We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Unfortunately I did not read the reviews on tripadvisor before booking our stay. When we arrived there were empty beer bottles and cigarette ends infront of the main door. The communal areas were very dated and shabby and as we were checking in, most of the guests checking out were complaining about their rooms. As we walked to our room, many of the carpets were thread bare and there was dirt against the edges of the carpets as they were so old. The corridor to our room was very dingy with dark green carpet and dark oak walls. The website describes "all 63 bedrooms are en-suite and contemporary designed with and sleek and stylish furnishings" however our rooms couldn't have been further from this. The walls had been painted recently and the pictures were ok but the carpets were old and dirty, the varnish was chipped off on all the furniture, the sink was cracked and there were different patterns and colours on all the soft furnishings. The breakfast was very poor - not much choice and cheap versions of things like sliced bread. There was an open entrance to a storeroom behind us that was piled up with dirty linen that was all over the floor. We tried to complain the night of our stay but the staff were rushed off their feet. We complained on checking out and were given a reduced bill. When I subsequently checked my credit card they had taken the rest of the money separately without my consent and on inspecting the bill further we had been charged for someone elses bar bill. I phoned the hotel to complain but there were apparently no managers around. I subsequently e-mailed them and have received no response. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    453
    316
    245
    230
See reviews for
313
740
35
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Attended at the hotel on a Groupon deal on Friday 21st June. The staff on the desk were great cannot complain. The room although dated was very clean. It was a lovely hot bath although being 6 foot tall I couldn't sit with my legs stretched out they were bent out of the water!!!
The deal included 4 course meal which was really nice. Mussels to start and Salmon and Duck for mains. Very nice
Again the staff were great
If you overlook the fact it needs an overhaul to brighten it up and upgrade the lifts etc. it was a surprisingly enjoyable stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHILIP L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

had a nice relaxing stay at this clean, quiet, friendly hotel which is only 5mins away from wonderful chester city centre in a cab.
the food was nice and plentiful, the spa was excellent and the massage was out of this world.
couldnt fault the staff and would definitely stay again if in chester.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lojoghp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fintan G, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and your treatments.We get a lot of good comments regarding the friendly and helpful manner of our staff and the quality of our food and I am pleased to see another comment reflecting this. I will ensure that your comments are passed to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Fintan Gavin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had a very pleasant 2 night stay bed and breakfast 16th June. Reasonable ground floor room overlooking gardens, with usual tea / coffeee making facilities. Decent cooked breakfast in dining room , served by pleasant waitress.
Good location with ease of access to Chester / Wirral area.
( Not the easiest of entrance to / from car park from busy road with full hedgerows leading to difficulty for safe access )
Very good pool / gym area.
Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mogsBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fintan G, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your recent review and once again we are pleased to hear from another happy customer. I am glad to see that you managed to make use of all our facilities and had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. You are right that the road outside is quite busy at times, however we do have signage on the road and I am currently looking at getting this updated so there is more visability.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Fintan Gavin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My partner and I went here for lunch as we fancied a 4 star experience somewhere we had never been before.

We were disappointed with the service and food and I would have expected better in a small local pub or cafe!

I don't know if the guy serving us was new because if he wasn't, he was terrible! He seemed surprised we wanted lunch, he wasn't very polite, didn't offer us to take a seat or even offer us a menu, we had to ask for one. The menu was just on a small A5 bit of card, wasn't very well presented and the bar did not have a drinks menu. It was fairly late for lunch when we arrived but there was no one else at all there eating. The lady at reception told us we could eat in either the brasserie or the bar area so after seeing the bar menu we decided to ask if we could eat in the brasserie, at which point we were told we can't.

When our drinks were brought over to us, the waiter held the drink at the top of the glass where we would be drinking from (a big no-no, surely?). The food we ordered came with a choice of sauces, which we were not asked about upon ordering. When the food was served, we had to ask for cutlery?? Which was then dumped in front of us with no serviette - my partner's cutlery was dumped on his plate by the waiter! When I asked for the sauce that was offered on the menu, I was told they didn't have any.

The food was OK, my partner enjoyed his but we would both say it was very average and certainly not '4 star' food.

Nobody came to ask if our food was OK, our plates were not cleared, we weren't asked if wanted anything else. We had to go to the bar to pay with a different waiter/bar tender, at which point I had to recite everything we had eaten and drunk so they could either create or find our bill. When we were leaving, the waiter who had been serving us for the rest of the meal came after us and we had to tell him we had already paid!

Overall, very disappointed as I had looked forward to going here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mollington hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here as part of a groupon deal for a two night stay and four course meal. Room was at the furthest away part of the hotel and a bit dark could do with some better lighting! Health suite was decent with friendly staff but sauna had a rotten cabbage smell.

Main disappointment was the evening meal and appalling service from a waiter who appeared to be the manager of the restaurant. We were abruptly greeted by this man and shown to our table and menu thrown into our hand, before we had a chance to ask about the groupon deal the waiter was gone and only through eavesdropping onto the opposites tables conversation with a polite and friendly server we found out there was no four course meal and it was just the three courses from the menu..... Far from what was advertised! When our waiter finally arrived back to take the order he abruptly informed that our choices were no longer available and hovered over us until we made another choice. Again after overhearing the next table over, there were infact other choices to make up for the ones not available and these sounded nicer than what we ordered. The service in the restaraunt was very abrupt and rude. He asked us how our meal was while walking away from the table. As for dessert the menus were handed to us and he again hovered over us until we made the decision, this was so unbelievably rude! Having worked for many years in customer service I would never dream of treating customers in this manner, just a shame we never had the waitress serving the neighbouring table as she was at least acting like she cared about her customers. We never complain or write bad reviews but I was so utterly disgusted by our service I have to share.

The final part came on check out when we were going to mention our service but were greeted by another abrupt female member of staff and slapped with a £11 bill for drinks on our first night..... We had tap water with our meal that night! When trying to explain this she was again rude and abrupt so we refused to pay and left. Thank goodness we did not give them any card details on check in and opted to pay as we go.....I urge you to do the same to avoid paying for things you did not have!

In summary extremely rude restaraunt manager and not what was advertised in deal.....still waiting for that 4 th course!

Room Tip: Bring a lamp
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spenc1579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Arrived sat 9 30 we had arranged to pick up zoo tickets but were told they would arrive at10am every time we asked where they were we was told a different story tickets were finally e mailed at 10 30 we had our 2 grandchildren with us they were really fed up
Reception on the television was terrible bar food was poor children's menu really poor not a lot of choice of drinks at the bar
This was a special treat for our grandchildren so we were very disappointed the only good thing was the swimming pool
We won't be staying at this hotel again not 4 star standard

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cas040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUmmat, Owner at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
The Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel is proud to be accredited with its prestigious 4 star rating for the standards and facilities both at the Hotel, Spa and our levels of customer service .

The staff work very hard to ensure that for all our guests their stay is both welcoming ,comfortable and that any pre-arrival requests have been met .
I am extremely sorry to hear that on this occasion there was a delay in delivering the tickets to your family for you all to enjoy a day at Chester Zoo. This is certainly not usually the case as we do of course appreciate how excited your grandchildren would have been to get under way and spend as much time there as possible . Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this caused at the time as, of course ,we will endeavour to ensure that this never an issue for the future .

The television reception is quite strong in all rooms and public areas across The Mollington and if you had informed the Reception Team of the difficulties you were experiencing our maintenance team could have addressed this immediately on your behalf .

I have to disagree but I believe we offer an extensive children’s menu .
Additionally ,Chef is always happy tailor other dishes on the menu to reflect the taste preferences of any children staying with us .
We are also very happy to discuss any special dietary needs and requirements that our guests may have prior to their arrival so that this can be accommodated seamlessly in to their stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,657 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Property: Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing