We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place to stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Iron Bridge
The viaduct near Abraham Darby's blast furnace
Across the road from The Old Post Office
Under the viaduct
In the grounds of the Musuem of Iron
Next to Abraham Darby's blast furnace
Outside Enginuity, the interactive Museum for children
We don't know what this is, we just liked it
This is us just down the road from The Old Post Office with the viaduct in the background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coalbrookdale, Ironbridge Gorge, Telford, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bernie597
Key Largo, Florida
1 review
“Best place to stay!”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We will be staying there again for Christmas this year, it really is just perfect for our needs. Everything you need is there for you. We love the wood burner, lit it every night, as we come from the USA, my husband never wants to leave. Just perfect.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ionay1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spotlessly clean, warm and cosy”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Very convenient for visiting the Ironbridge gorge and museums, lovely walks from the door. The house was clean, well equipped and efficient central heating. Thought had been given to the needs of visitors. A good selection of dvds and books and a useful map of the area. Parking was easy, right outside the door. There was a rumble from the Aga factory nearby, but if you visit the birthplace of the industrial revolution, expect some industry! Wouldn't hesitate about returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no teapot, but owner will address this for next visit!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurpleAst...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely clean well equipped cottage, very comfortable with everything we needed. Near to all the attractions of Ironbridge. Lots of places to visit nearby. This cottage is spacious and had everything we needed, lovely lounge, dining room and kitchen, the main bedroom is large and light with a very comfortable bed, the smaller bedroom is bright and colourful, both bedrooms had lots of hanging space and drawers. We parked outside the cottage and did not have a problem with parking at anytime, the road can get busy also at times but we have to say did not affect our holiday in anyway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole feel of the cottage, very homely
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffyint...
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious cottage in a good location for museums.”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Booked a couple of days before start of trip. Good comms and directions from owner. All you need for a short break in cottage although we found the lighting to be poor for reading at night, exacerbated by dark paint in lounge and main bedroom. Single glazed throughout means you do hear some road noise and AGA factory furnace opposite but this settles mid evening. You would choose this property for ease of access to all the museums, 3 of which are within 2 minutes walk. and if you aren't worried about having outdoor space. No problems with parking a few yards up the road. Comfy king and squeaky bunk beds. Well equipped Co-op at the bottom of the road. Would visit the area again as Shropshire has plenty to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location in a brick built property, comfy sofa and bed
Liked least: Lighting, only one loo.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2015
Thanks for the tip off on the lighting -we have put in higher wattage bulbs and added a lamp in the lounge. We are in consultation with the planning department about the single glazed windows but as the building is listed and we are very keen to preserve and reinstate original character this may take some time (and considerable money.) As for the Aga factory, the next reviewer expressed it perfectly - "if you visit the birthplace of the industrial revolution, expect some industry! ". Long may it continue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason0501...
1 review
“A dream cottage”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Recently stayed in the cottage with some friends and it was a really nice, well presented place to stay. Had all that we needed and would return again when I'm in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel P
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing time spent away from City life”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My partner Sue and I recently spent 2 nights at The Old Post Office. The cottage was everything we had hoped for (especially after spending 3 nights in hectic Blackpool). Quiet and relaxing with all the home comforts you would expect from your own home. It's location is ideally situated in Coalbrookdale with Ironbridge just down the road with the town of Telford and many museums in close proximity. We would have no hesitation in returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing