We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a very nice one night stay at this hotel. The room was comfortable although perhaps a little tired and getting ready for a refurb. I understand a massive refurb is imminent at this hotel. The leisure facilites are superb and the staff are very efficient, friendly and attentive. We had both an evening meal and breakfast during our stay and i would say both were of a high standard. The lounge area is very spacious and comfortavle and ideal for chilling out. All in all a hotel I would definitely recommend and stay at again.

Room Tip: Our room was a little tire,d perhaps because we were on a freebie reward from our mobile phone suppl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derbyram_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear derbyram_10,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the hotel on this site. You are correct that the hotel will be going through a planned maintenance programme to update the decor.

I am glad you enjoyed the food in the hotel and made full use of our leisure facilities. I do look forward to your next visit to the hotel when you are in the Chester area again.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,341 - 1,347 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

On no account go for a Sunday lunch at this Hotel!
My wife and I went on a Living Social Deal for £19 for 3 course Sunday Lunch for two. Prior to us going we offered to increase our party to Six we were told that this was not possible for this offer and we would have to pay the full price of £16.95 per person.
We arrived at 12.15 for our reservation for 12.30. We were shown to our table and ordered our pre lunch drink. The service to be honest was good. The atmosphere was none existent as we and another table of four were dining and nobody else. Incidently, who also were also on a Living Social Deal. Starter to be fair was reasonable, wife had soup and I had Grilled Sardine on a bed of salad. Roast Beef was pre portioned, pre packed and boiled and not roasted as suggested on the menu, with choice of well done or well done. This tickled us, the table of four whilst ordering asked for their beef to be well done and the waitress told them she would ask the chef to serve theirs from the end. I would have liked to see the chef carve their from the end as I used a fork to flake mine into pieces. This was served with rubbery roast potatoes and watery brocolli and cauliflower, the yorkshire pudding was dry and of cardboard texture. Cheese board was served with wilted unwashed celery. The Red Velvet Chocolate Cake was a dry chocolate sponge with chocolate sauce poured over the sponge and an over-scattering of cocoa powder.
Toilets both Ladies and Gents for the restaurant were in-operable. We were directed to the only one toilet available situated at the other end of the hotel sharing with the leisure facility. This was also used by both female and male and had no paper towels and un-flushable.
Overall a bad experience. From a quality hotel which we attended for our niece's wedding ten years ago to a hovel. We were glad that they decline our offer to increase our party.

Room Tip: Don't eat there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

lovely hotel in a nice setting about 2 miles from chester
we had a happli deal with afternoon tea, evening meal, breakfast and 30min spa treatment .
cant fault anything.
had the bridal suite , huge room with a 4poster bed, and was lovely and warm.
the staff in all the hotel were fantastic ,helpful chatty and efficient, so thanks gang !
spa treatment were lovely with fantastic friendly therapist.
even provide a handwritten mam to the park and ride.
a lovely hotel experience

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeNorhWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I booked a surprise weekend break away to the Mollington hotel in November. I received a wonderful reception from both the general manager and his more than efficient staff. I was given a beautiful room. It had a four poster bed, large lounge, beautiful views of the gardens and was exceptionally clean. We had complimentary chocolates and wine in the room, such a lovely gesture that meant so much. That evening we dined in the restaurant, again the staff were first class and nothing was too much trouble. This hospitality was extended to the rest of the restaurant and indeed the rest of the guests in the hotel. The same courtesy and efficiency was extended to breakfast. The facilities in the spa were excellent, we had a lovely lunch overlooking the swimming pool and again nothing was too much trouble. The changing area was clean and tidy, and I would have to say this is probably one of the best spa's my husband and I have been to.

We have 5 children and have travelled extensively around the world. Having stayed in a variety of hotels, I would like to say that the Brook Mollington comes very highly rated. It is an old building, but full of charm and character. We always look at trip advisor for advice and information regarding hotels and their surroundings and would like to say that we found the majority of the comments on the site quite offensive and untrue. I also noticed that the general manager had a polite answer for everybody's trip advisor comment.

To Mr Gourishankar and everybody at the Brook Mollington, keep up the good work, we shall certainly be coming back again and next time we will bring our children.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a very nice relaxing stay at this hotel. I would not take too much notice of the very pety things that people comment on. Yes the front of the hotel was a big let down, but once inside it was lovely warm and welcoming. We thought the room was a bit outdated but spotlessly clean, the bathroom was fresh and shiny, and all other areas a very good standard compared to other hotels we have stayed in. The breakfast was very good with alot of choice and all staff very friendly and helpufull. We will return to the Mollington Banastre with friends and family as would not hesitate to recommend it. Well done to all .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richarddavies398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Firstly we would just like to say thankyou to the Mollington for their flexibility in making our wedding a very special day and evening.

We had made many visits prior to our wedding to the Mollington and had always been slightly put off by the “high rise flats” type accommodation overlooking the entrance to the hotel; and this combined with constant rain everytime we visited made us apprehensive of having our wedding there.

However, as they day approached, our contact Cheryl was very helpful and as well as getting us excited for the big day being held there, they treated us to a slap-up taster session. Along with this, they were very flexible with our constant changing requests before the big day. This all taken into hand with the fact that due to family health reasons the Mollington management had fast tracked the space for us to have the wedding there, as well as helped massively with the costing of the day so that we could have so many friends and family join us for the breakfast and the later evening do; (90 guests and 200 guests respectively).

On the day, many timings of our wedding went a bit awry prior to us getting to the Mollington, but the again flexibility of the Mollington staff allowed us to be able to get some pictures on the grounds (which happened to be blooming on the day with beautiful sunshine) and still manage as close to the pre set timings as possible despite the delays we had experienced completely outside their control.

Even in parts where there had been break downs in communication on the day or prior to the day, be it from us or another member of the Mollington staff; the “flexibility” (yes I use this word again) in conjunction with the willingness of the staff helped to make our day flow beautifully; It turned into a rather classy affair (as per comments from some of our guests)!

The food on the day was delightful, especially as we were running behind schedule; and as evening guest started to arrive for the evening do, the bar staff had to adapt substantially to meet the unexpected rush/need…again they did this gracefully and efficiently.

Therefore overall, we would like to give a big thumbs up to the Mollington Banastre Hotel…a lot of the time people do not make comments on review websites when things have gone well, but we thought it would be unfair not to let people know just how helpful, flexible, friendly and actually decent from a class point of view, the Mollington actually is.

Thanks again,
Anon

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

On arrival, i was prepared for it to look a little dated as i had read other reviews, but i was not prepared for the following catalouge of events.
The toilet in our first room was leaking and there were pubic hairs in the bathtub and the kettle didn't work.
We then moved to another room on the ground floor. The bathroom was dirty, with dry toothpaste and hair stuck to the wall at the side of the sink. It took a while for hot water to emerge and the toilet in reception was blocked.
In the Spa, the changing rooms were freezing with a poor heater blowing its head of to no avail for such a large space. Locker doors were literally hanging off. I struggled to find a locker that actually worked and eventually found one. On leaving the changing room wrapped ina towell to shower in my room (as the water in the changing room shower was cold), i asked the receptionist for help getting my £1 out which had stuck in the door only to be asked to come for it tomorrow was she was busy....!!!!
Our first nights sleep was spoilt by a couple down the corridor who clearly thought it was OK to scream and shout at each other all night and have a fight. i fully expected the police to arrive. In the morning we heard they had trashed the room and pulled the phone out of the wall.
In the morning i asked the receptionist if there was any chance of a complimentary drink to make up for our spoilt weekend. Her reply " i haven't exactly had a good week either". Customer service or what. To calm my temper we decided to have a drink in the bar and chose a cocktail on promotion on the bar, looking very exotic and exciting on the picture. We asked the barmaid for "two of these cocktails please" to which she replied "mmmmm, i haven;t done cocktails. Go and have a seat and i will read how to make it". When it came it did taste ok but bore no resemblance to the vibrant picture used to advertise it. In short, it may have been 4* at some point, but we did expect Manuel to appear at any moment. If you want a special weekend treat, this is definately NOT the place to go. I had read the reviews and gave it the benefit of the doubt, but i should have heeded the warnings. Will we go there again - not in a month of Sundays. We did give it a nickname but its too rude put on here but the first word rhymes with Brook.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,753 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range: $74 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing