butter/fat. We did not stay for coffee as we were so disappointed and cold.
We should have stayed for a second nights meal but chose to cancel it immediately we had finished the first meal. The receptionist just accepted our cancellation and continued with his duties. Such a shame as this was special break for us. The hotel has some great potential but is clearly missing the point. I would have loved to have discussed this with management rather than having to write this review. M Thomas

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I had a lovely stay here for a few nights with my boyfriend in October. Room and facilities were all great and the staff were very friendly. My only niggle was the state of the hallway en route to our bedroom; the walls were scored and some of the door frames were chipped, probably from manoeuvring heavy trolleys around the corners. This was our first impression of the state of the hotel and as we made our way to our rooms, we were growing more concerned as to what would meet us on when we opened the door. But our fears were mislaid and the room was thankfully satisfactory. My advice to management would be to pay more attention to how guests perceive the the hotel on first impression and understand how this may influence a review such as this.

Room Tip: Try for ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neige4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fintan G, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Neige

Thank you for your recent review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found all the staff friendly. You will also be please to hear that we have a program of painting and decorating for the public areas which has already commenced.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Fintan Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Myself and my partner booked this hotel for a short break away as it was described as a "4 star hotel and spa". Upon arriving in the car park I was shocked at how the hotel actually looked. Not what you expect for a spa hotel. Upon entering the hotel it seems quite warm & inviting but all that changed when we got upstairs to the corridor leading to our room. The temperature was a LOT colder & it was as if we had stepped back in time the decor was beyond dated & floors creaked. Our room was even colder as we stepped in so we contacted reception who were quick to assure us that it would heat up ASAP. The rooms are in dire need of updating. The bed was hard & the toiletries listed as part of whats included in the price were actually half used bottles of cheap shower gel and a shower cap. After going out for the evening we returned to find that the room was still as cold as it had been when we left, although the heating was on. We spent the night shivering in a hard bed & looked forward to a hot shower in the morning. You can imagine our frustration when the shower only gave out warm-ish water at best. The spa facilities at this hotel are laughable. Again very dated, the steam room? More like steam box. The jacuzzi? Full of grit at the bottom. Oh and there were no locks for the lockers but we were helpfully told to "take your belongings to the poolside, especially valuables". I mean, who wants to take all their clothes out to the pool while they have a swim?!!
Overall this is a horrendous hotel and should not be described as a 4 star spa hotel.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fintan G, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Louise

Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay.

In relation to the heating I am sorry that this was an issue. We have just recently had new boilers installed at the hotel but I will speak to our maintenance team to see if there was a particular issue with the radiator in your room. Regarding the toiletries are not cheap products but are actually from quite a reputable company that supplies hotels. We do use the large bottles because as a company we are trying to do our bit for the environment by cutting out on packaging were possible.

The leisure area whilst not new is quite functional and fit for purpose and we have also just invested in £40,000 worth of new equipment in our gym. I am sorry that it was not to your liking and shall bring the issues you have raised to the attention of the leisure manager.

Kind regards

Fintan Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Property: Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing