We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Obliging”
Review of The Vines

The Vines
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Garvagh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Wine Bar, Irish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newry
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Most Obliging”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Seven of us travelled from Newry to Garvagh last week to perform in a local hall. A table was booked for us and, as we were travelling separately, we arrived in dribs & drabs. The staff were most obliging and allowed us all to order separately and sequentially - there was over an hour between the first and last of us arriving.
There was a good range of starters and, unusually anywhere, we were all simultaneously impressed with both our own choices and those of our friends. Presentation was excellent and temperature, as in Goldilocks, was just right.
Main meals, again a great choice over several pages, were delicious with proportions just right for performers who wanted to leave without sleep-inducing gluttony weighing us down.
Deserts had a narrower range of options but something for everyone just the same.
Coffee was not good but that's just being picky.
I got the impression that the water brought to the table was filtered. Why can't every restaurant do this - it is such a simple thing but makes a huge difference to the perception of service.
Very attentive staff without being intrusive and the boss took great pains to make us welcome.
A really good ating house!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfonsus_Bluepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    27
    11
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great restaraunt, great prices!! Ideal for functions!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have been to the vines on many occassions and it never fails to impress me!! Food always lovely including kids meals, staff always make you feel so welcome and the atmosphere great!! We recently held out sons christening in the upstairs function room and it was such a perfect day!! Staff couldnt have done more for the 9 noisy kids we had on tow!! Again excellent food and such a relaxed atmosphere. would recommend this restaraunt to anyone, and will def be back soon!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank annemariebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic for functions”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Attended family christening in Vines last Sunday. Great venue for function, room upstairs ideal, very child friendly, didn't have to worry about children annoying other customers. Food was excellent, roast beef dinner, beef great and plenty of everything. Prompt and friendly service. Wouldn't consider anywhere else for function, highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 635686Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FAB!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I popped into this restaurant last week and I was most impressed with food, decor and staff. Especially one of the waitresses, named Therese, as I asked her name. I could not fault her first class service!! Will be back xx

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and great service!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Lovely meal, good value and friendly service. Long way from home in Australia but loved the friendly and prompt service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Munrodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vines also viewed

Kilrea, County Londonderry
Kilrea, County Londonderry
 
Swatragh, County Londonderry
Portglenone, County Antrim
 
Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing