We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Accommodation @ Undine
Ranked #1 of 1 Rosetta B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and hospitality”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed one night at Undine to give us easy access to MONA. The Cottage is very atmospheric and our suite was decorated beautifully and was very comfortable and quiet. We let ourselves in in the afternoon and were greeted by a home made cake and self serve afternoon tea. We had a great afternoon exploring MONA just 10 minutes away, slipped easily into Hobart in the evening for a great Japanese meal on the wharf, and were treated to a very generous home-cooked breakfast by Tricia the next morning. Both Tricia and Rocco were extremely helpful in giving us tips for our onward journey through Tassie.

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
25
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The house was in use as a coaching inn in1834 and the owners have taken pains to maintain its historical charm. The rooms are given names rather than numbers. Some of the furniture in the rooms are old fashioned and add to the establishment's quaintness and character. Our bathroom fittings were modern and the bed was very comfortable.

We had port and chocolates on arrival and fruit cake in the parlour/sitting room upstairs. Breakfast was served in the kitchen downstairs.. The owners Trish and Rocco were excellent and gracious hosts, serving up an enormous breakfast. They were also a wealth of knowledge of the area and suggested trips and things to do during our stay.

We would definitely stay here when we visit Hobart again.

Room Tip: The walls are quite thick and insulate traffic noise. Our room faced the garden so there was minimal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueDL2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay, excellent clean and comfortable rooms access to indoor pool and excellent sitting room for guests .beautiful breakfast were meeting other travellers is easy and very comfortable .owners were very hospitable and what a beautiful cooked breakfast .As I travelled on own room was perfect but I asked for the smallest room . Would recommend in a heartbeat for those into band bs to try you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank driveaway31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

A beautiful historic B&B a short drive out of Hobart's town centre, very near MONA, but the stars of this B&B are the owners Tricia and Rocco! They are the perfect B&B hosts, Tricia is a wonderful cook, her breakfasts are to die for and every afternoon my husband and I could hardly wait to get home to see what little treats she had baked for afternoon tea. If we said Tricia was the chief cook, we would say Rocco is the front of house man in so much as he chats and pours tea and coffee whilst Tricia cooks the divine breakfast (oops he also drives the toaster very well!). He is a fund of knowledge on where to go and what to do, even drew us a great map as to where to park for Salamanca markets.

We loved our stay at Undine and as B&B owners ourselves really appreciated someone else looking after us so very well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very comfortable accommodation and friendly service. We stayed two nights, and had a good night sleep on both nights. The owners offered helpful suggestions to for places to visit while travelling too.

Room Tip: The MONA special room, while a little small, is still very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_trav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our room was extremely spacious, clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast which was cooked by our hosts was excellent.

History of the building was also interesting to discover.

Close to the Glenorchy Mountain Bike Park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jip1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The B&B is simply lovely. The colonial charm and coziness is wonderful. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. The complimentary cake and hot beverages (and not forgetting the pott in the room), are added delight. We even received a complimentary upgrade to a larger room.

Breakfast is good (if there is an option, I would recommend the cooked breakfast rather than the continental breakfast - Tricia is a good cook). Rocco has great tips to travel around Hobart and Tasmania. Undine is very near to Cadbury factory and MONA Museum, but you need to have your own transport to travel around. Thank you Tricia & Rocco, for making our stay a memorable one.

Sandra & Jega

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosetta
5.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
Mona Pavilions
Mona Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
228 reviews
3.7 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#25 of 48 in Hobart
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
5.7 mi away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Accommodation @ Undine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Accommodation @ Undine

Property: Colonial Accommodation @ Undine
Address: 6 Dodson St, Rosetta, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7010, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Rosetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rosetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colonial Accommodation @ Undine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest homes in Tasmania Undine circa 1816 is a fine example of an old Georgian house. A unique hosted Bed and Breakfast providing friendly 4.5 star accommodation. Accommodating a maximum of 15 guests with a range of spacious rooms all with en-suite facilities, televisions, DVDs and free broadband access. Relax and enjoy our fully cooked country style breakfast as your Tasmanian born hosts share their local knowledge. Relax in the Heated Salt Water Pool b/w 5.30pm and 6.30pm daily. Easy access to all local attractions, 4 minute drive to MONA, 3 minutes to Derwent Entertainment Centre & Tattersalls Park, 10 minutes to Hobart CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Colonial Accommodation @ Undine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Accommodation @ Undine Rosetta, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing