We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in La Defense”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in La Defense
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in La Defense”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

+ pleasant and calming hotel, friendly staff, clean and well equipped rooms, adequate basic breakfast for groups, regular cleaning of a room was fine, well-controlled air conditioning - it doesn´t need to open windows; very good location near the metro, the terminated station of the line number 1; overall a quiet place - away from busy roads; we was at third floor - there was a quite silent
- less convenient (it crawled) beds, insufficient filling of a hotel minibar

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicke777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    384
    144
    65
    25
See reviews for
119
170
50
380
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a nice, adequate, clean property located in the ultra-modern business district of La Defense. The location is really good, since you can walk to the metro station and be in the heart of Paris in 15 minutes or so. The surrounding glass office towers empty out early and the area around the hotel is like a park with few people. It is a wonderful place to walk and marvel at the buildings and enormous outdoor sculptures and modern artwork that line the long esplanade.There are a few restaurants in the area and the hotel has a rather nice-looking restaurant, but we did not dine there. Indeed we rarely saw anyone dining there. It was more fun to go to Quatre Temps (a huge shopping center five minutes away), the underground shops, or ride into the city (and I was annoyed that we did not receive an upgrade to our room that we expected, so I took my business elsewhere). There were a few minor problems with the room--which is not designed for seniors. The shower is quite dangerous--no place to hold onto and the walls and floor are very slippery. I don't know if it is hotel problem or a common problem in France, but the toilet has a small button to activate the flush and it is very difficult to push. The breakfast is excellent. Someone here mentioned that it was the same every day and that is true--but there is a huge variety to choose from and the kitchen will prepare fresh egg dishes any way you want them. I think the hotel is fine for people who do not want to be in the bustle of downtown Paris, enjoy walking, and riding the Metro (we did not find it crowded or dirty as some people claimed). It is not good for people who prefer to ride in taxis--it is a long ride, the taxi drivers are notoriously rude (we tried it once), and most drivers can't find the hotel and treat La Defense as a foreign country!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful. The room was cleaned by 10 a.m. Each day. The restaurants (a bar and then a nicer restaurant had excellent food and service.

The fitness room is well equipped. You can walk to a shop area nearby. If you are ambitious you can walk to Arc de Triumph (3 miles).

The metro is walking distance (short walk).

The only negative -- it is hard to navigate to get to the hotel. Taxi drivers kept getting lost. It is approximately 60 euros from airport to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a great hotel for staying in Paris. close to a metro station that brings you to the center easily. Nice and friendly stuff. clean rooms and good restaurant. I would recommend staying in this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

A very nice Hotel, staff very friendly always greeted with a smile. Bedroom nicely arranged, clean and plenty of toiletries. The bathroom is bigger than what you would expect. Breakfast is buffet, the breakfast room is very bright and fresh and again well arranged. The staff are a bit less friendly here but not so to be complaining about, (On the second morning only). While it's location looks to be located far from the city centre it is only 20 minutes away on the metro and the metro station is 5 minute walk from the Hotel. The largest shopping centre I've ever been in is in the same area again 5 minutes from the Hotel, expect large crowds, tip, mark your entrance as it is so big you may not find it when leaving.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jarlethgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is a bit difficult to find if driving as this part of La Defense could be confusing but I took a cab and it costed about 60EUR from the airport.

Because of its location, whenever you order a cab, it arrives with about 7 - 10 EUR already charged on the counter because of the distance it has to come from so bear that in mind.

Check-in was fine, staff seemed courteous and eager to help.

The room was a bit disappointing--it just seemed mediocre but I guess it's typical Marriott fashion. Furnishings weren't too tasteful. And bathroom amenities were very basic. The bathroom and toilet was also very basic, even in the top floor suites!

Breakfast in the restaurant was okay but if I had time I'll look for other options nearby. They serve free coffee in the lobby so you can grab that and then head out hunting for nearby breakfast places :)

During the stay the wifi stopped working. While they said they were working on it, it didnt seem apparent to me that this was a priority. The only alternative offered was to connect with the cable in the room. But this doesn't work for iPads and phones, obviously.

Bottomline: I probably would not stay here again if I had to stay in La Defense for work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Pros: The rooms which are clean, tidy and comfortable are large by Paris standards.
The hotel operates a busy lounge bar offering a good value happy hour from about 5-7pm Mon-Fri. Overall the hotel staff are friendly and helpful.
A large shopping centre - including Sephora, DIM, GAP plus a big supermarket - is an easy five minute walk away. A further two minutes and you are at the Metro station.


Cons: The hotel is located in the business district, so very busy by day and very quiet by night even more so over the weekend. If travelling alone I would not recommend walking back to the hotel from the metro late at night ~ it's a bit off-putting.
There are very limited choices for dining out at night in/around La Defense.
The hotel charges for internet access which just should not happen these days - other hotels do it
too and it is a total rip off.
Checking out is a very slow process (reception is often understaffed) so ensure you allow enough time.

Summary:
If you have business in/around La Defense - then this hotel is a good practical choice.
However when visiting Paris for pleasure I prefer to stay in different area closer to the heart of Paris where there are more things to do and see and a far greater choice of dining out options.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali N, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We than you for your feedback on your stay at The Renaissance Paris La Défense.

We sincerely hope you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for your nice comments about the rooms, the bar, and the location. We also noticed your constructive feedback, and we would like to inform you that we tke them into consideration, and we do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

I remain at your disposal whenever my assistance should be required

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Defense hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#3 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Sofitel Paris La Defense
#2 of 41 in La Defense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
1.0 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#7 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel

Property: Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
Address: 60 Jardins de Valmy, 92918, La Defense, France (Formerly Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in La Defense
#5 Business Hotel in La Defense
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully renovated in 2016 Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense is in the heart of dynamic La Defense district of Paris, France. Just next to the Grande Arche de La Defense this Paris hotel is just a few minutes from the capital's famous attractions: only 1 train stop from the Champs-Elysees. Guests can walk from the Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense to the large shopping center "les 4 Temps" open everyday. Whether you come by train, metro or taxi from Paris airports, access to the hotel is easy and for those coming by car there is a private and supervised hotel car park. This upscale hotel provides spacious revamped bedrooms with Marriott bedding, air conditioning, Internet access, premium TV channels, and in-room safe. For successful conferences and events there are 15 meeting rooms with natural daylight and broadband internet. Hotel guests have free access to the fitness gym. Guests can enjoy French specialties in the new modern La Brasserie, Restaurant & Bar. From breakfast until late cocktails, the place is ideal for a vibrant moment in a typical Parisian atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Paris
Paris Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing