We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place for honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in La Defense
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 27, 2011

In average, La Defense is nice place to stay)) Wonderful bed)) The hotel upgrage our room to superior because of our honeymoon, the difference was small, but it was pleasant to hear)) If you travel by plane call the hotel they will pick you up it worth it. The breakfast overpriced as most of the food in Europe, close to hotel is large mall where you can eat something as regular person not like tourist. From the dark side of the hotel we did not have a bath tube in room and a second bathrobe and sleepers were constantly disaperaring from bathroom and you have to ask for it if you want it. The water was going all around the bathroom from the shower place, if you will go there not along)) or have to put towel on the floor to separate shower area ;-)

Room Tip: get superior room it cost a little extra, but nice to have it))
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vladimirnilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,692 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights having got a great deal.My only worry was how far away from the centre of Paris it was but was suprised it only being 15 mins metro ride away.Service was very good,breakfast great the room was very clean could not fault a thing.Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howseey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The pros- Hotel is locate next to metro so very easy to travel into central Paris. The beds very comfortable.

The cons-I have been to many top 5 class hotels over the years in in different parts of the world but this is not one of them! should be a 4 star. I have never encountered such extortionate prices in all my life. Even for a business area this hotel food prices are way over the top. They hold you to ransom as there is hardly any restaurants in the area, the nearest sweet shop was located in the metro station. The cost of a tin of coke or Sprite was 6.20, packet of M&M's 12 euros and continental breakfast 26 euros. The breakfast is very poor not a lot of choice the only hot food available was scrambled eggs and sausages, when i asked for some bacon i was charged 5 euros for the 2 slices! The helpings where so small it was ridiculous!

The area is DEAD at the weekends as it is in the business district, so you have to take a taxi or metro to go into town.

The service was mediocre nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladydee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Fabulous hotel in a great location right next to the metro. I stayed in the classic rooms and the newly modernised ones which are more expensive. I found the older classic rooms to be nicer and more welcoming. The renovated rooms will appeal to you if you like the modern minimalist look. Also the classic rooms have a bathtub which the renovated rooms don't have.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Col1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Sofitel is a great 5 star hotel, with big rooms, incredible beds and great breakfast buffet. It´s situated in La Defense, a bussiness district, about 15 minuts from Eiffel Tower, Arc of Triumph, Louvre, etc. If you have no problemas riding the metro to reach those places, it shouldn´t matter, since there´s a station right in front the hotel. If you prefer taxis, it´s better not to stay there, because the taxis takes too long to get there and are really expensive. There also little cafes and bussiness restaurants around, but they´re open only during the week. Going to the pharmacy, market ou cafe can be difficult in this Sofitel is a great 5 star hotel, with big rooms, incredible beds and great breakfast buffet. It´s situated in La Defense, a bussiness district, about 15 minuts from Eiffel Tower, Arc of Triumph, Louvre, etc. If you have no problemas riding the metro to reach those places, it shouldn´t matter, since there´s a station right in front the hotel. If you prefer taxis, it´s better not to stay there, because the taxis takes too long to get there and are really expensive. There also little cafes and bussiness restaurants around, but they´re open only during the week. Going to the pharmacy, market ou cafe can be difficult in this neighborhood since they are far, closed or in a few numbers. The price is excelent for a 5 star. Spend less, get most confort and use the metro and you should be fine!

Room Tip: If you need a third bed, don´t worry, the room is big enough and you shouldn´t be unconfortble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I chose the Sofitel La Defense as it is literally right next to the office I had a meeting at the next morning and it was, quite simply, a great choice.

If you arrive in Paris by Eurostar, you can get to the Sofitel for just €1.70 by RER and Metro, although it includes a few changes to make sure you don't breach the conditions of your ticket (the Esplanade Metro station is fine, the main La Defense RER station costs more...). Not a problem for a Londoner though. However, arriving at the Metro station in the dark is a bit of a nightmare as the signs aren't very good, and all the buildings look pretty much the same in the dark...! Although I did find it without any real problems.

The rooms are nice, my bed was very comfy, the shower's great, and they have really nice Hermes toiletries. What more could you want? Definitely ticked all the boxes for me. There were also little things that make a difference on a business trip, like the stereo with an iPod dock, free wifi, extra bits and bobs in the bathroom (cotton wool pads, nail files...) and the hairdryer was even effective, which is pretty rare in a hotel!

On the downside, I noticed that breakfast was a somewhat staggering €26! Even if I can claim on expenses, this seemed rather ludicrous, so I popped to the coffee shop round the corner instead where a coffee and a croissant is about a tenth of the price...

I'll definitely be back here again if I have morning meetings at La Defense, and would quite happily stay here for leisure too, now I know where to get breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coolcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hotel is in the modern and quite swanky business district, with fabulous views from the piazza outside of the hotel towards the Arc de Triumphe and Eiffel Tower. We stayed from Friday to Sunday so got a good deal, I guess this area would be swarming with business travellers during the week. The hotel is just opposite the La Defense esplanade tube, don't get confused with the main La Defense stop which is a 10-15 minute walk. From here it was only a short underground ride to the centre of Paris, trains were quick and efficient and ok even late at night. The hotel itself is modern and comfortable, our standard room on the 8th floor was small but good, kingsize bed, all mod cons, good shower, coffee facilities etc. No ironing board in room but one was delivered within 10 minutes of asking which we kept for the weekend. We had room-only so I can't comment on the breakfast but i did notice it was expensive. We felt it was much nicer to go to a cafe in the centre anyway. The bar area was small but nice, we had two cocktails one evening but at almost £15 each we decided not to hang around! Staff were friendly and helpful, and overall if you want a decent base for a weekend this was a good value, great location and comfortable option. At least 1/2 the price of 5* alternatives closer to the sights. if you don't fancy getting the train home late a night a taxi from the centre cost us €21 euros.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMolly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Defense hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,998 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
1,669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#8 of 41 in La Defense
956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Paris La Defense

Address: 33 Voie des Sculpteurs, 92060, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Defense
#1 Green Hotel in La Defense
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Defense
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Defense
#3 Business Hotel in La Defense
Price Range: $162 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Paris La Defense 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Paris as never before through a marvelous mix of modern art, vibrant business, and exciting tourism. Nestled among soaring skyscrapers, Sofitel Paris La Defense offers inimitable French style and five-star luxury with a distinctly 21st century slant. Modern design, luscious shades of browns and reds, and an inviting atmosphere mean a refined Parisian adventure infused with the contemporary energy of la Defense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Paris La Defense Hotel La Defense
Accor Paris La Defense
Paris Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing