We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not in a million years !!!!”
Review of Mary Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mary Rose Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Orpington B&B and Inns
Plaistow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not in a million years !!!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

i pulled up outside and phoned my office saying i refused to stay there and that was before i even stepped into the place. scum is all that comes to mind when reviewing this dump. scummy workforce, scummy regulars in the bar, scummy so called hotel, scummy area. i would not trust any organisation that had this so called hotel on their list of places to stay !
words fail me to describe the filth of this place.
do not leave your vehicle anywhere near either
do not stay here ever !

Room Tip: jog on !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    35
    38
    292
See reviews for
77
84
46
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Rotten hotel dirty Smelley old furniture only 1 pillow hairs in the bath and in the draws, bed was tilting backwards old four poster the mattess had spring coming through and was digging into my back, bed had seen better days the curtains were black and smelt nasty the walls needed a good paint,there was kids awake at 5.30am and shouting,sreaming,slamming doors and running up and down the stairs and the manager said she heard them bit said nothing.i would not stay there again and if any one asks what it was like i will tell them not to ever stay there i would prefer to pay extra and stay at a decent hotel with a nice bed to sleep in.nasty 0 out of 10

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tollgate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orpington hotels

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I arrived after a 450 mile journey to be put into room 47 which appeared to be an old training room with a bed in it.

The room was advertised as having tea and coffe making facilities and a television. There was in fact NO tea and coffee making facilities and NO television. There were no curtains only a thin blind. The carpet was dirty and the sheets were dirty - it looked as though somebody had already slept in it. I went to reception to complain and I was told that was all there was 'take it or leave it'. The man refused to give me a refund or to give me contact details of the duty manager. In the end I had to remain in the room sleeping in my clothes because the bed was so filthy.

As a professional driver I have stayed in many establishments - good and bad - but this is by far the worst I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. In fact I would call it an absolute Hovel.

Room Tip: Do not under any circumstances stay here. You would be better to sleep in your vehicle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank des736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The superior bedroom with ensuite bathroom did not live up to expectations. Filthy curtains, room not dusted or vacuumed. No heating and no hot water in the bathroom sink. Shower head with a mind of its own and cubicle could do with a deep clean (as could bedroom). The linen was clean, otherwise we would have walked out. The whole building was grubby. The regulars in the bar were intimidating. Also, the Receptionist was unfriendly and gave the distinct impression that she could not care less about any guests. The sign behind reception says it all - you cannot complain to the management. Worried the car might not be there in the morning with all its wheels.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Whatever you do, do not stay here. I booked for one night as needed a place to stay as attending a party nearby. I stupidly did not read the reviews beforehand just went by the photo's. Our superior double room was filthy. Shower covered in grime and no hot water, dirty walls, dirty cups, springs coming out of the bed. Bar downstairs had a few unsavoury characters in. Whilst sitting outside saw a rat trying to get into the kitchen, and other rats running around. Needless to say I wasn't go to stay for my full english breakfast which I had already paid for. Tried to complain when checking out and asking for my money back, however all fell on deaf ears, they are not interested. Whatever you do, do not stay at this hell hole, it needs to be shut down.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth503904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

There was a gang of drunks, and dealers, hanging about outside (and inside at the bar). Really wish I had read the reviews. Musty, smelly atmosphere. Really dodgy area. I took my family here as we needed a place to stay before heading to airport for our hols. Never ever again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maidyju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

just wanted to say stayed here in october for a weekend while going to brands hatch.did the same last year too,found the hotel cheap and cheerfull not bad iff you think how much it cost. the staff were very freindly too. you get what you pay for,but at least its a bed for the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orpington
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Orpington
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
2.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Chislehurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Swanley Hotel
5.2 mi away
7 Hotel Diner
7 Hotel Diner
#1 of 1 in Halstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Rose Inn

Property: Mary Rose Inn
Address: Mary Rose 36-50 High Street, Orpington BR5 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Orpington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Orpington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mary Rose Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Mary Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary Rose Hotel Orpington
Mary Rose Inn Orpington, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing