We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and calm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marbela Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marbela Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Morjim
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Peace and calm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at Marbela in Feb, 2013 in my first ever visit to Goa. Much like at any other place there were both pros and cons of staying here. I'll start with the downside first so that you know what you're getting into.
The location - approach road to Marbela isn't exactly the best and their will be puddles galore if you're here during the rains. Commute to and from the city/populated bit of North Goa is a little tricky. Ensure that you have booked your mode of travel either with the cab guys directly or with Marbela(tad expensive).
Staff courteousness - This is a little difficult to put into words. The staff is nice and pleasant to talk to but the resort itself probably scores a little low on hospitality.
Value for money - Not really. The luxury tents weren't exactly luxurious. Bathrooms had no shower curtains so one shower later you would have to call for housekeeping. The wardrobe is too tiny, only one bedside table, dimly light, no proper place to keep your luggage. The food in the restaurant is expensive if you compare it with the rest of Goa.

Now comes the good stuff
The beach - Aswem beach is a delight. Quiet, serene and beautiful! Marbela is right there on the beach and you just need to get in your beachwear and walk a few foot steps to be by the sea.,
The food - tastes more or less good.The buffet breakfast isn't the best in terms of variety but the food does taste nice
Ambiance - Marbela scores high on the over all ambiance.

Over all I'd say it was between Average to Good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neyhaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    60
    18
    19
    29
See reviews for
36
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Beautiful resort & beautiful surroundings! My hubby surprised me with a birthday getaway to this place. Welcome drink, lovely tent room, green lawns & a very calm ambiance overall, so good first impression. Ordered pizza & pasta for lunch, but it wasn't hot when it reached us. It still tasted so we let it go. The towels my hubby used were stinking, had them changed. Went to the beach later & when came back to our tent, we were welcomed by a huge rat jumping all over the place! The lady at the reception assured us that this had never happened before and said that the resort was full. Luckily after waiting for almost half an hour in our wet beach wear we were given a villa. This room was bigger than the tent of course, so we were happy. AC was not set in the right mode, so the room wasn't cooling, we managed after struggling for some time. It AC swing was also noisy. There were open wires in the bathroom & no shower curtain, so the entire bathroom was wet after the shower. The exhaust was a little noisy & not very effective, we had to keep the bathroom light on as it was a common switch for both. There wasn't any place for hanging clothes in the bath, that would have helped. They should check the drains, because the water wasn't going easily in the bath, so it was icky! My hubby had arranged for a cake for me and we kept it in the mini fridge in the room, but the box that was kept on the table was full of red ants by morning! These guys should take pest control seriously! The daal tadka, jeera rice & paneer tikka we ordered in our room was hot enough & delicious! Breakfast the next day was also lovely, except for some fools smoking. They should have a smoking zone or something. In spite of all these issues, I loved the overall experience because my hubby did it for me & the lovely beach & all the quality time I spent with him, made it all worth it! Beautiful place, worth at least one visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krjihma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a real good and amazing place. The staff is great, as well as the food, the facilities, the instalations... If you want to get real relax, this is the perfect place. Try to book before, as they used to be full. Don't miss the landscape around this hotel, if you can, take a walk. Fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniStar477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

After much research, I picked Marbela Beach Resort despite some of the negative reviews. It was one of my best stays in Goa! I was there in October and so not everything had opened up yet (ex, La Plage, one of my favorite restaurants just a stone's throw away from this resort). However, the tented beach beds more than made up for it! It is exactly what you see in the pictures. We opted for the luxury tent which was also clean, well maintained and very cozy.
The only thing that was lacking was the food - but because of the ambiance, we were ready to let that one go! Stay here for a different taste of Goa.
Also Shilpa who manages the resort was extremely helpful and very pleasant to talk to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

That is one horrible place and not worth that money!!! Dont believe those pictures you see on their web site or whatever!! The sirvice is so slow and they just dont want to work there!! Food is horrible we had to go to the nearest restaurants all the time! Horrible horrible! I travel a lot so trust me! Yuk Yuk and one more Yuk!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbelagoa, Manager at Marbela Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Ma'am

We refer to your comment.

We would like to share that we have no record of you staying or visiting Marbela Beach in and around 30th Dec 2012.

We did not receive any complaints around that time.

We normally ask all guests to give us feedback when they stay be it they stay with us or just use our facilities.

We have multicultural international restaurant hostesses at all times during the season.

They take feedback from each and every guests.Make sure guests are being looked after.

However, we are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience on this occasion and request you to kindly contact us on info@marbelabeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morjim hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

What an amazing place... exceptional huts... outstanding food and bar facilities... great staff... Will definitely be back... had the most relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank damo_pilat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I love trip advisor and always use this site whenever I'm traveling. I feel compel to share honest opinions with fellow travelers, as others have done. There is much to say about the Marbela Beach Resort. I'll start by saying this place is exceedingly disappointing. We actually believed the resort would equal the pictures on the resort website. No such luck. The rooms are ridiculously small in size and claustrophobic! The bathroom... a disaster. Water everywhere once the shower was on. Careful not to slip and smash your head on the floor. Not enough towels. Child appropriate toilet paper...miniscule. Trance music non stop, starting 1st thing in the morning...all day-night long. Nice attempt at landscaping but failed miserably. They should take note of Idle Awhile lush coconut and palm filled (serene) landscape on Negril Beach, in Jamaica. That's how it's done.

We never ate a meal at the restaurant but the pizza was good for snack on the beach.

We ate dinner and breakfast everyday at La Plage down the beach. Excellent. The French really know a thing or two about ambiance, food, beautiful people and music.
We got the feeling that the owners didn't gave a hoot about this place or were over their heads or were busily trying to scrounge up investors. They were never around nor had they left a manager in charge. Everyone seemed lackadaisical. They couldn't care less and why should they?

We had prepaid for our room so we couldn't bail without losing a substantial amount of money. $400 per day in high season. We were grossly dissatisfied with the 'resort' and service but made the best of the situation by avoiding the hotel as much as possible. I would never, ever recommend this place. Be forewarned!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cea7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morjim
1.0 mi away
Montego Bay Beach Village
0.3 mi away
Sur La Mer
Sur La Mer
#1 of 13 in Morjim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paros by Amarya
Paros by Amarya
#3 of 13 in Morjim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Cabana Beach & Spa
La Cabana Beach & Spa
#6 of 11 in Ashvem Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock Water Resort
Rock Water Resort
#7 of 53 in Morjim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marbela Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbela Beach Resort

Property: Marbela Beach Resort
Address: H.No 782 Gawade Wado | behind Papa Jolly hotel, Goa, India, Morjim 403512, India
Location: India > Goa > Morjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Morjim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marbela Beach is exclusive beachside Goan getaway located on Morjim beach, North Goa. Set in a spectacular, tranquil location on the beach and offering uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Arabian Sea, Marbela Beach sets the mood for an unforgettable holiday. A relatively new boutique resort with a strictly limited number of guests, there is an emphasis on the individual, with the helpful, professional staff having the attitude that anything is possible, from sunset picnics, surf classes, boat rides, parties or just relaxing on the beach with a Marbela cocktail. Complete with a relaxing Spa and fantastic restaurant, there is an array of things to do, both in the resort and the Morjim/Ashwem area. Relax, rejuvenate and take in the warmth, beauty and paradise that the magical Goa has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Marbela Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbela Beach Hotel Morjim
Marbela Beach Resort Goa/Morjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing