We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in La Defense
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good business location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Well located in La Defence (the Canary Wharf of Paris) but the Centre of Paris and all of the sightseeing things are a short journey on the Metro away.
Breakfast in the hotel was nothing short of terrible. I was staying on a Business rate and breakfast was not included. The first morning I ventured to the restaurant and ordered a paid breakfast which was about £25 and was certainly not worth it. Quality poor which represented terrible value even though I wasn't paying for it with my own money!
Rooms are nice, clean and have all you need.
I had wifi included in my corporate rate. It was quite slow and wouldn't be worth paying the extortionate rates they would command a leisure visitor for. I think there's some access to free wifi in the lobby exaggerated by the large number of guests in reception on iPads!
Would go there again but would advise against taking breakfast unless you have it included in a reasonable room rate

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    368
    141
    63
    24
See reviews for
114
164
50
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Pros:
- friendly staff
- clean rooms
- excellent breakfast buffet! It is worth to start a day with a breakfast in the restaurant Californien
- located next to the Grand Arche and the stations of the metro line #1, tram #2, the RER and the bus station for which reason you are in the city center of Paris within 20 minutes and by using the tram 2 (Musee de Sevres) and bus 171 within 45 minutes
- quiet area in night
Cons:
nothing to complain

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmopolit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Recently stayed in this hotel. When you book $300/night hotel you don't expect to saty up to your ankles in standing water in the shower. When service arrived, problem was still not fully fixed. Place was dirty. Someone who stayed before left a tray with food outside, which stayed God knows how long - it stunk really bad. I was not sure what I slept on, it was definately not a mattress, it was more like a hammock - just what I needed before a flight across Atlantic. Air conditioner stopped working also in the middle of the night. In the morning we found out that hotel actually charges 17EUR per person for a Continental breakfast and $$$$$ for full breakfast. I can't believe that they are trying to pull this off in Europe where all breakfasts are free. I could have had a better stay at $50/night Ibis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aceshigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The shape of this hotel is strange - it is a big triangle. This wouldn't be that memorable but it makes all the rooms into funny shapes. My room was a strange, elongated rectangle with the TV and desk in one end of the rectangle and my bed in the other. This meant when I was in bed watching tv, the tv would be very far away. Also, when I was working at the desk (which I did often as I was on a business trip), the desk was very crowded as the tv was right next to me. Needless to say, the setup wasn't ideal.

Additionally, the location of this hotel wasn't ideal. It is difficult to walk anywhere as it is not positioned well in the La Defense neighborhood. I think it is worthwhile to check out a hotel closer to the Arch and take the metro if you have business in La Defense.

Room Tip: Ask for a not oddly-shaped room. I'm sure they'll know what you're talking about
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Around The World
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, mostly the business type. Our room was a very nice quite big room. As for the breakfast, it was just great. I can’t comment on the prices as we had a special rate!

Personally I think its location is great, just across yards from La Grande Arch, with convenient access to metro station and a great shopping centre (Quatro Temps) nearby. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella_AroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice room, great food, clean,etc. The negatives are that it is a long ways out of the action, and their air conditioning is kept at too high a temperature, so if it is hot outside, you will be hot as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank likesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of the Trafalgar tours "Wonderful France" coach tour. We stayed an extra night as we arrived the day before the tour started.
We couldn't check-in before 3pm on the first day as the hotel was fully booked the previous night. C'est la vie.
This hotel is located at the west end of Paris beyond the arrondissements of the central city in the gleaming, shining, steel and glass, ultra-modern area called La Defense. A few minutes’ walk to the metro then gives you convenient and cheap (€ 1.70) access to the rest of Paris. Also a short walk away is the dramatic La Grande Arche monument/building and a huge shopping mall.
Our very clean room was tastefully furnished with a lot of dark varnished wood, dark green carpet and the like. The room was spacious for the price as we also had a little lounge area with a coffee table and two coaches. Very nice. The bathroom was modern and spotless with lots of soaps, shampoos, towels etc.
Our breakfast was an unremarkable buffet which is the usual fare for a coach tour breakfast.
This hotel served as an excellent first impression of Paris.

We remain impressed both with this hotel and magical Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Defense hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#4 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Sofitel Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
1.0 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#7 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel

Property: Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
Address: 60 Jardins de Valmy, 92918, La Defense, France (Formerly Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in La Defense
#5 Business Hotel in La Defense
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense is in the heart of La Defense district of Paris, France. Just next to the Grande Arche de La Defense this Paris hotel is just a few minutes from the capital's famous attractions: only 1 train stops from the Champs-Elysees. Guests can walk from the Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense to the large shopping center "les 4 Temps" as well as to the CNIT conference center. Whether you come by train, metro or taxi from Paris airports, access to the hotel is easy and for those coming by car there is a private and supervised hotel car park. This upscale hotel provides spacious hotel rooms with Marriott bedding, air conditioning, Internet access, premium TV channels, and in-room safe. For successful conferences and events there are 13 meeting rooms with natural daylight and broadband internet. Hotel guests have free access to the fitness gym. Guests can enjoy traditional French cuisine in the hotel restaurant and a relaxing atmosphere at the Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Paris
Paris Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing