We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“valentines weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
liverpool
2 reviews
“valentines weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

my partner wanted to suprise me with a weekend away for valentines, as he works away thought the week. what a lovely romantic weekend it was, the staff very helpful as they had put wine and flowers in the room as my partner had asked service throughout our stay was fantastic, big thank you to cheryl for helping paul sort out all the little special touches (he did confess to the help) and i would recommend the facial treatment to anyone. we had a brilliant time and was great to have a relaxing break will definitely be back.

Room Tip: we had a lovely corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxkittyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear xxxkittyxx,

It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to write a review on your experience at the hotel.
Your comments have been passed down to the staff and in particular Cheryl.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    436
    306
    239
    226
See reviews for
297
723
34
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

I cannot comment on the actual Hotel as we didn't stay overnight, my friend and I had a selection of treatments at the Elemis spa with Sam the beautician and I can honestly say it was the best facial I have ever had and I have had a few! the hot stone massage divine and the best head massage since Goa topped off with a lovely manicure. All the other staff we had dealings with were very helpful and courteous so for us it was a lovely relaxing afternoon, we will be back for more-Thanks Sam :)))

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Duney

Thank you very much for your positive comments, these will be passed on the Mollington Team.

Such comments go a long way

Kind regards
G Gourishankar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

For work I require the internet so i only book hotels with free wireless internet access in the rooms which is why I plumped for the Brook Mollington as below is the listing on the Hotels.com website:

Room details: 1 double
Flat-panel television. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Ensuite bathroom. Bath amenities include hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board and trouser press. Non-Smoking.

It clearly states complimentary wirelsess Internet access. So to my surprise I was informed by the lady on reception that they don't have free wireless in the rooms but "it's only £4". That's not the point. It's listed as a room detail that they have complimentary wirless internet. In fact it was even in bold text! She apologised and said that it was a mistake by Hotels.com and that her manager was sorting it out immediately. So to my suprise - 6 days later - I check Hotels.com and it's still listed on there.

Now, this hotel isn't too bad. As the reviewer below said it's a bit tired and shabby but on the whole it's ok. The heating is out of date and makes more noise than heat - in room 62 anyway - the window was cracked and the car park is ill lit but they're only minor faults. What I don't like though is being lied too. I'm fairly confident the listings on these 3rd party websites are done by the hotels. So to fob me off with 'it's their fault' excuse and to then not actually change the listing is a little insulting. Internet might only be £4 but that's not the point. Avoid if you can.

Room Tip: Phone up and check the listings correspond to what's actually written on 3rd party websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom_benj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear tom_benj,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the hotel. Firstly may I take this oppurtunity to apologise that you felt misled by the listing on hotels.com. I have since been in touch with our adminstration department who have assured me that this was an error on behalf of the website and not the hotels.This has now been removed. Meanwhile I have tried to contact you to update you of the outcome but have been unable to do so.
The hotel is currently going through a planned maintenance programme and the issues you have highlighted are being picked up and acted upon.
We at the hotel take all guest comments positive and negative very seriously and act upon them.
In the meantime I will only be too happy to welcome you back to the hotel so that we could be given the oppurtunity to change your perception.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mollington hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

The hotel is tired and in need of some TLC. The rooms are cheaply furnished and have tasteless, neutral decor. We stayed for one night after a party which was held in the function room. This was also tired and badly furnished. The owners need to shut for a full refurbishment and bring the hotel up to modern standards or the need to downgrade their rating to a 2*. The facillities at a Premier Inn are far superior. On a positive note the staff were helpful and well presented.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whisperinbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Dear whisperinbob,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay. The hotel is currently going through a planned maintenance programme to ensure that the facilities are constantly brought upto date. As you are most probably aware that this take a considerable amount of time and we are doing our very best to speed things up. On this occasion I must apologise that the hotel did not meet with your expectations.

Your postive comments with regards the staff have been fed back to the team is most appreciated.

Kind Regards
G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

This hotel is old and shows. The rooms are clumsy, disappointing, without any attempt to charm you (but they were clean). Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Paulo V

Thank you for your comments. The is an old English Mansion House that dates back to the 19th century and has always attracted custom who acknowledge its charm, I am sorry that it was not to your taste.
I would like to inform you that the hotel is currently going through a planned maintenance programme which tries to take into account areas that need an uplift.
If you are in the area at any time in the near future I will be only too happy to show you around some of our olde world rooms.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

I have never written a review on a hotel before but i feel it is important you listen to what i have to say. I booked this hotel for a spa day through spabreak.com. I feel completely ripped off. The hotel is completely run down, with very basic facilities. The spa itself run by one woman who is completely overworked. The showers were dirty and the Jacuzzi was disgusting. An awful smell and hence was empty. There is no steam room, Harry potters room under the stairs would be more conformable. AVOID!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 331vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Dear 331vic,

All guest comments made are taken seriously and investigated with the team. The spa has 3 full time therapists and 2 part time. On the day in question there was only one working as that was the requirement. Extra therapists are only a phone call away. The jacuzzi has constantly had very good comments and the steam room is well used by both hotel guests and members.

As we constantly monitor guest feedback it is rather surprising to read your comments. The Spa has a large outside membership who are extremely happy with our facilities.

May I take this oppurtunity to apologise for the Spa not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

Kind Regards

G Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast break which included tickets for Chester Zoo. The rate was attractive and the reception staff very friendly. There was an old tissue packet filled with cigarette ends in the dresser drawer, no toilet paper and the food was unpalatable slop. The pool facilities are ok but the pool temperature was absolutely freezing. My husband ordered leek and potato soup but was brought tomato 'instead' without so much as a courtesy of 'is this ok?'. Shabby surroundings and over stretched staff. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGouri, General Manager at Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Emily B,

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on the site. May I take this oppurtunity to apologise that your recent stay did not meet with your expectations.
I have investigated the issues raised by you and put into motion procedures to avoid any re-occurence. The team in the kitchen have been notified of your comments and on this this occasion the normally high standard of food fell short and I must apologise for that. The housekeeping have assured me that the room was throughly checked and as we are a non smoking hotel I am rather surprised about the contents of the draw, if this matter was brought to our attention it would have been rectified immediately and your room moved.
All comments positive and negative are discussed with tyhe team which enables us to provide a better service to our customers.
May I assure you that is not the norm and would like to welcome you back to the hotel so that we could change your perception.
Yours sincerely

G. Gourishankar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.6 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa

Property: Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star country-house hotel is in beautiful grounds, a short drive from Chester city centre. For leisure, it has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, jacuzzi, squash courts and spa. The beauty spa offers a range of relaxing treatments, including mud wraps and massages. Brook Mollington Banastre also has free car parking. Hotel Rooms: 63. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel Mollington
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel And Spa
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing