We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR SERVICE, AVERAGE B&B”
Review of Hill Farm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hill Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Marston B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“POOR SERVICE, AVERAGE B&B”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Wasn't provided with map or directions that was promised, tried to phone the b&b owner for over an hour from Oxford train station- no answer- phone was turned off- managed to find our own way there (searching the internet for maps). Arrived. Couldn't get inside as no one was answering the gate buzzer... FINALLY after beeping over and over we got let in.

Room is nice however the farm was all water logged so couldn't even explore the surrounding area plus the 15minute ride to the city cost 15pounds every time so ended costing an arm and a leg!!!

Owner acted annoyed upon polite requests eg. ordering taxi, hairdryer etc and never once came down to say hello or see if we were ok. Not even when we checked out... just said we "have paid so you can just go"

NOT exactly the tranquil hill farm escape we were expecting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lauren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
34
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Hill Farm B&B for 1 night while in Oxford for a concert, and were very pleasantly surprised by what we expected to just be a place to rest our heads for the night. The room with the 4-poster bed was magnificent, the hosts were friendly but not intrusive, and the breakfast was truly delicious! Would definitely stay again, or recommend as a base for trips to Oxford or even Bicester Village.

Room Tip: Go for the 4-poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at Hill Farm on our wedding anniversary , the rooms are as lovely as the photos and it is filled with rustic and elegance . The cooked breakfast is divine and according to my husband definitely worth having .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMANDAMCGARR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had to visit the John Radcliffe for some treatment for two days as an outpatient so decided to stay locally. Graeme and Laura were excellent hosts, very friendly, thoughtful and helpful. The rooms were absolutely charming and well furnished. It was very quiet but in such close proximity to Oxford and very easy to find.
We will return soon. It was a most enjoyable two days and I recommend Hill Farm unreservedly. Breakfast was an experience to savour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Lovely B&B near Oxford.Very comfortable and cosy.Staying not long before Christmas we had the added bonus of beautiful decorations in the cottage.Graeme and Laura were terrific hosts.Very friendly and helpful.We could not recommend the stay more highly.After staying in hotel rooms in Europe the cottage was a breath of fresh air.We will be back
Doug and Lisa Renton ( Melbourne,Australia )

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were looking for a reasonable price break for a weekend before Christmas. Saw the Trip Advisor reviews of Hill Farm and managed to book a night.
It was easy enough to find with the sat nav, and was far enough out of town to be away from the busy Christmas-shoppers. After heading up a muddy road (and wondering for a moment if we'd made a wrong turn), we parked up in a beautiful country-side retreat, horses included! We were staying in the B&B, and we were greeted by the friendly Laura, who showed us the living area available to us - a beautifully decorated room with comfortable sofas and a round table with high-back chairs which was for our personal use. She offered to light the big open fire for us if we were staying in that evening.
The bedroom was similarly decorated - the four poster bed was incredibly comfortable and warm, as were the clean white dressing gowns hanging behind the door for our use. There was a nice dressing room before entering the clean bathroom, with a fantastic, powerful shower and double-ended bath, as well as luxury Baylis and Harding shower products, and fluffy towels.
They also provided a kettle and cups and saucers in the room, with delicious Clipper tea and a selection of coffees, and packets of expensive biscuits. The television was easy to use and the curtains kept the light out in the morning, allowing a very comfortable lie-in! The room was both clean and cosy, with great character to it.
It was all very private, with our own landing, living and dining area and big spacious bedroom and ensuite.
Breakfast the next morning was fantastic - we didn't opt to have the fry-up, and I am glad we didn't because they really put on a good spread for the continental! I'm sure the fry-up is delicious though, if the quality of the included breakfast is anything to go by. With a selection of cereals, a jug of milk and a jug of orange juice and our own pots of tea, as well as quality yoghurts, croissants, pastries, toast and spreads and a bowl of fruit, we were full to burst. We spoke to Graeme, Laura's husband and co-owner, about the hard work that had gone into the B&B, and the cottage that they let out on site as well. It sounds like both Graeme and Laura have put a lot of thought and effort into the inherited farm, and it has all paid off. Aside from the lane looking a bit like the back of beyond, the place was perfect. A ten-minute car journey into the city centre, with handy shops nearby in Marston for any needs you may have - it is in a perfect location.
A thoroughly good stay in a luxurious and comfortable bed and breakfast in an ideal location; we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the B&B for a couple of nights after getting married in July before heading off for the rest of our honeymoon, and we couldn't have had a better start to it. The B&B is close enough to the centre of Oxford to be convenient, whilst at the same far enough away to be quiet and relaxing. The cottage and accommodation itself is beautiful and is in a beautiful location. Above all though, it's the hospitality that will stand out in our minds, we were really well looked after.

As the title says, we couldn't recommend this place enough!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.7 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#14 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Farm B&B

Property: Hill Farm B&B
Address: Hill Farm Cottage Mill Lane, Marston, Oxford OX3 0QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford > Marston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hill Farm B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighteenth century farmhouse situated in open countryside yet just a short distance from Oxford City Centre. We offer home cooked breakfast with open fires and an antique four poster bed in our main guest bedroom. There is a further bedroom if you are traveling as a family or small group. Guests have the convenience of their own entrance for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hill Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing