We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed Friday 14th December for a party night and stay over with bed and breakfast. Nice hotel, love the lounge with big open fire. Spotlessly clean everywhere. Nice rooms.

Onto the party night, entertainment was good and the music was for our age group. The meal was awful. Prawn starter not many prawns and just a lettuce leaf and sauce but no other dressings with it. I ordered the beef, it was hard and looked like it had been warmed up. The turkey was plastic turkey not real turkey. Usually the veg and potatoes are served in dishes seperately but we just got a plate with meat, 3 carrots, 4 sprouts, dried roast potatoes and a bit of gravy. Even if you didnt want it that was how it was served.

The puddings were also tasteless, sticky toffee was plain dried cake and looked like peanut butter on top. We were all very disappionted with this meal.

Having said that the breakfast was very good and plenty choice. Just a shame about the main course the night before.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dylan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,379 - 1,385 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed as part of an offer so we got what we paid for really.. drinks over priced and vile wine. Couldnt fault the food , but all the staff were young and had no idea.. generally they were acting as if they worked in a 5 star grand hotel, which this isnt. Would have been very dissapointed id we had have paid full rate.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsyemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just got back from the Brook Mollington myself husband and 2 friends went for Gala Dinner and party on arrival was served afternoon tea was excellent our bedroom was overlooking gardens enormous room four poster bed 42inch television spotlessly clean, had champagne reception before dinner was greeted by hotel manager found staff very helpful the meal was brilliant good disco good atmospere.Also went swimming lovely pool. The next morning had brunch plenty to choose from good food. We stayed a second night again food excellent staff very attentive would definitley go back.

Room Tip: Ask for room in old part of hotel overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

About 5 minutes by car, just on the outskirts of Chester. We have been to Chester many times and this time wanted somewhere pet friendly as we wanted to take our dog. Nicely decorated although some parts did look a little bit tired, but nothing excessive. We had an executive room and the room was fine. Our friend who came with us had a standard double and did comment that his did look a bit tired. All the staff were really friendly and always spoke to you when they seen you. Lovely grounds so plenty areas to walk the dog. Cant comment on the food as we only had breakfast, but there was plenty to chose from and it was constantly being topped up. I would stay here again as I left it was good value for money and not too far to travel in to town, either by car or taxi.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, it is really not a 4 star hotel, an average 3 star hotel at best, from the carpet and furnishings it is trying to disguise itself as a retirement home, but never the less it was an amusing stay. The key had to be renewed each day at the reception desk midnight wiped its memory, my girlfriend an myself enjoyed a 2 minute fight with the door when ever we tried to enter the room. I am not saying that the walls between the rooms are thin, but Monika and Rich had a very bad wedding day, their sandwiches were stale and Rich should have been more helpfull with Monika's hair extensions (apparantly he was "sitting there like a s******") Amusing at most times but not at 2.30AM, unfortunatly there was nobody at reception answering the phone to help us out with this. The gym was good, and we were very lucky that we had the pool to ourselves, then we realised it was because the pool was a bit too cold.. bear in mind that I like open water swimming, and the pool was cold. Lets move on to the bar, my girlfriend asked for a Margarita, only to be told that they had sold the last one earlier.....We had some bar food that was ok, but from a four star hotel I want better than OK. Overall this was an average hotel stay with good and bad bits but we paid a premium for a four star hotel and this really was not it....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Al_Grantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Al_Grantham,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on this site. As mentioned before the hotel is undergoing a major planned maintenance programme where the areas highlighted in your review are being incorporated. There is no excuse for a Margarita not being served to you at the bar and I apologise for the same.

As far as the pool is concerned it is currently undergoing annual maintenance which is the cause for the drop in temperature. On a positive note I am glad you enjoyed the facilities our gym offered.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Christmas and what a good excuse to have a girlie weekend away to chester, bit of retail therapy and as a treat a 4* star hotel and spa.
Pulling up in the car to the hotel, we had to question if we were at the correct place as the front did not reflect the pictures on the web page.
We had asked for two adjoining rooms but when we recieved our keys we were on two different floor.
In general the hotel was tired and in need of a refurb. The corridors were dark, tatty and unclean.The rooms were not much better either. On the first night we had the lovely sounds of grunts from the adjoining door of our neighbour snoring. The 2nd night we had no heating and the room freezing, on complaining to receiption a little man came to and told us the heating was broken and he would ask for a heater for the room. this did not happen even though we asked on two occasions.
On check out we informed the receiptionist of our dissatisfaction of being cold in our room and she was totally disinterested.Hense we will not recommed or will return....

Room Tip: we stayed on the back of hotel window was un glazed cold and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear michelle b

Thank you for taking the time to review this hotel on trip advisor. Having investigated your comments it has come to light that one of the boilers tripped during the night which caused the failure in the heating to your rooms and a few others. Even though this was beyond our control you still should have received a heater in your room for this I would like to apologise.

Should you visit Chester in the very near future I would like to invite you back so that we could change your percetion of the hotel.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Terrible stay here... My daughter had booked us a spa day to celebrate my birthday.. There were four of us and things went from bad to worse..No booking found in spa, freezing changing rooms hence we didn't go for a swim. The lunch was like being served in a café and got order completely wrong.. Went up to rooms, corriders very shabby and freezing, rooms where okay but mine and my daughters was freezing as we let gran have the warmest.. They said we will get you a heater WHAT...... THIS IS 4STAR.....I can go on and on, couldn't make cocktails, drunk asleep on sofa in lounge, breakfast 30mins wait and was cold... We will not be returning and this is one to avoid... Sorry but you need to up your game.......

Room Tip: Ground floor are more modern, we were in 35 and heard banging doors all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charliecumbria11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear biomedhed,

Your comments on this site are much appreciated and go a long way in boosting staff morale. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we met with your expectations.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next visit Chester.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,796 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range: $84 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, bedfinder AG, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing