We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
108
13
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
13
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding snooker table indoor and outdoor pools the cottages hot tub games room hanging baskets on site blackout blinds fridge and freezer rowing machine shared garden cross trainer whole complex gas bbq family holiday baby equipment
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 126 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

We had booked a family of 6 for an hour hack, staff were friendly and happy putting the nervous ones at ease, all horses were well behaved and matched to rider...totally recommend it. Def will revisit when we return.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Taeylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linwin, Owner at Broomhill Manor Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Taeylor C, glad you enjoyed your family hack. Yes, Jo and her team are well-used to putting novice riders at ease. We look forward to you return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

We have just returned from our second holiday at Broomhill Manor and have had another fantastic week. Our children (3 years and 18 months) have absolutely loved all the amazing facilities and made lots of new friends in the nearby cottages.
Our cottage (Woodpecker) was clean and well equipped, including all the child and baby equipment that we had requested along with some welcoming scones with clotted cream and jam on our arrival. My only criticism would be that the kitchen cupboards were so well equipped with crockery and utensils that it was hard to find somewhere to keep our food - a minor detail though.
The site is just brilliant. The kids loved the playroom, indoor and outdoor pools, trampoline, adventure fort, swings, Wendy houses and the huge lawn and grounds to explore. Everywhere is clean and well kept and the ladies who look after the beautiful flowers and hanging baskets have done an amazing job to keep everywhere looking so incredible during this heatwave. Although the cottages were fully booked this week, the site never felt crowded and in fact we often had the pool, gym or play areas completely to ourselves.
My husband really enjoyed the archery session and I had a very enjoyable 2 hour cliff ride from the on site stables. There is really so much to do that we didn't leave the site at all for several days. When we did venture off site we enjoyed the Milky Way theme park about 30 minutes drive away and had some lovely afternoons on the beaches of Bude.
Alan and Linda were very welcoming hosts and a couple of minor niggles were dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner.
Overall, a superb holiday and we will definitely be returning in the future. Next time we will book further in advance make sure we get a cottage with a hot tub which really would have been the icing on the cake!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank elizabethrayatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linwin, Owner at Broomhill Manor Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Well, thank you so much for that, elizabethrayatt - a really lovely and thorough review which I am sure other guests will find helpful to read. I know what you mean about getting absorbed with everything here - I also go many days without needing (or wanting) to leave Broomhill and as you say, even when we are full, it is still a peaceful haven here! Your feedback about the kitchen cupboard space is helpful, and we will look at ways of increasing/ making better use of the storage space at the end of the season.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thanks again for your helpful review!
Kind regards, Linda and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

We just returned from a week's stay at Broomhill. We are a family of four - two boys aged 8 and 10 and a Labrador. This was our first visit to Cornwall as a family and we were looking for a place with activities on site, in case the weather was rubbish.

We were certainly not disappointed with the weather but we managed to make use of most of the facilities on site all the same. There are two pools, one indoor and one outdoor. The outdoor pool is quite small and we found that it got quite crowded if there was another group in the pool as well. Still, it is a bonus to have an outdoor pool that we could use in the lovely weather. The deep end in the outdoor pool is 2 metres and there is a small paddling pool next to it. The indoor pool is bigger than the outdoor one and the deep end is 1.6 metres but there is ledge of 1.2 metres all around the pool. There is also a lovely jacuzzi next to the indoor pool.

There is a small gym within the indoor pool complex which has a treadmill, rowing machine, exercise bike and cross trainer, all of which are in very good condition.

My husband and the boys played tennis at the tennis court which has been resurfaced recently. The tennis court is next to the outdoor pool and is well shaded, which was perfect on a hot day.

The grounds are very well kept and are extensive. Our boys played cricket on the green in front of the manor house and there were lots of places to walk the dog.

My husband and the boys signed up for an archery lesson which is held once a week if there are sufficient numbers. The lesson was very well run and at the end of the lesson, there were lots of Robin Hoods in the making!

There is a laundry room with three washing machines and two dryers for guests to use. Although it looked like the site was at full occupancy, there was always a washing machine available to use.

Our cottage was lovely with a large fenced off garden. We had a hot tub in the garden. It was lovely having a soak in the hot tub at the end of the day. The gas BBQ that was provided was fantastic. It got a lot of use over our stay. The cottage itself is well equipped and comfortable.

We arrived at the cottage later than expected and so did not have a chance to get any groceries. We were pleasantly surprised to find that we could order pastries for breakfast at reception. We were also provided with scones on arrival, which were delicious.

Alan and Linda were very helpful and were always on hand to assist.

We went on days out to Tintagle Castle, the Eden Project, Hidden Valley, Padstow, Bude and the beach at Black Rock, all of which are within easy reach of Broomhill Manor. For anyone who has a Tesla electric car, Lifton which has Tesla superchargers is only half an hour away.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Broomhill Manor. I think they offer a lot more than the average holiday site and everything is well kept and of good quality. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracelimsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linwin, Owner at Broomhill Manor Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Hi gracelimsh,
Thank you so much for this wonderful review and your recommendation of Broomhill Manor. We are delighted that you had a great time here and appreciate you taking the time to write such a thorough and comprehensive review of the facilities and your cottage. Guests also find info about enjoyable days out useful, so thanks for that too - those are firm favourites you mention - we particularly like Tintagel and The Hidden Valley and agree that Black Rock is a great dog-friendly beach!
We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday here and thanks again for your review,
Kind regards, Linda and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

As I am writing this I have enjoyed the best few days’ sleep I have had in months! It’s peaceful, no sound of cars.The beds are REALLY comfortable and the accommodation, clean, warm and have everything a family needs. The welcome cream tea and Easter eggs started the holiday well! There is something for all ages here.
It’s been a rainy and chilly Easter which enabled us to make great use of the onsite activities ~ horse riding, swimming, hot tub in our cottage Kingfisher, tennis, archery, games room and the best massage _ever_ from Hazel. Bude town centre with plenty of shops, restaurants and beaches is in walking distance or a short drive away. We have some delicious meals out too- The Deck,The Bush Inn a 13th cent inn. Accommodation is well located. Normally we would do quite a lot of walking but on this occasion due to the weather, we have visited different places instead~ tintagel, Eden project for example.
I highly recommend Broomhill Manor. I asked Alan the owner how many of his families return and he said 50% families, and I can absolutely see why. Please book here, you won’t be disappointed.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Greenteaaikidofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linwin, Owner at Broomhill Manor Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Thank you so much for this fabulous review - It's really informative also for other readers - especially the info on places to eat and visit when you are staying at Broomhill Manor. Glad you enjoyed all the on site facilities - the horse riding, swimming pool and archery. I have to agree with you about Hazel's massages - they are the best!
Thank you again for your recommendation and we very much hope you will also become a returning guest! Kind Regards, Linda and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

We had trouble finding a hotel in Bude which would take us with our miniature poodle so we decided to try self-catering at Broomhill Manor - what a great decision! Seagull was perfect for us and we really enjoyed the space, the excellent facilities and the freedom it gave us. The weather was terrible but we still had a lovely time. There are lots of walks, Bude is a super place and we used Broomhill Manor's facilities to the full. We will definitely return and hopefully have better weather to get in the sea pool and on to the golf course.

Room Tip: All the cottages look fine
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linwin, Owner at Broomhill Manor Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

Hi Barry,
Many thanks for your review and my apologies for taking so long to reply. We really value guest feedback and we are so glad that the dog-friendly cottage worked out well for you.
We are hoping to get all the bad weather out of the way ready for guests arriving next week for the Christmas and New Year break, but we can't promise, of course!
We look forward to welcoming you back - perhaps in the spring when the days are longer and the daffs are out!
Kind Regards, Alan and Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews