We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent event management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Certificate of Excellence
N.Wales
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent event management”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Many thanks to Emma and the staff for a very professional and enjoyable evening with regard to our Summer Ball. You all worked extremely hard and you were so kind and respectful at all times. We are all looking forward to returning in December.

P.S. Our guests also had a high opinion of the evening and of Crabwall Manor.

Best Regards

Linda and Paul from 'Meet Me at the Ball'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Linda;

Thank you so much for your kind words.
I am glad you and your guests enjoyed the Crabwall Manor.
Emma is doing a great job and we are very lucky to have her as part of our team.
Looking forward welcoming you back over the winter.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    355
    149
    64
    54
See reviews for
183
569
40
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Went for a spa break sat-sun. Spa had lovely pool and gym. They wouldn't do any form of massage on a pregnant woman even though all other spas I have been to have had the correct tables/chairs. Hotel food was nice but the building itself needs a great deal of money spending on it. Broken window pains, broken, cracked and gaping tiles in bathroom. 3 bulbs in bathroom didn't work. Bed frame broken at the base. Old peeling wallpaper in rooms and dinning room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairebear9p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Clairebear9p;

Thank you so much for your comments.

I am glad you found the spa and its staff to your liking.

The hotel will have a refurbishment program starting at the end of year and hopefully all the issues you did raise will be resolved by your next visit.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

After reading a lot of bad reviews on this hotel we were a bit reluctant to go. But in the end we decided to stay there. On arrival the Castle like hotel looked fantastic on the outside and the arrival / reception area looked great. We got to our room (Family room) and it was really spacious. Everything seemed clean & tidy, there were plenty of big clean towels (changed every day). The Spa facility was superb with a good size pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna.
Now the bad points:
The carpets were a bit stained and could do with changing; the walls in the hall & room could do with a lick of paint.
But for the price of what we paid and the location i would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 29 which was the last room on the corridor. It was very quite and the window looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Paul L.

I would like to thank you for your kind world; it is always good to be appreciated.
The hotel will start very soon its refurbishment and hopefully you will come back to enjoy it.

Once again on behalf of the hotel and its staff I would like to thank you.

Looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were doubtful while booking this hotel sue to all the reviews.
Well let me tell you that some people must be very picky. The hotel is a old country house and like all old house you will find old furniture.... I guess there is no way to please verybody but it is extremely good value.
The rooms were really big and so was the bathroom.
We loved the look of the hotel and the staff; everybody was friendly and smiling with us.
The spa look great and my gf really enjoyed the treatment given by lois!
The food was nice (although after speaking with the restaurant manager we were explained that the new Head chef is starting next week and we WILL come back to try his food).

Large parking and free wifi made it a very good place to be; the jacuzzi and steam room were a big plus!

Reception was nice and we even met the General Manager on a sunday morning who asked us if we enjoyed our stay and spent time listening to our comments and explaining to us what were the plans for the future of this hotel.

Overall a very nice place that has the right people at the right place!
A++++++++++

Room Tip: Try the pool in the evening; great place to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear John F.

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.
It is always a delight to see that all our hard work is paying off.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff friendly.
I am very much looking forward welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for two nights and it was really nice ! Yes it was a bit dated and needed a few repairs here and there but has recently been taken over and will be revamping it soon. our room was huge and the shower was gorgeous . I cannot believe how petty some people can be don't listen to what other people say if you go looking for faults you will probably find some just go and enjoy a relaxing and enjoyable stay. oh and the lady on reception was lovely a big thank you x x

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefnmalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Stefnmalc;

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review; I also would like to thank you for your kind words.

Very much looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n wales
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Arrived at this hotel for Hen weekend spa break, one the worst hotels that i have been to for a long while. Hotel in in desperate need of a renovation, paint work and carpets need replacing, grouting in bathrooms also. The room we was staying in had a material headboard, one half was all stitched and the other half had a big stain on it. Food not bad but not great either. Bad organisation in the spa, a rude woman on reception, at times no clean cups for the complimentary tea and coffee, if there was cups the tea and coffee luke warm. Spa treatment was back, neck and shoulder massage but this was ok but over in about ten minutes, not as stated, all in all would not recommend this hotel if you have standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Alison e;

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review; feedback is our only way to progress and improve the quality of our service.
I am sorry that on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectation and as such please do accept my apologies.
Crabwall Manor is a Country House with a well know history; decor and furniture are in keep with the hotel spirit. Although the hotel will start its refurbishment over the winter I feel your comments are slightly unfair.
The spa is well known within the area and comments are usually fantastic (service and quality of the product); please have no doubt that I will be investigating the points you did raise and if necessary will apply necessary actions.
Once again thank you for your comments.
Looking forward welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIGAN
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

in January 2012 we booked, paid for and received confirmation for a party of 7 to stay for 1 night in 4 rooms whilst attending Chester races on the 14th July 2012. When we rang, 10 days before our stay, to confirm that everything was in order we were informed that we had no booking and that the management "had only been at the hotel for 2 weeks" The person on the telephone was totaly disinterested and offhand and refused to accept their mistake or offer to help. It was only through our own efforts and that of the booking agency, that we obtained alternative accomodation, which, judging by by the reviews of this hotel, was far superior. Under no circumstances would we consider this Hotel for our trip in 2013.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank INASECDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis M, General Manager at Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Inasecdad;

First of I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I have had a look at the issues you did raise and I am sorry to inform you that you have been misinformed.
The new management started on the 17 April and since then we have been working really hard to improve the hotel and the quality of its service.
The issues you had were not caused by the hotel.
You used an agent that is not contracted with the hotel; when over a month before your arrival we contacted the agent you used for your booking they were unable/unwilling to pass onto us your contact details so that we could call you. We attempted on various occasions to obtain this information from your agent unsuccessfully (hence why your booking was not on our system).
I would suggest that you bring these points to the agent you used.
We have a customer care philosophy that is an integral part of the hotel and as such we regularly go the extra mile to help our guest; I am sorry that on this occasion we were unable to accommodate you.
Looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mollington
6.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa

Property: Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Address: Parkgate Road, Mollington, Chester CH1 6NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Mollington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mollington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crabwall Manor Chester
Chester Crabwall Manor
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa Mollington, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing