We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A haven of peace and tranquility”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa a Corte

Sunny start to the day. Views from the double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny start to the day. Views from the double bedroom
Casa A Corte on a ridge within the valley with panoramic views House and surrounding estate. When we saw the house from the ridge we knew it was the house for us
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Sunny start to the day. Views from the double bedroom
Casa A Corte on a ridge within the valley with panoramic views
House and surrounding estate. When we saw the house from the ridge we knew it was the house for us
Finnish architect client sketch of house and our barn (used for house storage, outdoor fridge etc)
A lovely Easter morning
Pool with panoramic views
Relaxing in hammock in olive grove by pool
Pool and terrace surrounded by wonderful panoramic views - loungers, outdoor shower
Mr and Mrs
Breakfast in the shade, April 2017. Doors to kitchen and dining rooms
From kitchen and dining room terrace looking east towards pool
Dining table on south terrace
South terrace, perfect for sun worshippers
Evening Aperol spritz time as the sun sets
West terrace, panoramic views
Front lawn
Living room with original features, books and games
Reflections in living room mirror
Dining room, next to kitchen with door onto terrace with views to pool
Kitchen, well stocked with equipment door to kitchen terrace
Spacious airy twin bedroom or double with 2 large double windows with beautiful views
Double bedroom with lovely views from bed and wardrobe
Freddie's twin bedroom with chestnut armoire and dressing table
Millie's twin bedroom with lovely views and chestnut armoire and chest of drawers
Upstairs shower room with sink, bidet, toilet, shower with views to mountains
Car port for 2 cars, essential for keeping the car cool
Panoramic views from car port and front gate looking north
Walk in the olive groves and wild flowers with Casa a Corte just hidden below the ridge
Poppy meadows
wild flowers
Hay meadows
Local horse riders canter up the track
Lavender on west terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gugliano, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Archie F
1 review
“A haven of peace and tranquility”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Casa a corte is in a beautiful location surrounded by trees and birdsong yet is within easy reach of the very lovely Lucca and the toscana coast . The house is very well maintained with everything you could need . The pool and gardens and terrace are a delight and the welcome from the owners makes you feel like friends not guests . We were a mixed age range from 6 to 67 and we all loved this fantastic property and area .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2016
Dear Maureen, we are so happy you had such a good time and had a lovely get together.
You were perfects guests who really appreciated the Tuscan countryside & Italian lifestyle.
Best wishes, Hugh & Hazel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K
1 review
“A perfectly relaxing holiday in an immaculate property in one of the most beautiful parts of Europe.”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Every aspect of this property has been carefully set out to ensure a comfortable and relaxing holiday. The house is charming, tasteful and well equipped. The pool and gardens are so good that you won't want to leave them to explore Tuscany. When you do however Ponte a Moriano will provide all you need and more and Lucca is a lovely town to explore too. All this is backed up by exceptional advice, help and support from the owners and their agent before and throughout the trip. We took children and a baby - it was perfect for them - plenty of exploring and wildlife etc. I would not recommend the property for a toddler though - a few unprotected drops and unprotected pool.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Andrew & Zoe
Many thanks, Hazel & I were saying how nice it was having more British guests this year, as the children really enjoy an Enid Blyton explore around the garden, looking for wildlife, hide and seek etc. Takes us back to our childhood & our children's.
We set out the house for our requirements and so hope every detail has been planned & thought out for our guests when it's their home.
You've been great guests, thank you, Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
Dear Val & John

Many thanks for your kind words and delighted you all had such a nice time and managed to explore so much. We chose the location as Lucca has so much to offer and the transport system is so good, allowing you to visit so many different things. The restaurants are amazing, offering so many different Italian meals.

Best wishes, Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to come home...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
Dear Maughans,
Thank you so much and delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself and benefitted from the wonderful warm September days. It is so relaxing sitting amongst the olive trees by the swimming pool.
I agree, Lucca is such a lovely city, voted 2nd best place to live in the world - 2015.
Best wishes, Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom K
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“So pleased we stumbled on this gem of a place!”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wow! What a place! Casa a Corte proved to be the ideal place to discover the 'real' Tuscany. Hugh's tips and advice were spot on and we really felt like we were getting a very special, unique glimpse of Italy as a result.

We're so glad we stumbled on this gem of a place! The house itself is lovely and very tastefully done up; the garden + surroundings are idyllic (great pool and selection of terraces!); and Lucca is the most beautiful Italian city (cycling around the medieval walls is a must-do activity) If you're the type of person who likes to enjoy a relaxing day by the pool with a few country walks thrown in then this place is for you! I can honestly say I haven’t slept better than during my time at Casa a Corte.

Hugh, the owner, couldn’t be more helpful either. There’s tonnes of information in their house book but he also took the time to personally recommend a few options which was much appreciated! The area is a foodie’s paradise with so many really impressive options – ranging from Michelin Starred to charming local Osterias and everything in between!

Thoroughly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Remote & Tranquil
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2015
Thank you so much. We're delighted you had such a relaxing holiday after all your busy travels but still made time to explore all the wonderful cities, towns and villages.
I told you there were so many wonderful days out!! Great you had such a good time.

Best, Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Evergreen, Colorado
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2014
Hi Marlis & Matt,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for being such a nice person to discuss your holiday plans over the last year. It means a lot to us that you all had such a great time and will have happy memories & laughs for many years. We're delighted that you liked all the recommendations.
Many thanks, once again, Hugh & Hazel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing