We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Substandard Food”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Myself and three friends booked a spa overnight stay at the hotel to include Champagne afternoon tea incl sandwiches and cake. On arrival which involved confusion over the booking we were served the champagne afternoon tea with sandwiches which was devoid of any butter, bread which was decidedly dry and cream that accompanied the scones that was well past it's sell by date. After commenting on this the cream was replaced along with warm fresh scones but by this time the cream had had it's effect on me hence my withdrawal from the dining room. After a lovely swim, sauna and steam room session we changed and went down for evening meal at 8:00 pm eager anticipated as one of the girls had been here 6 weeks earlier with her husband and relayed the spendour of the food in particular the steak which I was looking forward to. The starter of feta, tomato, onion and olives was tasty and we then moved onto the main course of Chicken (for 3 of us) and Turkey (for 1). Plates arrived with what I can only describe as well dry chicken, cold carrots, burnt potatoes, jus no not really burnt gravy and the best of all cabbage that resembled a mound of onions, they were brown, presented in a mound and nothing like anything else I have ever seen. Needless to say all the meals were left untouched with apologies from the waitress and with the hope that dessert would be an improvement. Unfortunately this was not the case, two of the party ordered profiteroles, 1 x rice pudding and 1 x pannacotta. The pannacotta you could bounce your spoon of it and the profiteroles were the texture of cardboard and totally inedible so we finally complained to the Manager who informed us that they were 3 chefs down. This is the hotel's problem and should not have impacted on paying guests surely provision should have been made to bring in agency staff to cover for the number of guests dining there that night. The Manager in his defence offered wine/champagne to compensate. On a better note breakfast was really nice and freshly made for us and on leaving the Manager did offer a complimentary stay if we were next in the area but if they still have the same staff I would probably decline his kind offer. Other than the food the staff in the hotel was helful and very efficient and the spa facilites are lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy, two of our party had a room at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Michelle 1315,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the hotel. Yor comments have been taken in a constructive manner and will be acted upon. May I apologise to you that on this occasion the food did not meet with your expectation.

When you are next in the area I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel so that we could change your perception of the food at the hotel. On a positive note I am glad that you enjoyed our spa facilities, breakfast and the rest of our facilities.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    450
    313
    243
    228
See reviews for
307
737
34
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of ladies for a hen do. We booked in at the spa for treatments before heading out for a night out in Chester.

There were a few problems during the day which could have been avoided with better planning but because the staff went out of their way to help sort these out it more than made up for them.

It just shows how excellent customer service really does make all the difference and its not always possible to stop problems from arising but its the way you deal with them that really counts.

If your looking for a welcoming place to stay with spa facilities in Chester then you should give it a go.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Riebee,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay at the hotel. Yor comments are greatly appreciated and have been passed onto the team at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in the Chester area.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Booked this hotel as a weekend away for me and my partner, looked on here and thought ok, some good some bad and it cant really be that bad. From the pictures the hotel looks amazing just what we wanted for a weekend away - all the right facilities, lesiure, spa, beauty a nice quiet retreat to re charge our batteries.

On pulling up to the hotel I swear I thought Id booked the wrong hotel, and my Sat Nav had brought me to the wrong place, an 70's dated looked, pot holed car park and nothing like the pictures on the internet, but hey this was us so we went in and to our suprise what a wonderful inside. So beautful and clean, it was gorgeous more like what I wa expecting.

On checking in the receptionist was wonderful, polite effiecent and gave us all the help that we needed and made us feel very welcome. We went off up to our room, ok again not like the pictures on the internet and a bit dated to be honest. It was warm cozy and very clean so we couldnt fault it and un packed ready for a relaxing weekend.

We dined in the restaurant and to be fair couldnt really fault it, the food was exceptional, hot and very very tasty, the staff we friendly and courteous and made our experience very enjoyable, but sometimes missed the small finer details be who is to complain. We had the same girl service both nights and even though she did look stressed and rushed still made sure we were happy and satisfied.

We used the leisure facilities and again more than happy with these the jaquzzi was definately the highlight and took all the stress away from our normal lives. It does need a little bit of TLC, dated but fairly clean may be just a slight investment needed but other than that it was good. We didnt have any treatments as they were fully booked and couldnt fit us in - pre booking definately needed here.

We had breakfast both mornings on the first morning there was an asian gentleman, who seemed to be doing all the work, however was far to eager and rude, and tried to clear our plates before we had even finished and didnt even apologise to us when we said we hadnt finished. There was plenty to choose from on the 2 buffets and my partner had an omelette which she ordered and was most enjoyable. Breakfast the next morning was better, nobody tried to clear our plates whilst still eating, even though the breakfast was alot busier than the previous morning, slight delay on the coffee but nothing major there!

On check out the receptionist was lovely but the asian man was there again and just as rude as the first morning breakfast, as the girl was checking us out he spoke over her and be littled her as she was sorting our bill out, we found this to be very very rude, seemed he wanted to be a one man show rather than letting the staff do their jobs.

All in all was a good stay, just do not go by the pictures on the internet as they are miss leading and can be disappointing, but it was clean and relaxing just hold on to your breakfast plates!!!!

May return in the future if there is a good offer!

Room Tip: Ask for a modern room, ours was dated but talking to others there are more modern ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CityKid12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear CityKid12,

Thank you for taking the time to express your views with regards to your stay at the hotel. All your comments both positive and constructive have been passed onto to the team concerned and will be acted on as a matter of policy.

Your breakfast comments have been noted and are being actioned.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Our champagne afternoon tea started with a glass of bubbly - so far, so good. We were asked if we wanted our tea or coffee at the same time! The table had no flowers, but it was at least overlooking the garden. We discussed which blend of tea we would choose, but nobody asked us! A steel two tier cake stand was put on the table comprising: three finger sandwiches of smoked salmon on brown - no cream cheese; three boiled ham on white and, wait for it - three cheese and pickle!! The top tier held a small pot of jam and one of cream, two scones and two slices of chocolate cake with a blob of cream on the side - were were the egg, the cucumber, the chicken, the salad sandwiches? Where were the meringues, strawberry tarts and other little delightful bitefuls? Two white heavy dinner plates were then put in front of us. Why were we not satisfied with all this? Because it came at a cost of nearly FIFTY POUNDS!!!! This 'event' was a birthday gift from friends and quite frankly, not worth a tenner. The manager, to his credit, gave us a refund without a comment (or an apology, actually). By the way, the tea never arrived. Don't waste your time visiting this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beautifulworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Beautifulworld1,

Thank you for your comments regarding your afternoon tea.

May I please politely refer you to a conversation I had with your wife when I apologised for the afternoon tea whilst making the refund alongwith with two complimentary glasses of champagne.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mollington hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Was very in happy with the service I recieved during a sit down meal for my grandfathers 80th, sent them an email to inform them of this and they haven't bothered to even reply.
Service was very slow, didn't have the right meals for the guests, and my beef was served to me raw!!!!!! This is not even an understatement!!!! It made me ill even only after one bite! I complained there and then, and the waitress had told me she would get the manager, half hour went by I asked again, another half hour went by and there was still no sign of the manager so gave up!! Very poor hotel, wouldn't recommend it to anyone, the service I recieved and still recieving is dispicable. Don't even deserve to be a 3 star !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina_Rick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Tina_Rick1,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your meal. The lady who did the pre order confirmed to us that some of your guests forgot their meals and were just looking at what some of their friends had ordered and going for the same. The beef is generally cooked as a joint, medium but of course if you would like it very well done the waiting staff would have been only too happy to oblige.
The manager did speak to the lady who took the pre order on your behalf on the day. I would like to take this oppurtunity to inform you that we are not in receipt of your email, if we did receive it then it would have been replied to immediately. May I apologise to you that on this occasiopn the hotel did not meet with your expectation.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This treat paid for by our close friends was a disaster - what we were presented with was not a £49.99 treat...it was late, basic sandwiches on a metal tray - 8 sandwiches, 2 scones and 2 cakes, no tea provided. Last year we went toRaffles in Singapore where we has 3 hours of wonderful food and service beyond expectation for not much more than this cost...do not go to this hotel.

The Manager when presented with our feedback ...refunded our voucher and was not happy with his hotel performance. We will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Bob M,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we are not the Raffles nor do we charge Raffles prices, it was most unfortunate that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectation. I am also quite surprised that you failed to mention you had a complimentary glass of champagne with my compliments as a token gesture.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

stayed for wk end had lovely time .nice meals reasonably priced picturesque gardens.helpfull considerate staff.i can only assume the people who moan about this place must have left their personal butlers at home.will definatly return

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfcnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear ifcnev,

Thank you for you kind comments regarding your stay at the hotel. We at the hotel are really glad that your stay was enjoyable and you will be returning in the the very near future. I ahve past on your positive comments to our staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,631 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Property: Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing