We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great local knowledge”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa del Fiume

Casa del Fiume - an Artist's home in Abruzzo.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa del Fiume - an Artist's home in Abruzzo.
Casa del Fiume - An Artist's Award Winning riverside mountain retreat in Abruzzo. Casa del Fiume - a beautiful Majella mountain retreat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Casa del Fiume - an Artist's home in Abruzzo.
Casa del Fiume - An Artist's Award Winning riverside mountain retreat in Abruzzo.
Casa del Fiume - a beautiful Majella mountain retreat.
Fast flowing Aventino river that borders the garden.
View of the large terrace with BBQ and dining area.
Kitchen with view to terrace outside.
Kitchen with marble worktop and ceramic butlers sink.
Dining room with large table and wood burning stove.
Lounge with L-shaped sofa and wood-burning stove.
Main double bedroom.
Twin bedroom with double aspect views of garden.
Single bedroom with antique iron bed.
Shower room with sink and WC.
Fresh organic figs, just picked from our trees.
Part of the 5 acre garden showing walnut groves leading to the Aventino river.
A pit barbeque is next to the riverside dining area.
Abruzzo Rafting passing by on the Aventino river.
Our favourite deserted beach, now the 3rd best beach in Italy (Traveller Magazine 2014).
Olive picking in our grove producing highest quality organic oil.
View of Majella mountains from an olive grove 5 mins drive away.
'Trabocco', an ancient fishing platform found only along the nearest part of Adriatic, a WHO site.
Lake of Sant'Angelo 5 mins drive away.
'La Gola', the nearby dramatic entrance into the Majella National Park.
Walking in the Majella mountains.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Civitella Messer Raimondo, Province of Chieti, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Laurence...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great local knowledge”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The place itself is idyllic, nestled between river and mountain and not far from the sea. What made a real difference was Stewart's and Ruth's wealth of local knowledge; the best walks, the best places to visit, the best beach and the best food. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will surely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2016
Thank you so much for your review Laurence. We hope to see you next time you visit this undiscovered area of Italy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blissful”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in Casa del Fiume for a week at the start of July, and left wishing we'd booked it for longer. It's difficult to say which was the best feature - the house or the amazing grounds (garden doesn't really cover it!). The pretty house is immaculately finished: think thick stone walls, chalky whitewash, original artworks and super-comfy beds with good quality bed-linen to keep you cool at night. Modern and effective windows behind pretty original shutters meant air-con not needed to stay comfortable. Only downside is the single bathroom, but that didn't bother us at all.

The grounds are AMAZING!! if you're looking for a peaceful haven, this is it, with plenty of different areas (woodland, lawn, river) for chilling in hammocks, on loungers or on rocks in the river, amongst clouds of butterflies, with ever-present birdsong, and barely a man-made sound to be heard. We 'lost' hours sitting, snoozing and reading hear. Lovely outdoor cooking and eating area too.

Thanks to Ruth and Stu who were the best of hosts, so well connected into the local community....they make great bread and jam too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2016
Thank you so much for this review, you have described what we have to offer here beautifully! So pleased that you had such a good time here and we look forward to seeing you again soon - hopefully for longer next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annaburns...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing Place from which to Explore Abruzzo”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house and grounds are beautiful and very comfortable and the hosts make every effort to ensure all the things you might need for your stay are available as well as being around to provide you with help or advice if you need it. The house is well located for visiting the Majella National Park, interesting towns and villages and some lovely beaches along the Adriatic. A car is essential and the only drawback is you can't walk to local shops but will need to drive to pick up supplies. We loved white water rafting, visiting the beaches, swimming in the local mountain top outside pool, exploring the river Aventino at the bottom of the garden, reading books in the hammocks and walking through the dramatic limestone gorge near Fara San Martino

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the cats. Thank you so much for this great review and we hope that you will return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastawayK...
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful & perfect”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house was so beautifully furnished with absolutely everything we could need and with such attention to detail: we loved the vintage bed linen and Ruth's stunning artwork was perfect on the thick stone walls. Outside there was so much on hand for us with our 10 & 11 year old boys from rafting down the river at the bottom of the garden to ping pong and badminton or just lazing in the hammocks.

We can't thank Stew and Ruth enough for their extreme hospitality- they had fantastic suggestions of places to visit and we're always on hand with fresh figs (awesome) or helpful maps. There was so much to do in the area that two weeks wasn't enough and we really hope to go back again soon.

Thank you again Stew and Ruth for letting us stay in your little slice of paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The turquoise warm sea
Liked least: not applicable
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments. we are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay here and even our cats appreciated your company. We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
Thank you for your kind words, Paul. It was a pleasure to meet you and your friend and we hope to see you again when you next visit Italy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pauline81...
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Time To Abruzzo - absolutely out of this world”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a wonderful time during our recent trip to Abruzzo . We stayed at 'Casa del Fiume' a marvellous place near a river absolutely delightful. Stuart and Ruth were extremely friendly and very helpful to ensure we made the most of our stay. Not only from ensuring we had provisions provided for us on arrival including a welcoming bottle of Prosecco but also giving us hints and tips of where to go and places to eat . There is loads to do in the area with wonderful towns and quaint unspoilt villages.
The overall experience was superb and will definitely visit there again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accomodation was clean and the bedding really comfy
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Thank you so much Pauline and George. It was really great having you here and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nwalker49...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unforgettable escape”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I was looking for a relaxing getaway and it was that and much, much more. Beautiful setting between the mountains, but not far from the coast. Lovely rural area. Particularly enjoyed spending time by the river at the bottom of the garden - even spotted an otter!
Ruth and Stew were the perfect hosts. Their recommendations were spot on. They were extremely helpful and showed me the best places to shop, beaches, and an incredible vineyard (Tilli). The house is spacious, and comfortable. I would highly recommend this area for groups interested in hiking. There are lots of routes and the scenery is stunning. Thanks Stew & Ruth! I hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery.
Liked least: The long wait at Eurocar to pick up a rental. The Avis queue was much shorter!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Thanks for this review. Great that you were here to see the Otter that is now under threat here, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything that we provide. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing