We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tired Hotel”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Attended a wedding at the end of June, but had stayed here a few time over a period of 10 years. We were quite shocked that the hotel had not had any updated decoration since we last attended several years previous.The carpets and upholstery were very tired in appearance and felt a bit sticky Some of curtains were coming off he rails !. However, our friends wedding seemed ok. The food was average and the service was acceptable ( although all the waiters appeared extremely young ). This seems a bit of a picky review but I'm being honest ! I wouldn't book for a stay again - unless there was some improvement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treecat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    444
    308
    241
    227
See reviews for
301
730
34
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I cannot believe some of the negative reviews on here. We stayed for 2 nights on a groupon deal, and were more than happy with the service, cleanliness, food, rooms etc, and was excellent value for money.
Yes, there are a couple of small issues, like the communal staircases and hallways could do with a bit of an update, the carpets are a bit dated, but it doesn't really matter about that. The view from our bedroom window was rubbish, but again, that's not something we were bothered about, as we were out and about or in the pool most of the time. Just a couple of small maintenance issues in the room, like a missing handle off one of the drawers, and part of the basin tap missing. There was nothing at all wrong with the food and restaurant service, it was delicious, plentiful, and served with a smile. The staff were very pleasant and helpful too.
The leisure facilities were excellent, lovely hot powerful showers,and the jacuzzi was very warm and relaxing. Yes, the changing rooms and lockers could do with a bit more maintenance, but on the whole, they were fine.
The bedroom was very large and well equipped, and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. Plenty of very hot water too. The bed was a little uncomfortable, but ok. Lovely clean bedding.
Yes, we would return if another suitable offer came along, but I wouldn't like to,think I,had paid full price. On the whole, we had excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oddslipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Owner at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and review of your recent stay . I am pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy our leisure and Spa facilities and I will pass your kind comments regarding our levels of service on to all the staff . I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mollington very soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I booked the Mollington hotel with a group of friends as we were going to the races. We stayed 2 nights so made the most of the pool and some of us had some treatments before raceday. The beautician was lovely and the treatments very relaxing. The hotel has a gardem at the back which was lovely to have a pre race drink. Breakfast was great with lots of choice and set us up for the day ahead. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as we were out but the snack we had on the terrace was good. The staff were wonderful and very helpful in organising taxi's and assisting in getting us to the race course. I would definetly stay again when in the area as a taxi ride into Chester with the quiet of being out of the city centre and free parking which always helps.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEastwood79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The rooms were okay (once the problem with the heating being stuck on was solved, albeit temporarily).

The restaurant suffers from being close enough to the main doors to be cold when said doors are left open.

The hotel shows signs of lack of maintenance, especially around the side and back where weeds grow through eighties red brick work.

Tea and coffee amazingly elusive at breakfast and staff seemed surprised to be asked about it and that customers hadn't just "found" it on their own (one a side table away from the food servery).

But what **really** let the place down was the astonishingly rude and uninterested attitude of the hotel staff, especially the receptionist who - when informed of a room problem actually shrugged her shoulders. "I'll ask for it to be done but everyone's busy at the moment and I've no idea when it'll be done". Really astonishingly dismissive of what were after all paying customers.

She - and some of the others - have cost this hotel dearly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brollyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mollington hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Unfortunately I did not read the reviews on tripadvisor before booking our stay. When we arrived there were empty beer bottles and cigarette ends infront of the main door. The communal areas were very dated and shabby and as we were checking in, most of the guests checking out were complaining about their rooms. As we walked to our room, many of the carpets were thread bare and there was dirt against the edges of the carpets as they were so old. The corridor to our room was very dingy with dark green carpet and dark oak walls. The website describes "all 63 bedrooms are en-suite and contemporary designed with and sleek and stylish furnishings" however our rooms couldn't have been further from this. The walls had been painted recently and the pictures were ok but the carpets were old and dirty, the varnish was chipped off on all the furniture, the sink was cracked and there were different patterns and colours on all the soft furnishings. The breakfast was very poor - not much choice and cheap versions of things like sliced bread. There was an open entrance to a storeroom behind us that was piled up with dirty linen that was all over the floor. We tried to complain the night of our stay but the staff were rushed off their feet. We complained on checking out and were given a reduced bill. When I subsequently checked my credit card they had taken the rest of the money separately without my consent and on inspecting the bill further we had been charged for someone elses bar bill. I phoned the hotel to complain but there were apparently no managers around. I subsequently e-mailed them and have received no response. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Attended at the hotel on a Groupon deal on Friday 21st June. The staff on the desk were great cannot complain. The room although dated was very clean. It was a lovely hot bath although being 6 foot tall I couldn't sit with my legs stretched out they were bent out of the water!!!
The deal included 4 course meal which was really nice. Mussels to start and Salmon and Duck for mains. Very nice
Again the staff were great
If you overlook the fact it needs an overhaul to brighten it up and upgrade the lifts etc. it was a surprisingly enjoyable stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHILIP L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

had a nice relaxing stay at this clean, quiet, friendly hotel which is only 5mins away from wonderful chester city centre in a cab.
the food was nice and plentiful, the spa was excellent and the massage was out of this world.
couldnt fault the staff and would definitely stay again if in chester.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lojoghp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fintan G, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and your treatments.We get a lot of good comments regarding the friendly and helpful manner of our staff and the quality of our food and I am pleased to see another comment reflecting this. I will ensure that your comments are passed to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Fintan Gavin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Property: Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing