We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for an outdated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in La Defense
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I was here for 1 night during a business trip.
Seen the price, I expected a really nice hotel, but I was disappointed with the outdated hotel rooms.

For the rest it is a standard hotel with friendly staff and clean rooms.

There are other better hotels in that area

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redloverr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 917 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and we had a very pleasant stay. Location was good; near the Grande Arche in La Defense an only a short walk to the metrostation. Staff was very friendly and professional. They gave us a room on the club level floor which was beautiful decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choise. The only thing that annoyed us was the man (who clearly wasn't a hotelguest) that showed up at the breakfast both times we were there: He was pampered by the waitresses by giving him bottles of orangejuice and water. He went to the buffet and took a lot of bread and fruit from the buffet and put it in his large plastic bag. I can't judge whether it was accidential and altough I think it is a nice gesture from the waitresses, I think it would be better to donate the food outside the restaurant and not sitting among the hotelguests.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed three nights during a buisness trip to Paris. Considering the price for the room was expecting a vastly luxurious experience. But on arrival it was no better than a motel 6. Not sure whether Marriott owns the hotel or is a franchisee hotel (since on the door it had a sticker that says Hotel Valmy). First of all, the bed was was mad-up but there were hairs on them. So had to request a fresh set of sheets. The rooms are small and the internet is quite expensive (about $32 a day). The bathroom room looks run-down with corrosion on the shower door. Also there was some black substance over the door next to the shower and it looked like mold (I know what mold looks like). The hotel is located in La Defence, which is a business district and is practically empty after 8 PM. Also most of the restaurants in the area are closed by 8PM. So will have to find alternative arrangement to eat dinner after 8 PM.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fototraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I picked this hotel up via a Priceline NYOP bid. Initially when I saw that I was 'way out' in La Defense I was a little bit disappointed but after seeing how well the hotel was reviewed I kept an open mind. As it happens, I needn't have worried at all about the location. The hotel is five minutes walk from the La Defense Metro/RER/SNCF station. From there it is ten minutes by RER and twenty by Metro to Chatalet. I tended to prefer the metro.

If you arrive from the metro take exit A (Dome) then walk to the other side of the Arch. Toy will clearly see the hotel. The entrance is a little bit confusing at first if you approach it on foot. Rather than being where you initially think it is - this turns out to be an entrance with/without a security guard that you tend to use for the rest of your stay - you have to walk down two sets of stairs before you see it.

On entering the hotel you immediately get an impression of how classy the places is. Marble floors and Louis XIV furniture set the scene. Whilst officially listed as 4*, this place is nicer than most of the 5* hotels I have stayed in throughout Europe.

Check in was smooth and our welcome friendly. Our room on the 8th floor was not particularly large, this is usual in Paris. That said, it was both an adequate size for our stay and very well furnished and equipped. They have just upgraded their TV service. The pay per view movies are no more but you have a selection of 90 TV channels about 25% of which are in English. In addition to the regular options such as CNN and BBC World you can, amongst other options, choose from all UK domestic stations and a couple of free movie channels.

If I have one complaint, and I must stress it is a minor one, it is the lack of information re the ice machine. An ice bucket is helpfully supplied. The room guide advises you to call room service to have it filled. I chose instead to take it down to the bar for filling. It was only on my last night there that the barman said "Didn't you know that there is an ice machine on the 9th floor?" Not a big problem but it would have helped if this information had been in the room guide.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brianc_li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I stayed twice last year at Renaissance Hotel La Defense for business/pleasure. Hotel and staff are very nice, expected quality from Marriott. Because of the location, mostly are business travelers, so really enjoy the quietness compare to hotels around tourist locations. Even though this is in La Defense, it is next to a large indoor shopping mall with supermarket, and very convenient with Metro and train lines. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank consky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stayed for Valentine's weekend, 2 nts. Clean hotel, pleasant room, nice location though the entrance is lower than the walking area so if you're coming from the train it's a pain with luggage. Price was reasonable, next to the La Defense Arch and mall area so nice area and all but...and a huge but....this hotel was so incredibly hot inside we couldn't sleep for more than an hour at a time before we had to lean against the window to cool down. Had to be 85+ degrees in our room. Temp was in 50's outside and they had the heat on high. We tired room A/C, was completely useless. Blew (hardly) warm air, opened the window but it only opens a 1-2 inches at best and not situated to bring in air. Called management, they said they'd send up tech, never showed. Called again and when a bell-boy did come up he agreed room was stifling. Called back and said they couldn't turn down heat in hotel due to possible freezing of pipes (50's freezing?!?). Finally called again about 11pm and they offered to move rooms for us. Didn't show up for 1/2 hr, so sat out in the hallway (as they told us to do) until almost midnight sweating (whole place was 80+ degrees) offered same floor room that was slightly larger which helped with air circulation but still super hot. Wind helped a little more on that side of building with window open. Told them to have the manager call us in the morning….they never did. Overall....this hotel stay was the worst part of our trip. Wouldn't recommend this place unless you are a reptile or 80+ yrs old from Florida. :) Seriously, much better out there. Sofitel or Accor Hotels are great in Paris and where we'll stay next time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwisskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The Renaissance was nice enough but doesn't measure up to the brand's hotels in the US. Staff were helpful; concierge steered us wrong on some expensive tickets; room was nice enough though we did have some mold on the tile in the bathroom (as others mention). One other gripe--the Club Lounge was closed for 4 days in a row so we missed out on the complimentary drinks in the evening.

We stayed over New Year's holiday and this hotel is quiet and way away from the Paris night life. There were a total of 8 people in the hotel bar at midnight on NY Eve which was a nice refuge if you've been crushed in the million people on the Champs Elysees. So if you're looking for a decent value, quiet atmosphere, with accessibility by train to most of Paris in 10-15 minutes, this is the place to stay. The Arc de Triumph, Louvre and other destinations are on the same line as the hotel; other destinations require just one Metro subway line change so getting around is pretty simple.

The Mall that's 2 minutes walk is a nice bonus but we didn't eat at the restaurants there--we always took the Metro into town for meals. The hotel has a nice breakfast buffet and the coffee machine in the Club Lounge makes a great cappuccino. There's direct train to Versailles from the Grande Arch station and that was a great day-trip from this hotel. If you're coming to this hotel from the airport, take the RER-B (super subway) to the RER-A and you'll have an express ride for about $10.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickNStl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Defense hotels
0.3 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
1,635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
1,737 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Sofitel Paris La Defense
#2 of 41 in La Defense
1,680 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
1 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#8 of 41 in La Defense
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel

Address: 60 Jardins de Valmy, 92918, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#5 Business Hotel in La Defense
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
Price Range: $154 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully renovated in 2016 Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense is in the heart of dynamic La Defense district of Paris, France. Just next to the Grande Arche de La Defense this Paris hotel is just a few minutes from the capital's famous attractions: only 1 train stop from the Champs-Elysees. Guests can walk from the Renaissance Paris Hotel La Defense to the large shopping center "les 4 Temps" open everyday. Whether you come by train, metro or taxi from Paris airports, access to the hotel is easy and for those coming by car there is a private and supervised hotel car park. This upscale hotel provides spacious revamped bedrooms with Marriott bedding, air conditioning, Internet access, premium TV channels, and in-room safe. For successful conferences and events there are 15 meeting rooms with natural daylight and broadband internet. Hotel guests have free access to the fitness gym. Guests can enjoy French specialties in the new modern La Brasserie, Restaurant & Bar. From breakfast until late cocktails, the place is ideal for a vibrant moment in a typical Parisian atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Paris
Paris Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing