We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only thing that we did not like on our trip to Niagara Falls”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Driftwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Driftwood Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Wheatfield B&B and Inns
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The only thing that we did not like on our trip to Niagara Falls”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We booked it online using places that are very close to Niagara Falls. In our two day trip, we planned to stay indoors for only about 6 hours, so we wanted a cheaper option. This was cheap but the beds were not that great. There was no room service. We spent most of our time at Niagara Falls. There was lot of space for parking though which was free. The ladies in our group did not feel safe at night. The only thing that worked was that it was about 15-20 minutes drive from Niagara Falls. I do not think I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vishal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    1
    5
    24
See reviews for
15
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

The first room we saw was infested with bugs. The manager was surprised that I had the temerity to actually complain about these additional wall scurrying occupants. We demanded another room - and a newer one was provided but at a price.

All that could be said about the new room is that it was, indeed, newer than the old room. There was no phone, probably because it had been worn out by previous occupants making complaints. There were no hand towels, thin bath towels the size of wash cloths, no hair dryer, no alarm clock, no Gideon bible, an inadequate lock on the door, no make up service for the room, no replacement towels without a visit to the lobby (which was often locked), no tissues and a generous allowance of one third of a roll of toilet paper.

The walls were so thin that the occupants of the neighbouring rooms could almost be seen, let alone heard.

The AC unit operated at random.

This is an extremely nasty place - DO NOT go there.

You have been warned!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Morganator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflintown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

When we arrived I noticed the office smelled like urine. We got our keys and went to the room. We had to go back to the desk because the door was not functioning right... The owner was rude and said you need to push on it... We go in the room and my husband sat on the bed.. I sat down and seen something gross on the blanket... Not sure what that was so we took it off... The sheets were from the 1970's along with the carpet and the bathroom fixtures. We figured ok lets use the jiquzie... Ha Ha you turn it on and it smells like rotten eggs. You say wow off to the shower and there is mold on the shower curtain. The room is warm and you check the air conditioner and the filter is clogged with dirt. My husband went outside for a smoke and the owner is positioning his own cars to make it look like he has more guests. You wake up the next day and leave and come back in the evening and ask for towels because they never even cleaned the room. You find hair on the bed. Bugs in the room. The amount of money you spend on the place is nuts considering what you get. I would never recomend this place!! Oh and don't forget the empty pool..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LWandSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Just terrible.. Pictures can lie!!!
We checked in for the labor day weekend and it was Terrible.. The room rent was 150$ for a night!!! It was the shabbiest of the hotels I have been to!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelersGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife checked and and found bedbugs openly crawling on the sheets. She ran from the room.

NEVER STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

booked this hotel over the internet, thought we were getting an ok deal. the place smells and there is mold in the bathroom around the tub and up the walls. We complained and said we wanted a refund but were told that because we booked online we had entered a contract not to cancel upon arrival. Manager is very rude and does not seemto understand that he works in the service industry!!! STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xraygirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I had to leave at 11:00 on Saturday night as I was getting so many bites.I showed the front desk all the bites on my legs and they gave me 1/2 of our money back. We have traveled extensively through the Caribbean and stayed at many hotels and motels in the states. I have never had this happen before.
It is old and run down and I have nothing good to say about this motel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank erin1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Property: Driftwood Motel
Address: 2754 Niagara Falls Blvd, Wheatfield, NY 14304-4517
Location: United States > New York > Wheatfield
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wheatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driftwood Suites of Niagara Falls, is just 7 short miles to Niagara Falls. Rooms range from ECONOMIC to LUXURY. We have new remodeled rooms and Jacuzzi Rooms! Call for more details! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Driftwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Wheatfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing