We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“In defence of La Defense” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Paris La Defense

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in La Defense
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“In defence of La Defense”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We've done it again, an autumn offer in The Sofitel, La defense. This four night package included Eurostar, upgrade, breakfasts, welcome drinks, a welcome gift and metro tickets. we have done this three times previously so the package also included being remembered by the staff and welcomed with huge smiles and attention to every detail. We got an extra upgrade,which included a bath in the bathroom. Asking for bacon freshly prepared was no trouble to the waiters, everyone was most helpful from reception to restaurant staff, to room staff everyone was welcoming and attentive. We spent our days in the centre of Paris which really is a very easy journey on the Metro we went to antique markets at Bastille and Clignancourt as well as museums and The Pompidou centre. We came back to our luxury bedroom and undisturbed nights sleep. We had a very nice time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnMealyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    446
    105
    29
    18
See reviews for
235
620
85
342
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Business hotel in a location that is close enough(on the yellow line) to most Parisian attractions but far enough to enjoy a quiet evening after a busy day. We were upgraded to a superior room, which we were told was bigger and with a better bathroom. i did not see the 'other room' so cannot comment on comparisons. Check in was fuss free and the lovely receptionist acquainted us with our designated room. What she omitted to mention is that there is an elevator to the metro station located within the hotel. We unfortunately only found this out on check-out. The room was spacious, beds comfortable and air conditioner was perfectly acceptable. Yes, i found the water pooling into an open area in the shower strange, but it was not a major concern. Breakfast was v.good. Overall a v.good experience. I would stay here again. Please not that this hotel requires both a separate train and metro ticket to be reached from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leiyah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I just spent one week with my brothers and sisters. We had a great time. People were extremely nice. Location was excellent. Rooms were cozy. Prices were reasonable. Food was superb. Only complain is that air conditioning was a little bit too noisy at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yeswhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Hotel itself is fine, as well as the location closer to metro #1 station was also very useful
to go anywhere via metro, and the package with free parking for car to approach this hotel is also nice to us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

One hesitates to select Sofitel la Defense due to its location, i.e. not in Paris intra-muros. I went there after growing tired of "charming" but otherwise flawed hotels in the city, and decided to at least be within walking distance to my company's office. The neighborhood, while not much fun in itself, is conveniently served by Paris' main East-West subway line.

The hotel lies in a former office building, converted a few years ago. The feel of the place is all about business. Decoration is subdued but on the classy side, using good quality materials, obviously well maintained.

The rooms are large by Paris standards, modern and well-equiped. Flat screen TVs, iPod docks, Nespresso machines, efficient and quiet air-conditioning, and a very comfortable king-size bed. Good bathroom and shower too, with constant and abundant hot water. Sound-proofing is overall OK although I could sometimes hear noises from the next room. I was a bit less satisfied with the sluggish WiFi access.

Top marks for the level of service, friendly, professional and efficient. Smooth check-in and check-out. I did not try the restaurant but had room service a couple of times: the food was excellent and delivered promptly.

Access to the hotel by car or taxi is fast if the driver knows the way, otherwise the tunnels in La Defense can be a bit confusing. It would be advisable for guests to print the access map, just in case.

All-in-all, a very solid option for any business traveller with meetings in the area. After this first experience, I will certainly stick with for now.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vwhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Lovely hotel, but it ain't a five star. It's the little things that tell you.

We got there and we were told that we were being upgraded to a better room. Yes, the room was lovely and our very pleasant receptionist walked us up to our room and showed us some of the special features. There's a lovely coffee machine and really nice robes too with lots of big fluffy towels. The beds are huge and really comfortable. We were given a complimentary drink from the bar and the room has a well stocked mini bar too. We were also given complimentary passes for the Metro, which is just outside the door. You hear about free WiFi in hotels but when it actually works its a real pleasure.

So, what makes it a four star and not a five? The little things. The restaurant is very expensive and for that price you expect excellent food. I had the 'rare' beef which was well over done. In the room the shower door needed to be fixed, water ran everywhere after a shower. Just as well we had all those fluffy towels. The extractor fan badly needed to be vacuumed. A bulb or two needed replacing too. And how many people steal the iron from five star hotels? Is there really need to tie them to the ironing board?

There's nothing really to do at La Defense in the evenings so that meant the rooms were nice and quiet. One last thing, this hotel is great for shoppers!

Room Tip: Be nice to the staff and smile. The staff are lovely here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSprx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Very smart, modern hotel. Excellent first impression. Staff very welcoming and professional. The room was large, with a decent sized, clean and spaceous bathroom. My key initially wouldn't work, but the staff sorted the issue straight away.
The food was expensive, but was really good. Would stay here again for business, but not for a sightseeing trip.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank traveller77_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Defense hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#1 of 17 in Courbevoie
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#3 of 42 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#6 of 42 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#7 of 42 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Paris La Defense

Property: Sofitel Paris La Defense
Address: Centre D Affaires Michelet 34 cours Michelet Puteaux, 92060, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
#1 Family Hotel in La Defense
#1 Green Hotel in La Defense
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#3 Business Hotel in La Defense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Paris La Defense 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Paris as never before through a marvelous mix of modern art, vibrant business, and exciting tourism. Nestled among soaring skyscrapers, Sofitel Paris La Defense offers inimitable French style and five-star luxury with a distinctly 21st century slant. Modern design, luscious shades of browns and reds, and an inviting atmosphere mean a refined Parisian adventure infused with the contemporary energy of la Defense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Sofitel Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris La Defense Hotel La Defense
Accor Paris La Defense
Paris Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing