We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Main House is a must see”
Review of The Darby Houses

The Darby Houses
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
united kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The Main House is a must see”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A nicely renovated property, lots of fascinating displays to look at. There is a dressing up room in the house where you can try on period costumes which is good fun. The house does not have any parking but it is only a short 10 minute walk from the Museum of Iron.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank airlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    15
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport south wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a great few days”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We bought the Ironbridge annual pass and went to most of the places over 3 days. It was great value with free park and ride buses and a £1.50 car park free lasted you all day and you could use it at all sites. The Darby houses were great and we had great fun using the dressing up costumes.
The staff were friendly and knowledgeable at all the sites we visited

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shazcas831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were the only two in the house when we visited (it was an extremely hot day!) which made our visit even better. It was unrushed, the rooms are presented beautifully, one of the best houses I have seen and as an added bonus you get to dress up in Victoria clothes at the end - who can resist!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 72Denise72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So Worth It (Dale House, Rosehill, Quaker Burial Grounds)”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Clustered together further up Lincoln Road (past Enginuity, Iron Museum, etc.) are the Darby Houses which comprise Dale House and Rosehill House. The Dale House is the smaller one of the two. It is still being fixed and only the ground floor is open to the public. I think the kitchen/dining room is still being fixed. The guide was having a bad throad that day (really hoarse) so I couldn't really understand his explanation about the renovations.

But THE ROSEHILL House (the main one) is something else. IT WAS BEAUTIFUL and really leads you back to an a different time and place. There were AMPLE READING GUIDES every where so you can read and there is a brief description of the things in the rooms (the wallpaper, the pen, the scissor with candle wick catcher, the sampler and cross-stitched pillows) -- it was just all so fun and interesting. They also had a small guide here and there which shows the different stages of the Rosehill renovations and that really was very interesting. I think the size of the house was just right, not too big that it bores you, and not too small that it underwhelms you. There is a costume room and the end of the tour where you can try on traditional and fashionable period costumes of the Quakers -- (as Quakerism was a main thing in the Darby family) and there were signs encouraging you to try on the costumes and to take pictures. I like this style of making the experience accessible and definitely it would be fun as the costumes are for women, men and kids as well. If you come with the family therefore, fun can be had by all.

The Quaker Burial Grounds are further up. YOu will have to pass a residential area. I will not spoil you with a description of the place, but suffice it to say that if you saw the burial site, you will realize -- as It clicked to me in that a-ha moment -- what the Quaker faith and lifestyle is all about. The burial grounds are nestled among homes -- and it highlights that death is part of life and the simplicity of their faith. VERY interesting testimony of their belief, without words.

I would definitely recommend the Darby Houses and the Quaker Burial Grounds. It is truly an educational and enlightening experience. IMPORTANT: The walk up is a pretty steep incline (well, it IS in Ironbridge), so have good walking shoes on! :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSugarStealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant time”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Quaker house with my American cousin.We were greeted by very helpful and knowledgable staff.The rooms are restored beautifully,with information about the Darby family history displayed throughout.Downstairs off the kitchen is a costume room where you may try on authentic period costumes in both plain and fancy styles.One of the staff even kindly took a photo of the two of us dressed up.The views from the house are great for photography too.It will be great when the restoration of the second house is complete .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Midreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Darby Houses also viewed

Coalbrookdale, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to The Darby Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing