We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hideaway close to Oxford centre!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherbridge Cottages
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hideaway close to Oxford centre!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at one of the Cherbridge Lodges in July 2012. It was very close to Oxford centre where my husband was attending a conference and the setting felt like being out in the country. The lodge itself was very well appointed with all the mod cons. It was clean, with a welcome breakfast pack provided - a nice extra! There is a great outdoors area for kids to run around in. Although it is close to the main road, the noise was not intrusive as there is a large gate and trees separating the lodges from the road. The owners are very helpful and I would definitely come back again!

Room Tip: If you want a lodge with a river view, you need to book early. But they are all similar inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harbourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    14
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
60
7
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were traveling from Ontario to visit our son who was going to school in Oxford (family of four). The cottage worked out great for us; they were very clean comfortable and roomy. The cottages were located just outside of town so it was very quiet and peaceful. We also did a few day trips to surrounding attractions like Bath, Warwick Castle, Stonehenge and The White Horse among others so the location was very convenient for us as well. We really liked having a cottage so we could have our own breakfast and make supper if we wanted to; everything we needed was there including laundry facilities which we used the day we left for other parts of Europe. We did walk into Oxford on two occasions to catch the bus going downtown; it was a bit of a walk but not too bad. I would say the cottage exceeded our expectations. If you’re travelling from London the cottages are on the opposite side of the road so you have to go into town and around the first roundabout to get to the other side of the road and go back out of town a bit. Barry was also very freindly and helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REMCO21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We took a trip to Oxford to visit my daughter who's in college. It was a party of 6, a 3 generation trip with grandparents in late 70s so the place had to fulfill a lot of requirements (1) Close to Oxford, (2) With ample parking space because we were hiring a large car for family outings, (3) With a mimimum of 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, (4) With a family, cozy and friendly atmosphere to spend some quality family time and have some family meals, (5) With facilities and layout suitable for elderly people.

Well, I can honestly say Cherbridge Cottages ticks all the boxes and more. The lodges are very warm, comfortable, inviting and tastefully decorated in country style. The gardens and grounds are lovely and extremely well kept. The lodges are single storey so perfect for older guests. The bedroom "wing" comprises 3 bedrooms and two bathrooms, one of them en-suite with a walk-in shower, again very convenient for grandparents. This "wing" connects to the lobby through a door which in turn leads to the living area through another door, which is excellent as younger people may watch TV or chat etc while grandparents can sleep undisturbed.

The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms look new and fresh. The living area was open plan, with the kitchen, eating and living area facing big french doors onto the balcony and river. The kitchen had everything that we needed and more and the sitting area was comfortable and clean. Wifi was a bit temperamental at times, but mostly ok.

The only but would have to be the noise from the A40 (we were in Lodge 4 which is the closest to the road, but had the bonus of a very nice river view), but the girls didn't mind, the grandparents didn't hear and I solved it at a cost of 3 quid which is the price for some earplugs at a local chemist. Guests would also have to bear in mind that the really do need a car to get here and move around - which for us was a non-issue to start with.

The whole process of booking was nice and swift and the security deposit (450 GPB) was returned promptly and efficiently. Compared to what we would have paid for 3 rooms at any local hotel or decent B&B, this was very competitive indeed (we paid 695 GBP for 4 nights) and it offered something that we couldn't otherwise have got - priceless family time around a home-cooked meal. Will definitely be back and I can wholeheartedly recommend this for parents and extended families visiting students - I cannot think of a better alternative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very spacious and modern cottage! Good location - silent riverside off the ring road Handy equipment, comfortable furniture. Grass medow with gooses and ducks. Elegant terrace with a table and chairs.
The post code navigation may be a bit misleading, follow the directions from the website.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the B&B farm house here and it was fantastic. Yes you need a car to get about, but this was no issue. We were able to park at the local park n ride bus station to get into Oxford, which is good as would not want to drive and park in oxford center anyway. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had, especially the danish which was still warm, yum! Would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhyacaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We are from the United States and stayed at Riverside Lodge for a week in June 2012. The cottage was lovely and had everything one could ask for and more. The grounds were beautiful as well. The beds were extremely comfortable, the bathrooms were luxurious and the appliances were top notch. Laura was extremely helpful with making the rental arrangements and answering any questions we had before arriving at Cherbridge Cottages. Once we arrived, her father, Barry, went above and beyond the "call of duty" in helping us. He was always available for anything we needed and so enjoyable to have a chat with! Our family loved our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTSMeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed two weeks with our two young children (8 and 6) and my parents. The lodge was lovely, spacious and offered everything we needed. Location was also great - close to Oxford and well placed for traveling many sites nearby.

The separate washer/dryer was helpful as we had a lot of laundry and many places have only the combination washer/dryers which do not generally dry well. The grounds were also beautiful and the kids had lots of space to run and play - they really enjoyed feeding the local peacocks and ducks!

There were many personal touches which were valued by us and our hosts Barry and Lynn really went the extra mile to help us with whatever we might need - e.g. booking taxis, driving directions, places to visit, etc. My father needed to see a doctor at one point and Barry quickly arranged this for us on short notice on a Friday afternoon.

I would gladly recommend Cherbridge Cottages to all, especially families with young children and or needing disabled access.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianSC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston
1.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#17 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
2.1 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherbridge Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherbridge Cottages

Property: Cherbridge Cottages
Address: Mill Lane | Marston, Marston, Oxford OX3 0QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford > Marston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Marston
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing