We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nondescript Chain Hotel with Comfortable, Spacious Room & Convenient Location for Business Travellers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in La Defense
Reviewed February 20, 2010

LOCATION: Hotel Renaissance Paris La Defense is located near the Grande Arche & the Metro Station of La Defense which is the terminal of Line 1. This gives you direct access to many places of interest such as Arc de Triomphe, Champs Elysees, Place de la Concorde, Jardin des Tuileries & Musee du Louvre. Most attractions are 20-40 mins away by metro, depending on how far out you travel & whether you need to transfer to another line.

The Hotel is situated in La Defense, the main business district where most corporate offices are; making this an ideal base for business travellers. However if you are in Paris for leisure & sightseeing, staying here will not be as convenient compared to accommodation nearer the city centre.

La Defense has none of that Parisian charm that most people have come to associate with the City of Lights. This business district is a desolate ghost town by night & a cold metropolis by day. If you are in Paris for a little romance, i would suggest you stay elsewhere...

ROOM: We stayed in a Executive Room which was spacious & well-maintained. It was tastefully furnished with a King-sized bed, a sofa with coffee table, an armchair with side table, mini-bar, 2 beside tables with wall lamps, TV with both French & English channels, a work desk with mirror & chair, luggage rack, a sizable wardrobe with safety box, iron & ironing board. There is high-speed internet access in room but the service is chargeable on either hourly or daily basis.

BED: The King-sized bed was huge & comfortable with clean sheets & plenty of fluffy pillows. We managed to sleep quite well despite the room being rather chilly at night (we tried repeatedly but failed to adjust the thermostat to the right temperature).

BATHROOM: Spacious & clean, equipped with bathtub, marble vanity counter & toilet (discreetly partitioned off in a corner). Furnished with all necessary amenities such as basic toiletries (hand soap, shower gel, shampoo & body lotion), ample towels & hair dryer. There was hot water supply (essential during winter) & the shower head had fairly good water pressure. The Hot/Cold settings were slightly tricky & we struggled a bit with adjusting the water temperature. 


F&B: Room rate is inclusive of daily breakfast. The breakfast buffet offers a generous spread with good variety: bread rolls, croissants, assorted pastries, pancakes, waffles, various jams & butter, yoghurts, eggs, assorted cold cuts, soft & hard cheeses, various fruits & juices, coffee & tea.

If you need to dine in, skip the Italian/Mediterranean cuisine on the Room Service menu & try something more 'French'. We were here on a business trip & ordered Room Service dinners 3 nights in a row; only the grilled chicken was palatable, both the pasta & pizza were very disappointing...

If time permits, take the metro & head downtown where you'd find far better dining options in the numerous bistros & restaurants lining the streets of Paris. Check any reputable guide books for recommendations.

SERVICE: The Reception Staff spoke fluent English and were competent & amicable. Check-In & Check-Out both proceeded smoothly. The gentleman named Yann was especially warm & obliging, he readily assisted us with various queries & requests during our 4-day stay.

Housekeeping Staff did a good job, our room was cleaned daily with turndown service in the evenings. Towels were changed & amenities replenished regularly.

Laundry Staff were very efficient; came for collection promptly when summoned by phone. Items were washed & pressed within 24hrs. Clothes were returned to our room nicely packed & in pristine condition.

SUMMARY: Given the rather far-out location, Hotel Renaissance Paris La Defense would not be suitable for leisure travellers who visit Paris mainly for sightseeing & wish to experience staying in a property with 'Parisian' ambiance. This is a nondescript chain hotel more suited for business travellers who want the convenience of staying near the corporate offices @ La Defense.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeChat_EnVacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 928 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2010

We had trouble booking Paris hotels for a family of 3. Most catered only for couples and required us to take 2 rooms, or were very expensive and beyond the budget we wanted to pay. We were very happy with Renaissance La Defense. It is a good business hotel. We were quite please with the service received from reception upon checkin, and they were very friendly.

Whilst La Defense is quite far from the heart of Paris, and is approximately 10 minutes to the train station and 20 minutes to key locations in Paris. You have a choice of the RER or Metro. Note that if you are buying tickets for the Metro, La Defense is not within the main travelling area and you need to pay extra otherwise you can't get out of the turnstiles. However, we were very happy for the slight inconvenience for the price that we paid. There is a shopping centre nearby and you can easily get breakfast in the mornings. McDonalds also provides a good option if you have kids. Note however that there are very poor options for evening dining in the area, so plan to be out in Paris for dinner before returning.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PostcardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in December 2009. The hotel is very modern and located in the Business area of La Defense. It is 5 mins walk from the Metro & RER station and you can get to the main areas of the City quite easily.
The room is large compared to some of the other Paris hotels we have stayed in. The room was very comfortable and clean. We had a King size bed, large screen tv and minibar. The bathroom was of a good size with the usual shampoo, soap and shower gel provided. Our room was very quiet and had a reasonable view from the window.
We visited the hotel bar, the staff here were very friendly and service was good, but don't forget that Paris hotel bar prices are not cheap.
We did not eat at the hotel - there are plenty of nearby places to eat at reasonable prices.
All in all, a very comfortable hotel at a reasonable price and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob-the-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Good business hotel, nice rooms and even restaurant is good and reasonably priced. Metro is walking distance so getting into town is very easy.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
1  Thank cima2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I travel to Paris a couple of weekends a year. La Defense is the business district of Paris and is therefore deserted is the weekends, hotels in La Defense are usually pretty cheap in the weekends for that reason.

The Renaissance gave me a reasonable rate and upgraded me to a spacious room with living area. The service was quite good, nothing outstanding though. I wouldn't recommend the food in the hotel, Paris has much better to offer.

It is really close to the RER station where the train will take you into the city in 10minutes. The location is absolutely no problem for me, hotels in the city centre will charge you higher rates for less comfortable (and very small) rooms. La Defense gives you a little peace in a big city and will save you some money for good French food and wines.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

My self and my friend stayed at the Renaissance La Defense for a week and it has it's positive's and negatives.

Positives
1. Very close to Metro, RER, the mall and places to eat, banks and the post office.
2. Our room (1029) was very clean, the beds were supper comfy and the bathroom was very large.
3. The front desk staff and the conceirge lounge staff were all very nice and helpful as well pleasant everytime we encountered them.
4. Very quite location, especially on the weekends.

Negatives
1. I picked this hotel for the concierge lounge. As a platinum member, I used points to stay the week and I expected more from the lounge. The food was rather bland and there was no variety. They need to take a close look at what other lounges around the world offer. The Renaissance at the airport in Atlanta, GA or the Regents Park Marriott in London could teach them a thing or two. I will stay in town next time at a property with no lounge if this is all there is to it.

2. The air in the room did work. We opened the window and assumed that due to the time of the year that the air had been turned off. It was unusually warm and sunny the entire time we were there, so every where we went seemed hot and stuffy to us, so we just dealt with it.

3. Getting into the hotel - there is an exit on the level with the Grand Arch and the Metro that requires your room key to get back in. There is also a gaurd table at that entrance. You would think with all this security that you would be able to enter back into the building in the evening, but you can't. Even if you have a key, you can't swipe it and get in. You have to walk down 2 flights of dark stairs to the front of the hotel to get in. This is not a safe thing to do if you are a single female. Why have the door with the security feature if you're not going to allow your guest to use it?

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1tiredpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

It was my 7th visit of Paris.

+
Good location (but if I travel next time, I will choose a hotel in the centre of Paris on a walking distance from the main sightseeings)

Very good traffic connection

Nice staff at the reception desk (but not during breakfast...see below my comments)

-
In the bathroom, there was mould in the bath and in the cracks

We had king size bedroom and the mattress was totally used so we weren't able to keep own side and we always met in the middle in a hole (the mattress had 'V' form). We tried to turn it on the second side but it didn't help

As a group they separated us from the main breakfast hall and prepared breakfast to a big meeting room so you could imagine flipchart and a speaker and you had the feeling like on a business training :(((((

There only was a simple buffet during the breakfast and I had to ask 6 or 7 times during the 3 breakfasts for replenishing of food (baguetes, cheese etc.). Moreover, NOBODY WAS CLEANING THE TABLES and all dishes remained on the tables.

No privacy during the breakfast because of tables for 10 people...

When I think about the hotel, unfortunately, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Defense
0.3 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
1,669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
1,746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Sofitel Paris La Defense
#2 of 41 in La Defense
1,692 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
0.2 mi away
citizenM Paris La Defense
citizenM Paris La Defense
#195 of 1,809 in Paris
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel

Address: 60 Jardins de Valmy, 92918, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#5 Business Hotel in La Defense
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
Price Range: $147 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully renovated in 2016 Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense is in the heart of dynamic La Defense district of Paris, France. Just next to the Grande Arche de La Defense this Paris hotel is just a few minutes from the capital's famous attractions: only 1 train stop from the Champs-Elysees. Guests can walk from the Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense to the large shopping center "les 4 Temps" open everyday. Whether you come by train, metro or taxi from Paris airports, access to the hotel is easy and for those coming by car there is a private and supervised hotel car park. This upscale hotel provides spacious revamped bedrooms with Marriott bedding, air conditioning, Internet access, premium TV channels, and in-room safe. For successful conferences and events there are 15 meeting rooms with natural daylight and broadband internet. Hotel guests have free access to the fitness gym. Guests can enjoy French specialties in the new modern La Brasserie, Restaurant & Bar. From breakfast until late cocktails, the place is ideal for a vibrant moment in a typical Parisian atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Paris
Paris Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing