We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Views to die for, location - spot on!”

Review of Rustico Te Kawa

Private pool with stunning views!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private pool with stunning views!
Te Kawa Garden and pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Private pool with stunning views!
Te Kawa
Garden and pool
Dine on the terrace and take in the views.....
Overlooking the property and garden
Terrace and view
Garden
Garden and stunning views
Aerial view
Well equipped kitchen diner
Kitchen diner leading to garden
Lounge
Living area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Shower room
Market town of Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
Hill top town of Barga
Eat out in one of the many piazzas of Barga
Enjoy the many local festas held during the summer season
Visit the 'Wind Caves' - La Grotta del Vento
Monte Forato - part of the Apuane Alps
Visit the beautiful walled city of Lucca
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fosciandora, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ABay4d
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Views to die for, location - spot on!”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We parked at the bottom car park below the house, made our way up the hill (not that steep or difficult, by the way) and walked straight into paradise. The path to the house is surrounded by lavender and rosemary so the first thing that hits you is the smell. It is out of this world. The photos of the house do not do the place justice at all - it's rustic for sure but more charming than I thought it might be and more modern than what I was expecting. We then went to the pool and just thought WOW! You can't capture just how beautiful the place is in a picture, you just can't. Within a few minutes of looking at those views we were decided that we just had to come back again one day and already started planning our next visit. We were here end of June and beginning of July. I was worried the pool (unheated) maybe too cold to swim in but it was glorious! We also had daily visits from the swallows who would dip in and out of the water. Just beautiful.

The area: Castelnuovo was a 10 minute drive away. It was OK and a good place to sample local food in the shops, but the old town of Barga (about 15-20 min drive away) was just amazing! Fabulous Italian atmosphere and so romantic! Top tip - choose outside seats in the Restaurant Scacciaguai. The food here was just as expensive as in other spots in town and the quality was out of this world! Call ahead or visit to reserve. The service also, absolutely wonderful and complimentary glasses of prosecco!

Lucca was very very touristy. It was nice to picnic on the wall but unfortunately the place was overrun with tour groups and that makes the place lose its charm. We definitely made the right choice to stay in Garfagnana!

Back to the house and on a more practical note, everything was clean and lovely but there were a few things that could have made a difference to our stay but the place still gets 5 stars from me because these are small things. From other reviews I assumed that there would be plenty of things at the house to see us through our stay. I think you basically get what other guests leave behind as we only had a few spare bin liners and there was no washing up liquid or laundry powder, so we had to make another trip to the supermarket. Also had to buy wine glasses as there were only 2 tiny glasses there (but that was cheap and easy enough in Italy). The guide as well - slightly out of date. We spent half a day looking for places to kayak on the nearby lakes. Garfagnana Adventures, the recommended agency, had shut down (the owner was away on holiday) and the locals said you couldn't hire kayaks anywhere on the lakes - so a little bit frustrating.

Basically, the lesson here is to plan/arrange activities before you go and plan for a little bit of time shopping for practical things in the supermarket. Our oven door to the property broke and the owner sorted it all out straight away! Very easy to get hold of via email and response was excellent - pretty much immediate. Top tip for when you stay - ask the owner when the pool maintenance guy and cleaner is due. The pool guy came unannounced very early one morning and gave me the fright of my life. But again - all small and insignificant in the grand scheme of things, hence the 5 big shiny stars! I would recommend this to anyone and everyone - families and couples. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tristan M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic secluded villa with the best views in Northern Tuscany.”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were a couple who stayed in the villa for the first 2 weeks of September.

Best bits:
1. Some of the best views you will see from a villa in Tuscany.
2. Numerous balconies/sitting areas to enjoy the outdoors and the views.
3. Large pool with panoramic views.
4. Well equipped villa with everything you can think of for cooking etc... You don't need to bring anything. Books, games, spices etc...are all there.
5. Complete seclusion. Nobody overlooking you, except a building high up in the hills.
6. Good, efficient service from the property management team for anything you need.
7. Villa has great character, keeping it's old barn charm.
8. Close to Barga, which is a fantastic, scenic old town, day and night with great restaurants and bars.
9. Very close to the mountains which you can cross to get to the beaches within the hour.

Other:

1. Very secluded and fairly wild, so be prepared for hearing the local wildlife in the evening. We enjoyed this however!
2. The approach in the car is very steep going up tight roads, but fine after the first attempt, and worth it for the villa at the end of it.
3. Steep walk up to the villa, but again, worth the effort
4. As it is fairly wild and rustic, it's not great for young kids and the elderly.

Everyone should spend at least 1 week here in their lives :-).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views across to the mountains
Liked least: Unseasonable weather !
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David B
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing mountain escape”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 4 children (aged between 7 and 14) had the most amazing time in this well equipped hillside cottage. The views are stunning, especially from the pool. We couldn't bring ourselves to leave the cottage; we spent most of our trip relaxing poolside whilst watching eagles and swifts soaring overhead.
Location is good with some good restaurants nearby and plenty of day trips within an hours drive. We visited Lucca, Pisa, and Barga. This region is hilly and the cottage is set high above the valley, which was a struggle the first time we approached the cottage for our people carrier packed with luggage. Don’t let this put you off. Its worth the effort and less of an issue when you are familiar with the approach.
This is an amazing cottage in the most perfect setting, I can only assume the lack of reviews is an attempt to keep it a secret for the fortunate few who have had the pleasure of visiting this cottage.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Te Kawa!! Everyone says it is the most wonderful retreat, and we get lots of repeat bookings, and we also can't understand the lack of reviews, since the guest book is full of praise!
We hope to be able to accommodate you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Reviewed August 3, 2012 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views across the valley
Liked least: We had a few small scorpions in the downstairs bedroom and bathrooms
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing