We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family night out”
Review of Desperados

Desperados
Reserve with OpenTable
Desperados is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 156 Restaurants in Orpington
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Mexican, Grill, American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Newly renovated Grill & Cantina in Petts Wood, great variety including Mexican favourites as well as steaks, burgers, ribs, seafood and Salads .
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Family night out”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Rushed service, small portions and owner ogles young 16/18 year old birthday celebrating female parties.
Couldn't believe how quick we were asked to place starter and main menu with speedy delivery.
Such a shame. Complete contrast to year previous on our last visit. had looked forward to our return but was met with despair. Had to apologise to our friends for expectations we had built up.
Expense has also gone up with service and quality depleted.
Won't be going back too soon

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    40
    18
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mexico.ok”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our first time at Desperados and we thought it was ok. Plus points: - Food was good quality, Service was relatively fast considering how busy they were, There was a lively holiday-like atmosphere. Negative points: - 10% Service charge was automatically added to the bill (No choice on size of tip), Expensive food and drinks, The man who seemed to be in charge (manager?) was not very friendly to us but the rest of the staff were ok

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Happy Hour ...”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely food, Nachos to share are just that very large portions, we tend to have chicken & beef as can never choose which topping.
also had sunday lunch their once was very weird.
Happy hour is good value for thie cocktails.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank doonutt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Better Mexicans out there.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went as a group of 4 adults. Staff very polite and friendly. Sangria would taste better from your local supermarket came with just some diced apple mixed with it. Garlic bread is meant to be that, bread. Not 4 thin pancakes which look like they should be served with shredded duck from the chinese! 2 people had salmon and they both said the portion was to small and very dry, no taste to it. Desserts are not homemade. Banoffee was just ice cream with a toffee sauce. Also seems very pricey for what it is. All four of us agreed we wouldn't be going back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Seagullinkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“very pleasant evening”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my first visit. I went with friends who had eaten there before. I was very impressed, what I liked was the tables were laid out well ie not over crowded and they were very clean. The service was very good and friendly, you genuinely felt welcome. The food was first class. Drinks on the house were offered. I enjoy mexican food and was pleasantly surpised to find out how good the restaurant was. Service charge was included in the bill but I have no issue with this . A tip be naughty try the sticky toffee pudding for dessert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desperados also viewed

Orpington, Greater London
London, England
 
Orpington, Greater London
 
Orpington, Greater London
Orpington, Greater London
 

Been to Desperados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing