We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Palace

King Palace
Ranked #37 of 155 Restaurants in Orpington
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Right on the corner by the War Memorial
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I havent been here for 6 years but decided to treat the wife on friday night.
Food was excellent as usual. The Peking duck filled me up as ever.
We know the management quite well so always have good service.
I think this is the best chinese around.
65 pound for two of us with drinks.
Bargain.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank craigbKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    11
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orpington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese in Kent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have eaten here or had take aways regularly over the last 15 years. The food has been consistently of a high standard . Peter ( the owner) is always very friendly which makes for a very relaxed and enjoyable night out.From time to time have tried Xian , but prefer coming back to King Palace

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denhilbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't wait until next time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have been using the Palace for almost a decade and have been impressed with it since we moved into the area. We have only eaten in the restaurant a handful of times but we use it weekly for takeaways so can at least tell others what it is like. I used to work near an amazing Chinese in Baker Street, London and still think that Chows in Westerham is one of the best but the King Palace forms the holy Chinese Trinity; it's superb food.
I can honestly say that we have not had a dish that hasn't been 10/10; which considering that staff and chefs tend to govern quality of food in any restaurant, means either there is one tired bugger in the kitchen or ALL of the cooks are top notch. Well done.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have eaten here on numerous occasions, sometimes just with The Missus, and sometimes as prt of a large party. I have never had a poor experience. Quality and service are consistently good and prices are very reasonable. Yes, I've been to Xian and had a wonderful (if expensive) meal ... but for a guaranteed good spread and excellent service, King Palace ticks all the boxes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DMTudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It's a nice Chinese but no Xian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Ive eaten here a few times, and it's a good Chinese. The set lunch was good value and tasty, but we only ate here as we couldn't get into our first choice Xian, but all round its not a bad place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Badshot1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Palace also viewed

Orpington, Greater London
Orpington, Greater London
 
Orpington, Greater London
Orpington, Greater London
 

Been to King Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing