We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking system at this hotel leaves a lot to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in La Defense
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Booking system at this hotel leaves a lot to be desired”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked the Prestige Suite at this hotel via agent Prestigia.com, received confirmation, they took the deposit and all looked good for a few days in Paris in September. Had an email from the hotel next day saying they had in fact double booked this suite and after my booking the availability of the suite was left open. They had booked it out to another customer after my booking, but it was my booking that got cancelled.No apology from hotel, I was offered a lesser suite but was put off by lack of contrition by the hotel. l am sure it's a nice hotel, looks great, just be careful of the booking system and get your agent to double check everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    514
    123
    30
    21
See reviews for
262
677
99
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant 5 star hotel for a reasonable price. Rooms are beautiful and staff are very friendly. Close to Paris, just a short metro ride away which is very easy. We stayed for 3 nights and would definitely recommend for anyone on a short city break.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We shared a couples break together and managed to book what we thought was a great deal through Lastminute. Arrival to the hotel from Gare Du Nord was fine by taxi but we were somewhat bemused by the underground tunnels. The hotel staff were very welcoming at the desk and our room was pleasant and comfortable. The evening bar service was courteous and food arrived quickly after order but the area lacked ambience. Breakfast the following morning was varied but as we came towards the end of service a lot of the buffet platters were empty and there was no offer to fetch us anything we might want. Drinks in the bar were extremely expensive with 2 gin and tonics and two soft drinks costing 60euros! No nibbles offered at the bar which I would expect with a 5* and those sorts of prices. We took drinks to our room on sat evening and the dirty glasses were left by the cleaner outside our room, still there when we left on the Monday. Turndown of beds meant nothing on first evening, a single chocolate for one of us on the 2nd evening and on the third evening one each. For the prices charged it is the attention to the little details that makes it more of an experience and a 5* feel. On this occasion we did not experience and would not look to book a Sofitel hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is not in the center of Paris. It is a short Metro ride outside, and in the heart of La Defense, and only about 100 meters away from the Metro. Its location probably accounted for the excellent rate we got for 4 nights. In August it was an Oasis of Calm. The staff were always ready to assist - everything, no matter how odd the request, was never a problem for them. They clearly believe that helping their guests is important. Our room was spotless enough to impress my wife. It was also large enough to house a roll-away bed. The hotel is probably used to catering to business guests given its location but they clearly value vacationing guests too. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffjGHWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Choose this hotel as we had stayed in a Sofitel in Paris before and the 3 for 2 nights seemed good value.
Excellent service and we had a lovely time.Shame the valet car parking was so expensive - anyway Froome won the TDF so never mind.
Hope to be back in 2014!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcoast57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Even though outside central Paris this hotel turned to be very close to everything using the metro with a station right by the hotel. Rooms are large by Paris standards and are nice and comfortable. we thought that the bed was too soft which may be our personal preference. Breakfast is decent - not more. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Overall - great deal and pleasant experience but compare to other Sofitel's we've been to - not a 5 stars one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yechiel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,728 reviews
Pullman Paris La Defense
#3 of 41 in La Defense
1,458 reviews
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Paris La Defense
#6 of 41 in La Defense
877 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#217 of 1,801 in Paris
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Paris La Defense

Property: Sofitel Paris La Defense
Address: 34 cours Michelet, 92060, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Defense
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
#1 Green Hotel in La Defense
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#3 Business Hotel in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Paris La Defense 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Paris as never before through a marvelous mix of modern art, vibrant business, and exciting tourism. Nestled among soaring skyscrapers, Sofitel Paris La Defense offers inimitable French style and five-star luxury with a distinctly 21st century slant. Modern design, luscious shades of browns and reds, and an inviting atmosphere mean a refined Parisian adventure infused with the contemporary energy of la Defense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris La Defense Hotel La Defense
Accor Paris La Defense
Paris Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing