We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxuary hotel and excellent service with a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in La Defense
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Luxuary hotel and excellent service with a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Prior to a medical conference at Paris Marriott Rive Gauche Hotel & Conference Center, My wife and I had a 3-night stay at Sofitel Paris La Défense between May 5-8, 2011. I was too busy back home but finally find time to write this positive review to share our experience.

Locations and Traffic Information:
Sofitel Paris La Défense is located near the line 1 metro station Esplanade at outskirts of La Défense on the border of Courbevoie and Puteaux. Even though it is in the zone 3 of Metro system of Paris, you may still try zone 1-2 day pass in and out of central Paris, which we did without trouble. Between Esplanade and Grand arche, a 12-minute above-ground free-from-car-traffic walk, you can enjoy magnificent skyline with fresh clean air. Near the Grande Arche, there is the largest shopping mall of Paris, Les Quatre Temps. You can take SNCF train at La Défense Grande Arche train station and reach Versailles Rive Droite station in 24 minutes.

Hotel and guest room:
The interior decoration and design are contemporary. The room is excellent and equipped with hdmi connection for your personal entertainment or notebook connection. Bathtub and shower area are separated, which is a must for a 5-star hotel.

Restaurant:
The small yet delicate buffet breakfast with daily changing menu is pleasant to start each day.

Service:
There is complimentary bottled water. High speed internet, a rare complimentary service for 5-star hotel, is FREE. You are greeted each day by pastry and cocktail near the front desk, which make your stay.

I booked this hotel via Otel.com (look for Big Sale in Special Offers) with excellent pricing. My wife and I would definitively recommend Sofitel La Defense as top choice of 5-star hotels in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cyshiau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    491
    118
    30
    21
See reviews for
261
659
97
382
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frimley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed at the Sofitel last week on business. The location is well-placed if you are working in La Defence, as I was.

The overall experience was excellent, the staff were extremely helpful and courteous and spoke very good English. They very kindly even upgraded my room without me asking, which was an added bonus.

The room was very well equipped to a high standard. The Bose sound dock was a great treat to have in the room. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was an excellent coffee maker (Nespresso) in the room - which I ran out of time to use.

The bathroom was very nice, with high-quality toiletries from Hermes. My only negative point was that the cord for the hair dryer was too short and was hard-wired into a drawer under the sink. However, that is a minor point.

I am going back to Paris next week and am about to book into the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

I always stay here when working in La Defense, my office is only 75 meters away. Let's face it La Defense is boring but it's easy to get somewhere interesting via the metro or train if you have some spare time.
I always find the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and comfortable.
I look forward to the cold meat and cheese selection at breakfast time, the hot stuff is in a bay marie with a lid so everything gets steamed, which is mostly not good.
I never eat dinner at the Sofitel, the menu is miserable, especially on weekends. I just go for a nice walk across the bridge and eat somewhere like Le Village au De Neuilly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Great location, well equipped. The staff is very friendly. Close to shopping and metro station. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yohana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed from 18 Feb to 22 Feb 2012. The hotel has a great location within a 5 minute walk to the Esplanade de la Defense station on line 1 Metro. This line gets you to Arc de Triomphe in 5 minutes and the Louvre in 15. It is about 15 minutes walk from the large shopping centre in La Defense and the setting amongst the sky scrapers on the one side and overlooking the main road leading up to the Arc de Triomphe on the other side is magnificent. You can even see the Eiffel Tower and when it is lit up at night it is really great.

The Hotel it self is very well appointed and comfortable. The location is quiet and the bed is superb. The shower was great and the Hermes cosmetics were good. Needless to say that we found it spotlessly clean.

The best aspect of the hotel are the friendly and very helpful staff. A special thank you to Benjamin on reception who went out of his way to make our stay comfortable and gave us great practical advise as this was our first time in Paris. Our broken French was no problem as all the staff spoke very good English.

The breakfast and drinks are a bit expensive, but really with the ease of access to La Defense, Neuilly-sur-Seine or indeed the main city, there is no reason to have food and drink in the hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocWhoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saffron walden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed between Thursday 16th and Sunday 19th Feb 2012 and can report a truly lovely stay. Easy access (200metres) from Esplanade de la defense on metro line no1. Aprox 40mins from Gare Du Nord. The staff are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble. The attention to detail is 100% in every respect. Do not expect this to be a cheap deal...it is high end, high quality and perfect in every respect. I am sure there are cheaper beds in Paris but this is just right.....and comfy like you cannot imagine!!
The staff recommended a meal at Les Ombres restaurant.....fantastic....romantic on another level!
The staff recommended a dinner cruise with La Marina at the quay in front of La Museum D'Orsay...again fantastic...I canot recoment this enough...but go at night and enjoy the lights.
The centre of Paris remains truly romantic and feels a very safe place for travellers.
Took a trip to Montmatre/ Sacre Coeur....would not recommend this unless you enjoy being continually harassed by men pressurizing you into buying rubbish bangles, watches and other worthless imitation goods. I gained the impression that these men were perhaps from Africa or of African descent....they made their presence felt and were intimidating and persistent. Very little police presence in Sacre Couer, unlike the centre of Paris...perhaps this influences the hawkers choice of venue!
Hotel de la defense....bravo!

Room Tip: I informed the hotel that it was my wife's 40th birthday...they upgraded our room and we enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lister55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Pullman Paris La Defense
#4 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Paris La Defense
#6 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#218 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Paris La Defense

Property: Sofitel Paris La Defense
Address: 34 cours Michelet, 92060, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Defense
#1 Family Hotel in La Defense
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#3 Business Hotel in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Paris La Defense 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Paris as never before through a marvelous mix of modern art, vibrant business, and exciting tourism. Nestled among soaring skyscrapers, Sofitel Paris La Defense offers inimitable French style and five-star luxury with a distinctly 21st century slant. Modern design, luscious shades of browns and reds, and an inviting atmosphere mean a refined Parisian adventure infused with the contemporary energy of la Defense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Jetsetter, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris La Defense Hotel La Defense
Accor Paris La Defense
Paris Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing