We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Located in beautiful setting”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa a Corte

Sunny start to the day. Views from the double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny start to the day. Views from the double bedroom
Casa A Corte on a ridge within the valley with panoramic views House and surrounding estate. When we saw the house from the ridge we knew it was the house for us
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Sunny start to the day. Views from the double bedroom
Casa A Corte on a ridge within the valley with panoramic views
House and surrounding estate. When we saw the house from the ridge we knew it was the house for us
Finnish architect client sketch of house and our barn (used for house storage, outdoor fridge etc)
A lovely Easter morning
Pool with panoramic views
Relaxing in hammock in olive grove by pool
Pool and terrace surrounded by wonderful panoramic views - loungers, outdoor shower
Mr and Mrs
Breakfast in the shade, April 2017. Doors to kitchen and dining rooms
From kitchen and dining room terrace looking east towards pool
Dining table on south terrace
South terrace, perfect for sun worshippers
Evening Aperol spritz time as the sun sets
West terrace, panoramic views
Front lawn
Living room with original features, books and games
Reflections in living room mirror
Dining room, next to kitchen with door onto terrace with views to pool
Kitchen, well stocked with equipment door to kitchen terrace
Spacious airy twin bedroom or double with 2 large double windows with beautiful views
Double bedroom with lovely views from bed and wardrobe
Freddie's twin bedroom with chestnut armoire and dressing table
Millie's twin bedroom with lovely views and chestnut armoire and chest of drawers
Upstairs shower room with sink, bidet, toilet, shower with views to mountains
Car port for 2 cars, essential for keeping the car cool
Panoramic views from car port and front gate looking north
Walk in the olive groves and wild flowers with Casa a Corte just hidden below the ridge
Poppy meadows
wild flowers
Hay meadows
Local horse riders canter up the track
Lavender on west terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gugliano, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sherri B
1 review
“Located in beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We loved our week at Casa a Corte! It was very hot at the beginning of the week but the house was still comfortable. The views are so beautiful and there are so many places to go for nice walks. Our favorite walk was through the woods down the hill from the house. On our walk we discovered the most wild black raspberries I have ever seen, we picked 12 cups one morning! Pool is very large and nice. Recommend you stop by store on way to house as it takes a while to get to the store since you have to drive on narrow winding roads up and down the mountains. The owner had wonderful recommendations for day trips and restaurants!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Thank you for being such wonderful guests and for choosing our house to celebrate your 20 years wedding anniversary & hope you have many more happy years together.
Lovely hearing your stories. We will have to lookout for those lovely berries!! Mushroom & truffle season next month.
I hope you have many happy memories of Tuscany. Best wishes, Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese E
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“Wonderful house with a gourgious view, surrounding and perfect pool!”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were two famillies that stayed for 7 nights and we enjoyed every minute of it! The big swimming pool was perfect for us and our teenagers and the view from the house was stonishing. Only 20 minutes to lovely Lucca.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Dear Therese,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and so nice hearing about the house from other families. Our family have really enjoyed Casa a Corte and so we are delighted to have families from around the world who want to explore Tuscany and their children enjoy the valley, run around in the fresh air and build up happy memories for life.
I have really enjoyed our communications.
Have a lovely summer back home in beautiful Sweden.
Best wishes, Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonno8482...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tuscan Beauty”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just back from our family holiday in the Tuscan hills and already making plans to return next year! We had great sunny weather so the kids spent most of their time in the pool or playing in the wonderful grounds; The perfect place to escape from it all and relax listening to nothing but bird song. The reccommended restaurants were even better than we had hoped for (and we know our food!) with beautifully cooked steaks over olive wood, hand made pastas and pizzas cooked in a wood oven. We loved exploring the local City of Lucca, the most picturesque City that I have ever been to, and the children loved cycling around the walls.

It was a perfect place to stay with the family and we will definitely be back! The views from the property were breathtaking and the house extremely well looked after. Everyone was incredibly helpful from start to finish and we cant wait to return with the whole family next year

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2017
Ciao Frederica,
I am glad you had such a good holiday & enjoyed Lucca so much. Pietrasanta is another gem & Florence is only an hour away & Siena a bit longer.
The house is in a beautiful valley - we are very spoilt. We run the house so it is equipped as a family home, and the terraces cater for those who want both shade & sunshine. We are spoilt for choice with restaurants. Italians know their produce & food, so standards are high and fit all budgets.
We look forward to seeing you all next year and thanks for your booking.
Best wishes, Hugh & Hazel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom K
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful farmhouse with stunning views”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Even more picturesque than in the photos. Perfect location - away from the hustle bustle of towns but close enough to be able to nip into town when needed. All the mod cons you'd ever need including Sky TV and WiFi. A real find - we've already booked again for next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
Many thanks for your generous feed back. We have set up Casa A Corte as a family home with modern technology, unlimited wifi, Sky tv, fully equipped kitchen combined with the natural world, lovely panoramic views around our property, outdoor terraces. Glad you all enjoyed it so much. Best wishes, Hazel & Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabernhar...
1 review
“The perfect hidden gem!”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spend one week in April at Casa A Corte as a family holiday (3 couples).
Casa A Corte is located in the hills in the North of Lucca.
The house is a real beauty in the middle of many olive trees.
We enjoyed sitting outside on one of the three (!) terraces every day:
You can enjoy the sun the whole day and travel from patio to terrace to terrace.
The pool and the garden are in a very good condition.
We loved the well equipped kitchen which we used everyday for cooking family meals. The living room, the dining room and the bedrooms are nicely furnished.
We felt at home from the very first minute.
The owner is very helpful. He knows the area very well and provides you with tips for perfect restaurants / ice-cream / wine tasting.
We will try to come back! We can definitely recommend this house for family gatherings or holidays with friends! Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Dear Marlen,
Thank you so much for writing a review and we're delighted you explored the area, made some good discoveries and enjoyed Casa a Corte on your spare days and in the evenings. We're also delighted you had a wonderful celebration for your father's 60th birthday.
Have a lovely summer. 29C & full sun here for the next 10 days - summer is here!! Best wishes, Hugh & Hazel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Picturesque and tranquil. A true little Tuscan gem.”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is the most beautiful villa I have ever stayed in. Set in the hills of Tuscany, it has everything on offer if you want to just sit and sunbathe for a week! Full of character, with typical Tuscan features outside and in, perfectly balanced with the feeling that you are staying in a cosy, family home. So many terraces to relax on and follow the sun, and enjoy a perfect evening drink watching the sun disappear behind the hills. Friendly locals who come and tend to the pool and gather the olives growing on the trees around you! Almost gives you the feeling that you have moved in.
Tearing yourself away from the villa, there are so many lovely places to drive to. Lucca itself has a huge wall that is gorgeous to cycle around in the early evening, and the small hustle and bustle of the narrow streets you can find plenty of local shops and restuarants to dive into.
About an hour and a half drive will take you to the beautiful, must see, village of Cinque Terre. A day trip that will be well worth the visit.
And the villa manual has plenty of local restaurant recommendations! It was impossible to get through them all, as hard as we tried! Antica Locanda di sesto was a stand out restuarant for us. Welcoming family run place, with the fresh, simple, tasty dishes that really makes you feel like you're in Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Home-ly, welcoming feel to the villa.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Thank you so much, I'm glad your family had such a good stay. The Cinque Terra & Lucca are stunning and are a must for all guests who want to venture from their sun loungers. I am glad you loved Lucca's antique, retro, bric a brac market too.
Each terrace has a special part to play at different times of the day, whether you want to read in the shade or lie out in full sunshine.
Thank you so much for being such a wonderful guest. H&H
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveyG_12...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing farmhouse with beautiful blue pool in the heart of Tuscany”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Thank you so much Hazel & Hugh, you have made our stay at Casa A Corte an absolute joy. We practically used all the information you so very kindly supplied as our itinerary, so many things to do and great restaurants to sample the best pasta in the world. Such simple cooking everywhere as all ingredients are so good/fresh.
The days trips to Lucca / Florence / Pietra Santa / Cinque Terre were all fabulous and lovely ways to spend the day. However we most enjoyed staying in the house and relaxing by the pool. The house is really undersold, a magnificent red farmhouse on three floors. The bedrooms are all very comfortable along side the living area on the mid floor. The kitchen and dining room on the lower floor we excellent for cooking and eating. The kitchen in particular had everything you could possibly need, I'd almost say it better equipped than my kitchen at home! We really enjoying have long breakfasts out on the South terrace with a lovely smell off coffee from the percolator wafting through the house. We used your brilliant BBQ on 4 occasions and collected all fresh ingredients from Ponte Mariano.
As the house has a terrace on all 4 side of the house, you can enjoy the sun at anytime of day and there are always cool shady areas to escape the strong Tuscan sun.
A really relaxing time was had by all, it's a stunning house with everything you need and we will definitely be returning.
Warm Regards
David G

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
As a keen foodie, we're delighted our recommendations were a success. We are spoilt for choice from local osteria's / pizzerias to Michelin* restaurants. Our all time world fav is Antica Locanda and gather you were regular visitors!! May I congratulate your family on all your walks and jogs, especially running up to the old church that had a huge German canon in to stop the US advance along the river in WW11- brilliant views. Thanks again H&H
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing