We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Foundry Masters House
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Fantastic place to stay. Weekend visit to Ironbridge and Blists Hill Victorian Town. Excellent food and accommodation, home from home would hiighly recommend to anyone.
Dawns home cooking is second to none, the cooked breakfast set us up for the day and the evening menu is a must try. The house is kept in character with its period, clean and comfortable, will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    16
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
132
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

stayed 1 night at the foundry masters house whot a gem spotless ,nice decor but keeps in with the age and of the period of the house,breakfast to die for from the full english,fruit ,etc,and most of all very pleasent and helpful owners.will go back again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huddersfieldrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We wanted a weekend in ironbridge, an untouched small town with so much history. We found the foundry masters house on tripadvisor and telephoned. Everything seemed right, and it was.
Warm welcome, beautiful room with en suite, comfortable bed and breakfast to match, what more do you want for a weekend. Perfect

Room Tip: go for the deluxe room, it may be a few pounds more but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Breakfast choice and cooking was great. They were so helpful at recommending places to eat and things to see, even booking a restaurant for us as we had no reception on our phones. The rooms were beautifully decorated, especially the bathroom which was fab. Our whole stay was relaxing and we couldn't fault anything. We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We were one of the couples from the six that stayed 28th September 2012. We stayed three nights, accommodation was lovely, food was amazing! Everything we needed was there, nothing was too much trouble and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed, would definitely go back.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with 4 friends.

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome by Dawn, who gave us tea and brownies-which melted in the mouth!

We had room 1, which was compact, but very comfortable with a large sleigh bed,plenty of storage space, a sewing kit, tea and coffee making facilities and more brownies!! The bathroom had shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. There was a large, walk in shower, with nice fluffy towels.

We stayed in for dinner both evenings and it was a gourmet treat! We chose from a varied menu and our food was ready within 30 minutes of ordering. There were 6 of us and I don't know how Dawn produced it so fast. To say the food was delicious is really an understatement, it was of first class restaurant standard, but with reasonable prices. Some of us wanted variations of a dish, which was no trouble either. If Dawn's Bailey's cheesecake is on the menu for dessert, then you really have to leave some room to sample it, it's delicious.

We had a great breakfast the following morning, again, nothing was too much trouble and the quality was very high. We decided to eat in again that night as we were planning to be out all day and thought it would be good to come back, relax with a pre-dinner drink, knowing that no-one had to drive back, so we could enjoy wine with the meal and relax. One again, the food was superb.

Dawn and Danny are very easy to get on with, Danny is very funny and Dawn a relaxed, calm chef, with fantastic skills. First class Guest House and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay again. Well done!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilaelizabeth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights and we were made to feel very welcome the atmosphere was very relaxing and the accommodation was first class. The owners were lovely people with two love children. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDcool1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coalbrookdale
0.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 9 in Ironbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#2 of 9 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foundry Masters House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foundry Masters House

Property: The Foundry Masters House
Address: 43 Wellington Road, Coalbrookdale, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Coalbrookdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coalbrookdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Foundry Masters House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Detached Georgian Property built in 1861 for the master of the local Coalbrookdale foundry set in the heart of the Ironbridge Gorge exactly one mile from the Iron Bridge itself. The property consists of three double rooms en suite on the first floor with a ground floor dining room and lounge. The property is licensed to serve alcohol and offers an a la carte restaurant menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Foundry Masters House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Foundry Masters House Coalbrookdale, England, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing