We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter 2013 family break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherbridge Cottages
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Easter 2013 family break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our first cottage holiday in the UK with the family and it was brilliant! The cottages were brilliant: deceivingly spacious, cosy, nice and warm, private and very clean with everything you'd need for a self-catering holiday. It's an ideal location for travelling to Oxford centre site seeing, Blenheim Palace and Biscester which is what we did over the bank holiday. Barry was very helpful and the booking process with Laura was very straightforward! I'd definitely consider going back! It's a shame we didn't get a cottage near the river, but they did reduce the price to allow for that. Had it been warmer, we'd have probably spent more time outside on the balcony. I was a bit surprised at the late check-in time of 4pm but Laura/Barry very accomadating in letting us come a bit earlier.

Room Tip: Ask for an earlier check-in time than 4pm - i'm sure they will do what they can if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shcreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    14
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
58
7
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boys and I spent a few days in one of the lovely lodges over Christmas. We had a great time in a very comfortable lodge. The additional touches like the decorated Christmas tree was well received. Thank you again. Will see you again in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daimon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in one of the lodges for 10 days whilst attending the Grand Masters World Cup. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and the kitchen extremely well equipped with a washing machine and dishwaasher. The fridge was also a sensible size for a party of six. Laura and her Dad were absolutely fantastic in their concern over our wellbeing and provided whatever facility we required to make our stay comfortable. Coming from South Africa, we were pleasantly surprised to find that they were genuinely interested in our visit to their part of the country, and considered us more than just paying guests.
We would definitely recommend this accommodation venue to anyone who finds themselves in the beautiful city of Oxford.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Really beautiful accommodations in a serene setting. Loved the week stay while we were there as a family to attend to my youngest son arrival at Oxford University for his graduate studies. Very convient location and extremely helpful owners (Laura and especially her dad). We will be returning to the Cherbridge Cottages for my son's graduation. Wish we could have stayed longer, but all vacations come to an end.
We book this accommodation online from the US with no issues or hassles. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racoussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We booked the lodges for my best friends hen weekend and took over 3 lodges for 18 of us! The lodges were lovely and in a lovely setting. They were well equipped and worked out well with everyone staying comfortably! Just outside Oxford it was the ideal location only a 15 minute taxi journey into the centre! If you are looking to stay longer than a weekend i can imagine a car would be useful to go and explore the surrounding area. Everyone loved it and the hospitality from Lynn and Barry was second to none - from unpacking our early food delivery for us to organising all our taxis!
A few considering re-visiting with their families. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoneyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here and Laura was extremely helpful in looking after all our needs.

We needed accommodation over the half term weekend in October and were struggling, until we found the lodges.

They were beautifully decorated and very cosy and we regretted planning so many activities as we really wanted to sit and relax on the comfy sofas!

Just one thing- be very aware of the instructions you are sent on how to find the lodges, as we found this a bit tricky and if you overshoot it, you need to go around the ring road again- don't just rely on the website postcode!

All in all a wonderful weekend and a very professional and helpful business (demonstrated by Laura as I left my necklace by mistake and she sent it back to me, free of charge).

Thank you for a lovely stay, Rosie.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosieposie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is an extremely late review, but better late than never! (I had the pleasure of staying here in November 2011) This place was an awesome stay! I was here for business with some colleagues and we stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage down the back right on the little river. We arrived in the evening and were surprised to see a few welcome items to help us before we had the chance to go grocery shopping! The stay was warm and cosy, beds & bathroom excellent, kitchen facilitys very much appreciated. The owners were very friendly and generous and took a keen interest in our stay here. We felt that it was a real home away from home. it was exciting to see the wildlife there, the ducks, geese, family cat, peacock and squirrels! The only thing you need to be aware of is to allow enough time to get to your destination if leaving the cottages at peak hour times (morning & night) because it is situated off a main road that gets quite congested. This didnt bother us however, you just had to be aware and plan ahead! Definately will stay here again if I ever come to Oxford again!

Room Tip: Not sure what the other cottages are like, but the cottage against the river is furtherest from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicaLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston
1.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#15 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
2.1 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherbridge Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherbridge Cottages

Property: Cherbridge Cottages
Address: Mill Lane | Marston, Marston, Oxford OX3 0QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford > Marston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Marston
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing