We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from centre, but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in La Defense
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Far from centre, but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We picked this hotel because the rate was much more reasonable than being closer to the centre, and metro is only about 3 minute walk from hotel. Plus, you are right at The LaDefense Arch, which is pretty. We stayed there for a week, took metro to explore the city every day and had no problem with it. The service was only okay and we did not use the restaurant. I liked the idea that we stayed at a nice hotel ( we had a corner mini suite with wonderful view) at a reasonable rate and therefore could spend more money exploring the city, which of course is beautiful. If you do not mind using Paris metro and like a nice hotel on " sort of " a budget, this is a very good option.

Room Tip: Corner room are very nice with nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    376
    142
    63
    25
See reviews for
117
166
50
372
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife has just checked out from Renaissance Paris after she was complaining about the quality of the service, particularly when they couldn't change her "connected" room!
Even a very simple wake-up call service had a technical problem and it was late.
All in all, it was not satisfied stay in Renaissance Paris. It seems like everything worked together to push us leaving this negative feedback, but anyway this is how it is.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thibaut p, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback.

I would like to assure you that we constantly strive to achieve only the highest level of quality, service and hospitality and I truly regret that we fell short on our goals.

I would like to extend my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the room and your wake up call.

I hope this regrettable matter will not deter you from returning back to visit our hotel and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We arrived there around 11 pm after having problems with finding the hotel. We took a private transfer from airport to the hotel and the drivers could not find the place:).
If you want to take a taxi, be aware that it's considerate out of the city and you will pay extra.
At the reception we found a lady who had a cold and she was not in a good mood.
The room was clean, big and looked like new.
The bathroom was also clean but the annoying thing was that the WC system for flushing the water was hard to push.
They have implemented this eco program and it's really annoying to push with both hands to flush.
The breakfast was the same every day. They have variety and good juices. The staff working there is very stressed and unhappy. Even thoo they where nice to us, you could see the sadness on their faces.
Over all, it was a nice experience. Choose this hotel if you have business in the area. If you just want to visit Paris it's better to choose a central hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jully-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

The GOOD:
- If you have business in La Defense (one of the banks or insurers there), then this is in my opinion the best hotel there. I spent several months at SocGen just a 3 minute walk away on the plaza and it was the most convenient arrangement I've had on a business trip
- Room service food is good
- The hotel is OK to get to with taxi (unsurprising) or metro/RER since the station is a short walk away at La Defense. Some other hotels are away from the main pedestrian area, so you have to cross these huge highways - not the Renaissance.

The BAD:
- La Defense generally is OK for food for lunch or in the evening, but if you want to experience Paris, you're much better off getting a hotel at Charles De Gaulle Etoile and getting the underground in a couple of stations from there (though the underground during rush hour is not pleasant). It gets quite dead at night.
- It's a business hotel: high standard, no soul

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JonoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I flew out for our first trip to Paris back in October 2012. As far as location, this hotel is located in the business district which is full of people during the morning commute. The great thing about this hotel was that it was within a very short walking distance to the Metro and 2 shopping malls. The hotel itself was nice and clean. We had booked a room with a king bed but were checked into an odd corner room that was triangular and with a queen bed. So my husband went down to the front desk and mentioned that we had booked a room with a king and the woman was not very polite and stated that they did not have king beds. So we just dropped it. We received the complimentary breakfast buffet in the mornings which was good for only a pit stop for coffee. They served the same food everyday which was just average and eventually got to be a bit boring. A few days into our trip, we were woken up at 7 in the morning by a loud banging against our window. There was a large cable hanging down the side of the hotel building that was being used to replace the Renaissance letters on the outside of the hotel. The cable was swinging with the wind up against our window. So we went down to the front desk and they switched our room for us. Not only was the second room larger and with a better layout but it indeed included our king bed! So in the end it all worked out. Overall the hotel was nice and in a decent location but if you are a tourist and want to be in the midst of Paris, I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel. If and when we plan to revisit Paris, we would probably stay closer to the center of Paris and the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thibaut p, Director of Operations at Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to contact us concerning your recent stay in Paris and our Renaissance Hotel.

Our hotel is located in the la Defense business area and it is only few stops away from the Champs Elysées avenue.

I thank you for getting back to me hereby giving us a chance to avoid reoccurrence and to make us better tomorrow.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great location for for easy access to to central Paris. Also only 25 minutes from Versailles on the SNCF. Staff we're extremely helpful. Nice clean rooms. Breakfast was very good. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Overall

I constantly travel for work and am in hotels 3-4 nights a week clocking up over 150 room nights last year. I have stayed in the Rennaisance La Defense a couple of times.
As this is a Marriott product I knew I would be safe and get a basic standard, The hotel is right across from the Grand Arch in La Defense. If taking a taxi don’t expect to find it. 2 drivers couldn’t navigate the streets at la defense despite having satnav and so dropped us at stairs or escalators to walk round and find it. Taxis are parked right outside the nearby Hilton however so they must get in somehow.

Service
Checked in late and left early so normal service experienced.

Food
Didnt eat here. Breakfast was advertised at 26 euro plus tax so ate elswhere

Value
Most hotels in Paris are expensive. This was quite expensive compared to the Hilton I usually stay in..

Sleep Quality
Good .

Cleanliness
Very clean

Location
Good location for La Defense – a little far out of Paris for my liking. Connected by tram and train through la defense so you can go many places from here.

Rooms
The rooms are like any other Marriott globally. Close the curtains and you could be in Paris or Peru. I always find the air con in Marriott’s to be fairly poor and blow warm air and this happened here too. TVs have digital channels so also pick up UK tv..

General
Nice clean hotel in an OK location..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Defense hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#4 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Sofitel Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
1.0 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#6 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel

Property: Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
Address: 60 Jardins de Valmy, 92918, La Defense, France (Formerly Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in La Defense
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#5 Business Hotel in La Defense
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully renovated in 2016 Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense is in the heart of dynamic La Defense district of Paris, France. Just next to the Grande Arche de La Defense this Paris hotel is just a few minutes from the capital's famous attractions: only 1 train stop from the Champs-Elysees. Guests can walk from the Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense to the large shopping center "les 4 Temps" open everyday. Whether you come by train, metro or taxi from Paris airports, access to the hotel is easy and for those coming by car there is a private and supervised hotel car park. This upscale hotel provides spacious revamped bedrooms with Marriott bedding, air conditioning, Internet access, premium TV channels, and in-room safe. For successful conferences and events there are 15 meeting rooms with natural daylight and broadband internet. Hotel guests have free access to the fitness gym. Guests can enjoy French specialties in the new modern La Brasserie, Restaurant & Bar. From breakfast until late cocktails, the place is ideal for a vibrant moment in a typical Parisian atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Paris
Paris Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing