We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodation and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Accommodation @ Undine
Ranked #1 of 1 Rosetta B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Highly recommend this B&B. We stayed for 3 nights with our 20 year old son. The rooms were very spaceous and the heated pool and pool table were nice additions. Hosts are friendly and informative and put on a good breakfast. Location is only 10min from Hobart CBD and waterfront.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicAlan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2010

We actually live within 10 minutes fo Undine but were forced to find alternative accommodation while our house was being worked on. This put us in the unusual position of being travellers in our own city.

I can't recommend Undine highly enough. The kingsize beds are huge, the rooms are quiet (well, it's a converted colonial mansion, so you can imagine how thick the stone walls are!) , they provide port, chocolates and homemade cake for their guests, and most importantly, the hosts are delightful!

I've never stayed at a B&B before (always hotels) because I was worried that the owners would be right in our faces, but Trish and Rocco welcome you in and then leave you to do your own thing until breakfast. Brekkie is held downstairs in the family's area, and oh-my-stars-and-buttons what a breakfast it is! Hubby and I - who are normally big eaters - got through the day just on breakfast and a mid-afternoon meat pie picked up on the way.

Hubby liked his bacon, eggs, mushrooms and tomatos so much that he ordered it both days we were there. I felt the same way about my French toast and bacon (and real maple syrup for the French toast - yum!) , so we can't comment on the other options, but I assume they're equally delicious.

Trish and Rocco have an amazing way about them - they make you feel warmly welcomed from the get-go. They provided us with some travel suggestions to places we hadn't actually been before, so we ended up continuing the 'tourist in your own State' them through the 2 days we were there.

Summary: Great people, lovely environment, fantastic bed and breakfast.
Cons: Only one - the bathroom slopes in the room we stayed at, and the floor is covered in small tessellated tile patterns. Anyone wearing glasses for distance vision (particularly bi-focals or tri-focals) would b e well advised to take them off before going in there, as the combination of slightly sloping/dipping floor and glasses will give you a nasty shock of vertigo. It's just a visual illusion, but it can be a disturbing one. Also the bath was smaller than I expected, because I was thinking olde-worlde bathrooms, not more modern ones. But that's such a small 'con' in a large list of 'pros' that I hesitate to mention it.

We'll definitely be recommending Undine to all out-of-state visitors! We booked via wotif.com and had no problems at all with it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daria_and_Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

This family run Bed and Breakfast establishment is jewel hidden away from the mainstream hotels and motels of Hobart.
Located up the Derwent River, just off the main road to Launceston, it has a friendly family atmosphere.
Highly recommended for single travellers or those with children alike, everyone is made to feel welcome by the hosts.
Homemade goodies are served freshly every afternoon in the guests lounge room upstairs, where you can listen to excellent music or read the latest magazines.
Beds are comfortable, but like most tourist accommodation in Tasmania, the shower heads are inadequate, a reflection of the owners water conservation ideals I guess, not for everyone.
The rooms are cozy, warm and well supplied with chocolates & port for a delicious night cap.
Breakfast is cooked to order and the hosts will give travel suggestions and a little local history if required, most informative.
Reasonable cost and central location make Undine a good choice of accommodation near Hobart.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Marcothepolopony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

The whole family spent a wonderful 4 days in Hobart, staying at the Undine Colonial Guest House, thanks to the owners, Trish and Rocco Di Carlo. Having never been to Tasmania before, Trish and Rocco took the time to explain and provide easy directions to many interesting sites around Hobart. Their suggestions on how to have the best family holiday were greatly valued and without them I doubt we would have had such a great time. The Guest House is a lovely old quaint building and the family room we stayed in has been beautifully decorated and was a good size for us and our two kids, aged 6 and 9. To top our stay off, Trish cooked the best breakfasts each morning and having a swimming pool on site was great for us and the kids to come back to after sightseeing and relax in the evening. Overall the service and accommodation was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank PaulineMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

We have found this bed & breakfast to be nothing less than outstanding. The hosts are warm and welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one.They have extensive local knowledge and are only too happy to share this with you.
The accomodation has tons of character, very cosy & comfortable. And the magnificent breakfast will keep you going all day!!!
Shall definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GoStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Beware of this property as they may try to charge you extra after you check out. Overall, this resulted in an extremely negative experience.

I had booked a non-smoking king or queen room for 2 and was given a room with a queen bed and a single bed when checking in. This was fine by me. Besides being far from town, the room was ok.

However, after checking out, I received a very unpleasant surprise. The hotel contacted me to say that they had put an additional charge on my credit card for having an "extra person" and for "late check-out".

1. They claimed that there was an "extra person" even though only 2 of us had checked in as originally booked. They claimed that this was because I had used the single bed in the room as well. Well, we never did use the single bed in the room. Furthermore, I have never heard of anyone charging for using something provided in the room especially since we were not informed of anything beforehand. They accused us of having used it because they found it rumpled and having some hairs. As we did not use the bed, we did not notice this during our stay but the fact that they just went and charged us for an "extra person" without checking speaks volumes. Has anyone out there ever been charged for an "extra person" when you booked a room for 2 and had 2 people stay in it?

2. Secondly, they charged us a second amount for a "late check-out". The checkout time was 10am and we left a little bit after but definitely checked out of the room before 1030am. Again, I have never seen an accommodation charge for checking out less than 30 mins after the checkout time. And this was not a small amount either. Again, we were not informed of any such fee when we made the booking.

After some back and forth discussion, they decided to refund the "extra person" charge but still insisted on keeping the "late checkout" charge. I think their actions speak for themselves about their views vis-a-vis customer satisfaction and profit.

Tasmania as a whole was beautiful but I would advise staying somewhere else. Don't let your holiday be ruined by a bad experience such what happened to me.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Accom-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UndineHobart, Owner at Colonial Accommodation @ Undine, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2007

Our Bed and Breakfast is quiet small 5 ensuited rooms.

Our advertised Check in time is 3.00 pm and our check out time is 10.00 am.

Our guests stayed in Jessica's room it has a king size bed (two kingsingles joined) and a third bed in an adjoining room. Our property is a non-smoking one so this request was easily accommodated. The guests requested the best price available and we were happy to accommodate offering a $70.00 saving on the 2 nights accommodation with full breakfast, complimentary port & chocolates in the room and home baked treats & endless tea & coffee and daily access to the hydrotherapy pool.

On the guests Saturday Morning departure, our housekeeping staff knocked on the door at approx 10.25 am and asked when they would be leaving as they were waiting to clean the room. The guest replied soon.
The guest left the room approximately 10 minutes later, and the housekeeping staff commenced cleaning the guest then came back into the room and reused the bathroom (no.2) before leaving again at 10.45am. Our housekeeping staff were unable to continue cleaning whilst the guest was in the bathroom.

When our housekeeping staff completed the room inspection form, they advised us that the single bed had been slept in. We attempted to contact the guest via the phone number they had provided but as it was only an international phone number & we received no response.

I then forwarded an email to this guest advising that as an extra guest had stayed and due to the late check out we would need be charging an extra fee.

The guest then responded that no third person had stayed, but agreed that they had checked out of the room some time after our advertised check out time.

We then charged the guest half the advertised late check out fee being $30.00

In our defence, it is common for more guests to stay in rooms than are booked in and we need to rely on our housekeeping staff to determine this at times.

We do advertise the late check out fee, we are able to accommodate late check outs but they must be arranged in advance so we do not have housekeeping staff waiting on rooms to be vacated.

We always try to treat our guests as one of the family, which is why we were more than happy to allow these guests to check in early at 11.45am . We did not charge for the use of our wireless broadband facility. I reheated the guests left over food on the Friday night, which is not normally done at a bed and breakfast which offers the guests no cooking facilities. I refilled the port jug for them on Friday evening at no extra charge. Before the guests arrival at their request I completed and forwarded a proposed intinerary on Tasmania, with recommendations on places to stay and visit, and booked a tour of Cadbury Chocolate Factory .

Which was all evident in the comments left in our visitors book thanking us for our hospitality and an enjoyable stay.

It is a shame that the review posted does not reflect these positive points, but only dwells on the fact they were charged a late fee because they did check out late!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at Undine Colonial Accommodation.
The home was wonderful, twice as big inside than it appeared outside.
Our Room was extremly comfortable and warm, our breakfasts were huge.
Our hosts were friendly without being over the top, and we were made to feel like we were invited guests not paying ones.
This is an original colonial home that has not been overly renovated and we were able to experience and feel the History.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dicarlorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colonial Accommodation @ Undine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Accommodation @ Undine

Address: 6 Dodson St, Rosetta, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7010, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Rosetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rosetta
Price Range: $120 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colonial Accommodation @ Undine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest homes in Tasmania Undine circa 1816 is a fine example of an old Georgian house. A unique hosted Bed and Breakfast providing friendly 4.5 star accommodation. Accommodating a maximum of 15 guests with a range of spacious rooms all with en-suite facilities, televisions, DVDs and free broadband access. Relax and enjoy our fully cooked country style breakfast as your Tasmanian born hosts share their local knowledge. Relax in the Heated Salt Water Pool b/w 5.30pm and 6.30pm daily. Easy access to all local attractions, 4 minute drive to MONA, 3 minutes to Derwent Entertainment Centre & Tattersalls Park, 10 minutes to Hobart CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonial Accommodation @ Undine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Accommodation @ Undine Rosetta, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing