We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Foundry Masters House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Foundry Masters House
Certificate of Excellence
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous Foundry Masters House”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you want to go sightseeing in Ironbridge and local tourist spots, stay at the Foundry Masters House. The room was great with a beautiful ensuite bathroom but Dawn's cooking is awesome, especially evening meals if you would like to stay in,

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms - we did not see the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
129
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caldicot
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went here in February during the snow storms!
Really beautiful old Foundry Masters house and nicely decorated inside.
The owners are very friendly but not in your face. The room was lovely, cosy and the tempur mattress was divine-as was the heated bathroom floor!
We also ate at the B+B the one evening, not cheap but very good, so that's fine :)
Breakfast was very nice too!
Also a great central location for visiting the wonderful Ironbridge and all it's museums!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gresleysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were welcomed by Dawn and shown up to a lovely large bedroom (no 3) which had a beautiful very large en suite. The bed was a kingsize sleigh bed with a memory foam mattress. Unfortunately for me this was too firm and was quite noisy to sleep on. Dawn told us about the church clock next door chiming all night, but it wasn't the chiming that disturbed us, it was the Arga factory directly opposite starting up at 7 am that did. Breakfast is round one big table and there is a very good choice - the full breakfast would certainly set you up for the day. I had read on previous reviews that Dawn did evening meals, but unfortunately she didnt while we were there. A 20 minute walk from here will take you into Ironbridge, but when we got there we were either too early for the pubs to be serving an evening meal or the eateries were closed. It was 6pm and all we could find was a fish and chip shop selling the worst chips we have had in a long time! Dawns chocolate brownies were certainly some of the best and we shared the ones she gave us as we left with our grandchildren and they loved them.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindylou146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Extremely high quality B&B, from the very comfortable beds to the room furniture and bathroom fittings, through the decor and service to the friendliness of the owners and of course the magnificent breakfasts and evening meals. Period setting with all modern amenities including fast wifi. Dawn is an excellent cook and hostess, nothing is too much trouble, and there is massive attention to detail throughout. We felt truly welcomed and truly spoilt. Definitely much,much more than simply somewhere to sleep, a real treat and excellent value. Stunning location opposite where iron was first smelted, now a quiet valley. If you are anticipating a stay anywhere in the Ironbridge/Coalbrookdale area this is the one for you.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the smallest but still very comfortable for 2- cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a lovely room and wonderful food cooked by Dawn. She was very willing to adapt a menu to suit individual tastes. Lovely king size bed which was soft (memoryfoam) and very comfortable. English breakfasts to die for! We had a great time!
There are a number of steps up to the house so access may be a problem for less able individuals.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vikki f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

A faultless three night stay with wonderful food cooked by Dawn. She is more than happy to cater for our food intolerances and allergies. The food then produced was excellent and with Dawn's cooking I am surprised Danny is not the size of a house!
Our stay was a real pleasure, better than home from home. Everything was just as one would expect and the only disappointment was leaving.
This will always be our first choice of accommodation in that area.

Pip and David

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Rousses, France
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have had a family weekend at Coalbrookdale and Ironbridge to reunite our scattered family of fifty. Coalbrookdale was fascinating and the museums excellent for the children. Dawn and Danny put three older family members up at the Foundrymasters House and they found their stay very good. Dawn cooked an excellent meal for fifty at the Youth Hostel on the Saturday night which was uniformly praised.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coalbrookdale
0.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
884 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
0.7 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#2 of 9 in Ironbridge
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#1 of 9 in Ironbridge
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foundry Masters House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foundry Masters House

Property: The Foundry Masters House
Address: 43 Wellington Road, Coalbrookdale, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Coalbrookdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coalbrookdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Foundry Masters House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Detached Georgian Property built in 1861 for the master of the local Coalbrookdale foundry set in the heart of the Ironbridge Gorge exactly one mile from the Iron Bridge itself. The property consists of three double rooms en suite on the first floor with a ground floor dining room and lounge. The property is licensed to serve alcohol and offers an a la carte restaurant menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Foundry Masters House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Foundry Masters House Coalbrookdale, England, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing